Sessions

Shadegg

Sherwood

Shimkus

Simmons

Simpson

Shaw

Shavs

Shows

Skeen

Skelton

Smith (MI)

Smith (NJ)

Smith (TX)

Smith (WA)

Snyder

Souder

Spence

Spratt

Stearns

Stump

Tauzin

Terry

Thune

Tiahrt

Tiberi

Tierney

Toomey

Upton

Vitter

Walsh

Wamp

Watkins

Watt (NC)

Waxman

Whitfield

Wexler

Wilson

Woolsey

Young (AK)

Young (FL)

Wynn

Wolf

Watts (OK)

Weldon (FL)

Walden

Traficant

Thomas

Sununu

Ortiz

Ose

Otter

Osborne

#### NOT VOTING-22

Ackerman Grucci McCrerv Armey Hefley Moakley Hinojosa Sensenbrenner Becerra Boucher Hulshof Stark Johnson, Sam Taylor (NC) Callahan Jones (NC) Weldon (PA) Edwards Filner Largent McCarthy (MO) Gordon

### □ 2356

Mr. CRAMER changed his vote from "yea" to "nay."

So the motion to adjourn was rejected.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

Stated for:

Mr. FILNER. Mr. Speaker, on rollcall No. 98, due to official duties in my district related to California's electricity crisis, I missed this vote.

Had I been present, I would have voted "vea."

## THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. Lahood). Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, the pending business is the question of agreeing to the Speaker's approval of the Journal of the last day's proceedings.

The question is on the Speaker's approval of the Journal on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

This is a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 299, nays 107, not voting 25, as follows:

# [Roll No. 99]

YEAS-299 Combest Akin Gilman Andrews Cooksey Goode Goodlatte Baca Cox Baker Coyne Goss Graham Baldwin Cramer Ballenger Crenshaw Granger Barcia. Cubin Graves Culberson Green (TX) Barr Bartlett Cummings Green (WI) Barton Cunningham Greenwood Davis (CA) Hall (OH) Bass Bentsen Davis (FL) Hall (TX) Bereuter Davis, Jo Ann Hansen Davis, Tom Berkley Harman Berman Deal Hart Hastings (WA) DeGette Berry Biggert DeLauro Hayes Bilirakis DeMint Hayworth Deutsch Bishop Herger Blagojevich Diaz-Balart Hobson Blumenauer Dooley Hoeffel Doolittle Blunt Hoekstra Boehlert Doyle Holden Boehner Dreier Holt Honda Bonilla Duncan Bono Dunn Horn Boswell 8 | Hostettler Ehlers Bovd Ehrlich Houghton Brady (TX) Emerson Hoyer Brown (SC) Eshoo Hunter Etheridge Hutchinson Bryant Burr Evans Hyde Burton Everett Inslee Buyer Fattah Isakson Calvert Ferguson Israel Camp Flake Issa. Fletcher Istook Cannon Cantor Foley Jackson-Lee Capito Ford (TX) Cardin Fossella Jenkins Frank Frelinghuysen John Johnson (CT) Carson (OK) Castle Chabot Gallegly Johnson (IL) Chambliss Ganske Keller Gekas Clayton Kelly Gibbons Clyburn Kerns Coble Gilchrest Kildee Kind (WI) Collins Gillmor

King (NY) Kingston Kirk Kleczka Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Lampson Larson (CT) LaTourette Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Linder Lipinski Lofgren Lowey Lucas (KY) Lucas (OK) Luther Malonev (CT) Maloney (NY) Manzullo Markey Mascara Matsui McCarthy (NY) McCollum McHugh McInnis McIntyre McKeon McKinnev Meek (FL) Mica. Millender-McDonald Miller (FL) Miller, Gary Mink Mollohan Moran (KS) Moran (VA) Morella. Murtha Myrick Nadler Napolitano Nethercutt Nev Northup

Norwood

Aderholt

Allen

Baird

Bachus

Baldacci

Barrett

Bonior

Borski

Capps

Clay

Capuano

Clement

Condit

Conyers

Costello

Crowley

DeFazio

Dicks

Dingell

Doggett

English

Gephardt

Gonzalez

Gutierrez

Gutknecht

Ackerman

Armey

Becerra

Boucher

Callahan

DeLay

Engel

Farr

Frost

Delahunt

Davis (IL)

Crane

Brady (PA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Carson (IN)

Abercrombie

Nussle

Owens Oxley Pascrel1 Paul Payne Pelosi Pence Peterson (PA) Petri Pickering Pitts Platts Pombo Portman Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Putnam Quinn Radanovich Rahall Rangel Regula Rehberg Thornberry Reves Reynolds Rilev Rivers Rodriguez Roemer Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Rothman Roukema Roybal-Allard Rovce Rush Rvan (WI) Ryun (KS) Sanders Sandlin Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schiff Schrock Serrano NAYS-107

Ross

Hastings (FL) Obev Hill Olver Hilleary Hilliard Pastor Hinchey Peterson (MN) Hooley Jackson (IL) Phelps Pomeroy Jefferson Ramstad Johnson, E. B. Sabo Sanchez Jones (OH) Kanjorski Schaffer Schakowsky Kaptur Kennedy (MN) Scott Kennedy (RI) Sherman Kilpatrick Stenholm Kucinich Strickland LaFalce Stupak Langevin Sweeney Lantos Tancredo Larsen (WA) Tanner Tauscher Latham Lee Taylor (MS) Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Levin Lewis (GA) LoBiondo Thurman Towns Udall (CO) Matheson McDermott McGovern Udall (NM) McNulty Velazquez Meehan Visclosky Meeks (NY) Waters Menendez Weiner Miller, George Weller Moore Wicker Nea1 Wu Oberstar

## NOT VOTING-

Edwards Hulshof Filner Johnson, Sam Jones (NC) Gordon Grucci Largent Hefley McCarthy (MO) Hinojosa McCrery

Moakley Sensenbrenner Slaughter

Stark Taylor (NC) Turner

Weldon (PA)

## □ 0008

So the Journal was approved.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

Stated Against:

Mr. FILNER. Mr. Speaker, on rollcall No. 99, due to official duties in my district related to California's electricity crisis, I missed this vote. Had I been present, I would have voted "nay."

### RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. LAHOOD). Pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 12 o'clock and 8 minutes a.m.), the House stood in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

## □ 0156

## AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. SIMPSON) at 1 o'clock and 56 minutes a.m.

AMENDMENT PROCESS FOR H.R. 1646, FOREIGN RELATIONS AU-THORIZATION ACT FISCAL YEARS 2002 AND 2003

(Mr. GOSS asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 minute and to revise and extend his remarks.)

Mr. GOSS. Mr. Speaker, today a "Dear Colleague" letter will be sent to all Members informing them that the Committee on Rules is planning to meet the week of May 7 to grant a rule which may limit the amendment process on H.R. 1646, the Foreign Relations Authorization Act for fiscal years 2002 and 2003. The bill was ordered reported by the Committee on International Relations yesterday, and therefore is expected to be filed tomorrow.

Any Member wishing to offer an amendment should submit 55 copies of the amendment and one copy of a brief explanation to the Committee on Rules in room H-312 in the Capitol no later than noon on Tuesday, May 8.

Amendments should be drafted to the text of H.R. 1646 as ordered reported by the Committee on International Relations. That text is available at the Committee on International Relations and will be posted on its Web site to-

Members should use the Office of Legislative Counsel to ensure that their amendments are properly drafted and should check with the Office of the Parliamentarian to be certain that their amendments comply with the rules of the House.