

September 12, 2018

The Honorable Earl L. "Buddy" Carter United States House of Representatives 432 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515-1001

Dear Representative Carter:

The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) is pleased to support your legislation, Know the Cost Act (H.R. 6733), to prohibit group health plans, health insurance issuers, prescription drug plan sponsors, and Medicare Advantage organizations from restricting pharmacies from informing individuals about differences in their out-of-pocket cost for a prescription drug if it is obtained under their plan or insurance coverage or without using their insurance. We are also pleased to recognize your colleagues who have joined you in introducing the Know the Cost Act, who have also been copied on this letter.

NACDS believes gag clauses should not be allowed in contracts between health plans and pharmacies. Such clauses prevent pharmacists from informing patients when a medication can be purchased at a lower price without using insurance. The prohibition and/or removal of gag clauses in contracts between Part D plans, Medicare Advantage plans, PBMs, and pharmacies will enhance patient access to medications, enable pharmacists to have improved relationships with patients, and keep healthcare costs for patients to a minimum.

Pharmacies are the face of neighborhood healthcare and are a highly trusted source of healthcare information, products, and services. Your legislation helps ensure that Medicare beneficiaries can continue to trust their local pharmacies for accurate and helpful information regarding their prescription drug costs.

Again, we appreciate your leadership on this critically important healthcare issue. If you have any questions, please contact Bill Tighe, Vice President, Federal Government Affairs at (703) 837-4214 or wtighe@nacds.org.

Sincerely,

The National Association of Chain Drug Stores

CC: The Hon. Michael Burgess The Hon. Debbie Dingell The Hon. Lloyd Doggett The Hon. Anna Eshoo The Hon. Gene Green



The Hon. Morgan Griffith The Hon. Cathy McMorris Rodgers The Hon. Erik Paulsen The Hon. Peter Welch