Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

August 1, 2008

The Honorable Stephen L. Johnson Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20460

Dear Administrator Johnson:

We are writing in regard to our ongoing investigation of the Environmental Protection Agency's faltering Clean Water Act enforcement program.

On July 23, 2008, we wrote to request that you work with us to reach a mutually agreeable production schedule for the documents we requested on July 7, 2008. We also asked that you assure us that you will not withhold responsive documents from the Committee. On July 28, 2008, EPA informed us that the agency expects to "finish our response no later than close of business on August 15, 2008. During the interim, we expect to provide rolling responses concerning the documents already collected, as well as to answer the questions posed in your July 7 letter."

In order to accommodate the agency without unduly delaying the Committees' investigation, we are willing to accept your proposed schedule in large part. However, we expect the agency to complete its production no later than close of business on August 14, 2008. This deadline provides us the opportunity to evaluate EPA's response and to initiate compulsory process on August 15, 2008, should EPA fail to fully comply with the Committees' request.

¹ Letter from Chairman James L. Oberstar and Chairman Henry A. Waxman to Stephen L. Johnson (Aug. 1, 2008).

² Letter from Christopher P. Bliley, Associate Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency, to Rep. James L. Oberstar (July 28, 2008); Letter from Christopher P. Bliley, Associate Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency, to Chairman Henry A. Waxman (July 28, 2008).

The Honorable Stephen L. Johnson August 1, 2008 Page 2

If you have any questions concerning this request, please have your staff contact Greg Dotson of the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform staff at (202) 225-4407 or Ryan C. Seiger of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure staff at (202) 225-0060.

Sincerely,

James L. Oberstar

Chairman

Committee on Transportation

and Infrastructure

Henry A. Waxman

Hany a. War

Chairman

Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

cc:

John L. Mica

Ranking Minority Member

Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

Tom Davis

Ranking Minority Member

Committee on Oversight and Government Reform