HENRY A. WAXMAN, CALIFORNIA, CHAIRMAN

EDOLPHUS TOWNS, NEW YORK PAUL E. KANJORSKI, PENNSYLVANIA CAROLYN B. MALONEY, NEW YORK ELJAH E. CUMMINGS, MARYLAND DENNIS J. KUCINICH, OHIO DANNY K. DAVIS, ILLINOIS JOHN F. TIERNEY, MASSACHUSETTS WM. LACY CLAY, MISSOURI DIANE E. WATSON, CALIFORNIA STEPHEN F. LYNCH, MASSACHUSETTS BRIAN HIGGINS, NEW YORK JOHN A. YARMUTH, KENTUCKY BRUCE L. BRALEY, IOWA ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON, DISTRICT OF COLLMBIA BETTY MCCOLLUM, MINNESOTA JIM COOPER, TENNESSEE CHRIS VAN HOLLEN, MARYLAND PAUL W. HODES, NEW HAMPSHIRE CHRISTOPHER S. MURPHY, CONNECTICUT JOHN P. SARBANES, MARYLAND PETER WELCH, VERMONT JACKIE SPELER, CALIFORNIA ONE HUNDRED TENTH CONGRESS

Congress of the United States

## House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT AND GOVERNMENT REFORM

2157 RAYBURN HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING

WASHINGTON, DC 20515-6143

Majority (202) 225–5051 Facsimile (202) 225–4784 MINORITY (202) 225–5074 WWW.oversight.house.gov

September 17, 2008

Mr. Robert B. Willumstad c/o American International Group, Inc. 70 Pine Street New York, NY 10270

Dear Mr. Willumstad:

I am writing to request your testimony at a hearing on October 7, 2008, at 10:00 a.m. before the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform. The hearing will examine the regulatory mistakes and financial excesses that led to the collapse and federal rescue of AIG and what it means for the United States economy.

The Committee on Oversight and Government Reform is the principal oversight committee in the House of Representatives and has broad oversight jurisdiction as set forth in House Rule X. An attachment to this letter provides additional information about testifying before the Committee.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Roger Sherman or Alison Cassady of the Committee staff at (202) 225-5051.

Sincerely,

Haza. Wayman

Henry A. Waxman Chairman

Enclosure

cc: Tom Davis Ranking Minority Member TOM DAVIS, VIRGINIA, RANKING MINORITY MEMBER

DAN BURTON, INDIANA CHRISTOPHER SHAYS, CONNECTICUT JOHN M. MCHUGH, NEW YORK JOHN L. MICA, FLORIDA MARK E. SOUDER, INDIANA TODD RUSSELL PLATTS, PENNSYLVANIA CHRIS CANNON, UTAH JOHN J. DUNCAN, JR., TENNESSEE MICHAEL R. TURNER, OHIO DARRELL E. ISSA, CALIFORNIA KENNY MARCHANT, TEXAS LYNN A. WESTMORELAND, GEORGIA PATRICK T. MCHENRY, NORTH CAROLINA VIRGINIA FOXO, NORTH CAROLINA VIRGINIA FOXO, NORTH CAROLINA BILL SALI, IDAHO JIM JORDAN, OHIO