

REP. RICHARD HUDSON'S (NC-08) CONCEALED CARRY RECIPROCITY ACT Q&A

Q: How does this bill differ from the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2015?

A: It is the same bill with the addition of Constitutional carry language to ensure that those who reside in Constitutional carry states also receive the protections of this bill. It also allows for concealed carry in the National Park System, National Wildlife Refuge System, and on lands administered by the Bureau of Land Management, Army Corps of Engineers and Bureau of Reclamation.

Q: What is a Constitutional carry state?

A: There are a number of states that allow individuals to carry concealed firearms for lawful purposes without a permit. These include Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming. There are a number of other states that have a limited form of permitless carry.

Q: Why is this bill necessary?

A: Law-abiding citizens have a right to concealed carry and should be able to travel freely between states without worrying about conflicting concealed carry reciprocity laws or onerous civil suits.

Q: How does this bill provide legal protections for law-abiding concealed carry permit holders?

A: This legislation places the burden of proof clearly on the state to show that the individual who is carrying concealed did not comply with the law. It also ensures that attorney's fees and damages would be available to victorious plaintiffs in civil suits, as well as to defendants who prevail in criminal cases.

Q: Will states lose their rights with concealed carry reciprocity?

A: States will still retain their authority to determine regulations for carrying within their borders and may decide where people are and are not allowed to carry concealed in their state.

Q: Doesn't concealed carry increase crime?

A: Statistics have shown that the opposite is true: violent crime has decreased as gun ownership has increased. Since 1991, an additional 25 states have adopted Right to Carry laws, the number of people with carry permits has risen to over 12 million, and the nation's violent crime rate has decreased 51 percent to a 43 year low.

Q: If people don't have to get a permit to conceal carry in Constitutional carry states, won't the crime rate increase?

A: No. In Vermont, a Constitutional carry state, the violent crime rate continues to decrease. It has dropped 19.2% from 2012 to 2014.