111TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION

H. RES. 1546

Congratulating the Washington Stealth for winning the National Lacrosse League Championship.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

July 21, 2010

Mr. Inslee (for himself, Mr. Larsen of Washington, Mr. Baird, Mr. Bar-ROW, Mr. BLUMENAUER, Mr. BRALEY of Iowa, Ms. CASTOR of Florida, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Connolly of Virginia, Mr. Dicks, Mr. Dingell, Mr. Doyle, Mr. Farr, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Hastings of Washington, Mr. Heinrich, Ms. Norton, Ms. Jackson Lee of Texas, Mr. Kind, Mr. KING of New York, Mr. Klein of Florida, Mr. Langevin, Ms. Zoe Lofgren of California, Mr. Matheson, Ms. McCollum, McDermott, Mr. McGovern, Mrs. McMorris Rodgers, Melancon, Mr. Moran of Virginia, Mr. Ortiz, Mr. Owens, Mr. QUIGLEY, Mr. REICHERT, Mr. ROTHMAN of New Jersey, Mr. RUPPERSBERGER, Mr. RYAN of Ohio, Ms. LINDA T. SÁNCHEZ of California, Ms. Schakowsky, Mr. Shuler, Mr. Sires, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Snyder, Mr. Spratt, Mr. Stark, Ms. Sutton, Mr. Van HOLLEN, Mr. WAXMAN, Mr. WELCH, and Mr. WILSON of South Carolina) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Washington Stealth for winning the National Lacrosse League Championship.

Whereas, on May 15, 2010, the Washington Stealth defeated Toronto Rock 15 to 11 in the National Lacrosse League Championship in Everett, Washington;

- Whereas the Stealth franchise won the Western Division during the regular season with a NLL-best 11 and 5 record, capturing the Western Divisional Championship by defeating the Edmonton Rush;
- Whereas the 2010 National Lacrosse League Championship game was sold out and 8,609 people watched the game at the Comcast Arena in Everett, Washington;
- Whereas this was the Washington Stealth's first season in Everett, Washington, after spending 6 seasons in San Jose, California;
- Whereas Washington Stealth led the National Lacrosse League in goal-scoring with 211 goals in 16 regular season games;
- Whereas team member Lewis Ratcliff was the league's top goal-scorer with 46 goals and earned the Championship Game MVP honors after scoring 5 goals during the championship game;
- Whereas David Takata, President of Washington Stealth, has been named the National Lacrosse League's Executive of the Year;
- Whereas Chris Hall, Head Coach of Washington Stealth, has been named the National Lacrosse League's Coach of the Year;
- Whereas Forwards Lewis Ratcliff and Rhys Duch have earned the honor of Second Team All-Pro;
- Whereas Defenseman Matt Beers earned the honor of All-Rookie Team;
- Whereas Lacrosse is the Nation's fastest growing sport;
- Whereas the National Lacrosse League has 11 teams throughout North America;

- Whereas the National Lacrosse League's West Division includes the Washington Stealth, Colorado Mammoth, Minnesota Swarm, Edmonton Rush, and Calgary Roughnecks;
- Whereas the National Lacrosse League's East Division includes the Toronto Rock, Boston Blazers, Rochester Knighthawks, Buffalo Bandits, Orlando Titans, and Philadelphia Wings;
- Whereas 2010 marked the National Lacrosse League's 24th season; and
- Whereas over 1,000,000 fans enter the doors of the National Lacrosse League arenas on a yearly basis: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved, That the House of Representatives—
- 2 (1) congratulates the Washington Stealth for
- 3 winning the National Lacrosse League Champion-
- 4 ship; and
- 5 (2) recognizes the achievements of the players,
- 6 coaches, students, and support staff who were in-
- 7 strumental in the victory.

 \bigcirc