Daily Digest

HIGHLIGHTS

Senate passed S. 1917, Victims Protection Act.

Senate

Chamber Action

Routine Proceedings, pages \$1421-\$1486

Measures Introduced: Four bills and one resolution were introduced, as follows: S. 2099–2102, and S. Res. 377.

Page S1416

Measures Passed:

Victims Protection Act: By a unanimous vote of 97 yeas (Vote No. 62), Senate passed S. 1917, to provide for additional enhancements of the sexual assault prevention and response activities of the Armed Forces.

Page S1377

Measures Considered:

Child Care and Development Block Grant Act: Senate resumed consideration of the motion to proceed to consideration of S. 1086, to reauthorize and improve the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 1990.

Page \$1371

Message from the President: Senate received the following message from the President of the United States:

Transmitting, pursuant to law, the Fiscal Year 2015 Budget: Appendix, Analytical Perspectives, and Historical Tables, received during adjournment of the Senate on March 10, 2014; referred jointly, pursuant to the order of January 30, 1975 as modified by the order of April 11, 1986; which was referred to the Committees on Appropriations; and the Budget. (PM–34)

Page S1415

McHugh Nomination—Agreement: Senate resumed consideration of the nomination of Carolyn B. McHugh, of Utah, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Tenth Circuit.

Pages S1375–77

During consideration of this nomination today, Senate also took the following action:

By 62 yeas to 34 nays (Vote No. 61), Senate agreed to the motion to close further debate on the nomination.

Pages \$1376-77

A unanimous-consent-time agreement was reached providing that notwithstanding Rule XXII, all postcloture time be expired and the vote on confirmation of the nomination of Carolyn B. McHugh occur at 10:30 a.m., on Wednesday, March 12, 2014; that at 11:30 a.m., on Tuesday, March 11, 2014, Senate vote on cloture on the nominations of Matthew Frederick Leitman, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, Judith Ellen Levy, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, Laurie J. Michelson, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, and Linda Vivienne Parker, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan; that if cloture is invoked on any of these nominations, notwithstanding Rule XXII, all post-cloture time be expired and the votes on confirmation of the nominations occur on Wednesday, March 12, 2014, following disposition of the nomination of Carolyn B. McHugh, in the order upon which cloture was invoked; that following Senate action on these nominations, Senate vote on confirmation of the nomination of Sarah Bloom Raskin, of Maryland, to be Deputy Secretary of the Treasury; that there be two minutes for debate prior to each vote, and all roll call votes after the first vote in each sequence be ten minutes in length; that following disposition of the nomination of Sarah Bloom Raskin, Senate resume consideration of S. 1086, to reauthorize and improve the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 1990. Page S1486

Nominations Received: Senate received the following nominations:

Erika Lizabeth Moritsugu, of the District of Columbia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.

Nani A. Coloretti, of California, to be Deputy Secretary of Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Estevan R. Lopez, of New Mexico, to be Commissioner of Reclamation.

Monica C. Regalbuto, of Illinois, to be an Assistant Secretary of Energy (Environmental Manage-

Andrew H. Schapiro, of Illinois, to be Ambassador to the Czech Republic.

- 4 Air Force nominations in the rank of general.
- 4 Coast Guard nominations in the rank of admi-

1 Navy nomination in the rank of admiral. Routine lists in the Air Force and Army.

Page \$1486

Nomination Withdrawn: Senate received notification of withdrawal of the following nomination:

Nani A. Coloretti, of California, to be Chief Financial Officer, Department of the Treasury, which was sent to the Senate on January 6, 2014.

Page S1486

Messages from the House: Page S1415

Measures Placed on the Calendar:

Pages S1371, S1415

Executive Communications: Pages S1415-16

Additional Cosponsors: Pages S1416-18

Statements on Introduced Bills/Resolutions:

Pages S1418-19

Pages S1419-20

Additional Statements: Pages S1484-86

Amendments Submitted: Page S1419

Notices of Hearings/Meetings:

Privileges of the Floor: Page S1420

Record Votes: Two record votes were taken today.

(Total—62) Pages S1376-77 Adjournment: Senate convened at 4 p.m., on Mon-

day, March 10, 2014, and adjourned at 8:54 a.m., on Tuesday, March 11, 2014, until 9 a.m. on the same day. (For Senate's program, see the remarks of the Acting Majority Leader in today's Record on page \$1486.)

Committee Meetings

(Committees not listed did not meet)

BUSINESS MEETING

Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation: Committee announced the following subcommittee assignments:

Subcommittee on Aviation Operations, Safety, and Security: Senators Cantwell (Chair), Boxer, Nelson, Pryor, Klobuchar, Begich, Schatz, Booker, Walsh, Ayotte, Wicker, Blunt, Rubio, Heller, Scott, Cruz, Fischer, and Johnson (WI).

Subcommittee on Communications, Technology, and the Internet: Senators Pryor (Chair), Boxer, Nelson, Cantwell, McCaskill, Klobuchar, Begich, Blumenthal, Schatz, Markey, Booker, Walsh, Wicker, Blunt, Rubio, Ayotte, Heller, Coats, Scott, Cruz, Fischer, and Johnson (WI).

Subcommittee on Tourism, Competitiveness, and Innovation: Senators Schatz (Chair), Pryor, Klobuchar, Begich, Markey, Walsh, Scott, Blunt, Coats, Fischer, and Johnson (WI).

Subcommittee on Consumer Protection, Product Safety, and Insurance: Senators McCaskill (Chair), Boxer, Pryor, Klobuchar, Blumenthal, Schatz, Booker, Heller, Blunt, Ayotte, Coats, Cruz, and Fischer.

Subcommittee on Oceans, Atmosphere, Fisheries, and Coast Guard: Senators Begich (Chair), Nelson, Cantwell, Blumenthal, Schatz, Markey, Booker, Rubio, Wicker, Ayotte, Coats, Scott, and Cruz.

Subcommittee on Science and Space: Senators Nelson (Chair), Boxer, Pryor, Klobuchar, Blumenthal, Markey, Walsh, Cruz, Wicker, Rubio, Heller, Coats, and Johnson (WI).

Subcommittee on Surface Transportation and Merchant Marine Infrastructure, Safety, and Security: Senators Blumenthal (Chair), Boxer, Cantwell, Pryor, McCaskill, Klobuchar, Begich, Schatz, Markey, Booker, Walsh, Blunt, Wicker, Rubio, Ayotte, Heller, Coats, Scott, Cruz, Fischer, and Johnson (WI).

Senators Rockefeller and Thune are ex officio members of each subcommittee.

House of Representatives

Chamber Action

Public Bills and Resolutions Introduced: 2 public bills, H.R. 4185-4186 were introduced. Page H2260

Additional Cosponsors: Page H2260 Reports Filed: Reports were filed on Friday, March 7, 2014 as follows:

H.R. 3973, to amend section 530D of title 28, United States Code (H. Rept. 113-376) and H.R. 4138, to protect the separation of powers in the