March 26, 2010

The President The White House Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We are writing to urge you to exercise your legal authority to make recess appointments to install Craig Becker and Mark Pearce on the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) during the Congressional recess that begins on March 29, 2010.

For far too long, the five-member NLRB has consisted of only two members - one Democratic appointee and one Republican appointee. This has resulted in a growing caseload of contentious issues left unresolved. Thousands of American workers who seek resolution of their disputes have been put on hold due to continued gridlock at the government agency charged with administering the National Labor Relations Act.

The Senate voted by a significant majority to allow the chamber to exercise its constitutional right to advise and consent on the merits of your nomination of Mr. Becker to serve on the NLRB. Unfortunately, the obstructionist tactics of a few have prevented the majority from confirming your choices for the NLRB. The consequences of an extended impasse are serious. Further inaction will increase the backlog of unresolved disputes, delay justice, and send the message to American workers that there is no referee in labor disputes.

As you are aware, there is precedent to use recess appointments to fill NLRB vacancies. President Bush filled seven out of the nine seats on the Board during his Administration using recess appointments. We urge you to use the same mechanism during the upcoming Congressional recess in the event the Senate once again fails to confirm your nominees before it adjourns.

Sincerely,

132 signatures

Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard

Rep. Zoe Lofgren

Rep. Michael A. Arcuri

Rep. Paul Tonko

Rep. Lloyd Doggett

Rep. Robert A. Brady

Rep. James A. Himes

Rep. Joe Courtney

Rep. Stephen F. Lynch

Rep. Doris O. Matsui

Rep. Charles A. Wilson

Rep. Al Green

Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr.

Rep. Fortney Pete Stark

Rep. Charles A. Gonzalez

Rep. Timothy H. Bishop

Rep. Donna F. Edwards

- Rep. Michael E. McMahon
- Rep. Gerald E. Connolly
- Rep. Michael F. Doyle
- Rep. Christopher S. Murphy
- Rep. Andre Carson
- Rep. John P. Sarbanes
- Rep. Phil Hare
- Rep. Brian Higgins
- Rep. James P. McGovern
- Rep. Ben Ray Lujan
- Rep. Kathleen A. Dahlkemper
- Rep. Steven Cohen
- Rep. Bruce L. Bralev
- Rep. Joe Sestak
- Rep. Emanuel Cleaver
- Rep. Yvette D. Clarke
- Rep. Chellie Pingree
- Rep. Lois Capps
- Rep. John W. Olver
- Rep. Loretta Sanchez
- Rep. Keith Ellison
- Rep. Sam Farr
- Rep. Gary C. Peters
- Rep. Rush D. Holt
- Rep. John J. Hall
- Rep. David Loebsack
- Rep. Linda T. Sanchez
- Rep. Sander M. Levin
- Rep. Mary Jo Kilroy
- Rep. Gwen Moore
- Rep. Paul W. Hodes
- Rep. Mike Quigley
- Rep. Bill Foster
- Rep. Peter Welch
- Rep. Mark H. Schauer
- Rep. Michael E. Capuano
- Rep. Leonard L. Boswell
- Rep. Raul M. Grijalva
- Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson
- Rep. John A. Boccieri
- Rep. Marcia L. Fudge
- Rep. Grace F. Napolitano
- Rep. Daniel B. Maffei
- Rep. Chris Van Hollen
- Rep. Russ Camahan
- Rep. Michael M. Honda
- Rep. Betty McCollum
- Rep. Daniel Lipinski
- Rep. Betty Sutton
- Rep. Timothy J. Walz
- Rep. Michael H. Michaud
- Rep. Laura Richardson
- Rep. Dennis Moore
- Rep. Anthony D. Weiner
- Rep. Dale E. Kildee
- Rep. Edward J. Markey

- Rep. Solomon P. Ortiz
- Rep. Peter A. DeFazio
- Rep. Danny K. Davis
- Rep. Elliot L. Engel
- Rep. George Miller
- Rep. Henry A. Waxman
- Rep. Collin Peterson
- Rep. Howard L. Berman
- Rep. Carlos E. Serrano
- Rep. Edolphus Towns
- Rep. Elijah E. Cummings
- Rep. John F. Tierney
- Rep. James P. Moran
- Rep. Brad Sherman
- Rep. Gary L. Ackerman
- Rep. Joe Baca
- Rep. Barney Frank
- Rep. Lynn C. Woolsey
- Rep. Robert E. Andrews
- Rep. Luis V. Gutierrez
- Rep. Allan B. Mollohan
- Rep. Steven R. Rothman
- Rep. Melvin L. Watt
- Rep. Nick J. Rahall
- Rep. John D. Dingell
- Rep. Nita M. Lowey
- Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney
- Rep. Jerrold Nadler
- Rep. Carolyn McCarthy
- Rep. Ciro D. Rodriguez
- Rep. Alcee L. Hastings
- Rep. Charles B. Rangel
- Rep. James L. Oberstar
- Rep. William L. Owens
- Rep. Janice D. Schakowsky
- Rep. Gene Green
- Rep. Jane Harman
- Rep. Joseph Crowley
- Rep. Jerry F. Costello
- Rep. Rosa DeLauro
- Rep. Bobby L. Rush
- Rep. William Lacey Clay
- Rep. Judy Chu
- Rep. John Conyers, Jr.
- Rep. Bob Filner
- Rep. Diane E. Watson
- Rep. Maurice D. Hinchey
- Rep. Barbara Lee
- Rep. Dennis J. Kucinich
- Rep. Tammy Baldwin
- Rep. C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger
- Rep. Steve Israel
- Rep. John Garamendi
- Rep. Ruben Hinojosa
- Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr.
- Rep. Nydia M. Velasquez

Rep. Louise McIntosh Slaughter Rep. Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Rep. Steve Kagen

###