

## Association of State Floodplain Managers, Inc.

575 D'Onofrio Drive, Suite 200 Madison WI 53719

Phone: 608-828-3000 | Fax: 608-828-6319 | Email: asfpm@floods.org | Web: www.floods.org

Executive Director Chad M. Berginnis, CFM Associate Director - Operations Ingrid D. Danler, CFM

Director Emeritus Larry A. Larson, P.E., CFM

October 25, 2013

Honorable Bill Shuster Chairman House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Washington D.C. 20515

Honorable Nick Rahall Ranking Minority Member House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Washington D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Shuster and Ranking Member Rahall,

The Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) is very pleased that the FEMA Reauthorization Act of 2013 (H.R. 3300) has been introduced and will soon be considered by the full Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. Our members are very supportive of the bill and hope it will be successfully reported out of Committee and passed by the House.

The Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Buildings and Emergency Management has produced a bill that builds, importantly, on earlier legislation authorizing aspects of FEMA's responsibilities by being the first FEMA reauthorization bill. We very much appreciate the commitment and efforts of Subcommittee Chairman Barletta and Ranking Member Carson. They and the Subcommittee staff have sought advice and comments from a range of stakeholder groups and have fostered a valuable collaborative effort.

The Association of State Floodplain Managers represents over 15,000 state and local officials and private sector partners who support their work. ASFPM also has 35 state chapters. All members are dedicated to reducing loss of life and property due to flooding, which is our nation's most frequent and most costly type of natural disaster.

H.R. 3300 reauthorizes FEMA and, specifically, a number of its programs that strengthen response and recovery from natural disasters and that promote critical partnerships with state and local officials. We appreciate that recognition of the importance of intergovernmental and multiple sector collaboration. Thank you for moving this legislation.

Sincerely,

Chad Berginnis, CFM Executive Director

Dedicated to reducing flood risk and losses in the nation.

Chair

William Nechamen, CFM Chief, Floodplain Management NY State Dept. Env. Consv. 518-402-8146 wsnecham@gw.dec.state.ny.us **Vice Chair** 

Ceil C. Strauss, CFM State Floodplain Manager MN Dept. Natural Resources 651-259-5713 ceil.strauss@state.mn.us **Secretary** 

Joy Duperault, CFM State Floodplain Manager FL Div. Emergency Mgmt. 850-922-4518 joy.duperault@em.myflorida.com **Treasurer** 

Joseph Ruggeri, P.E., CFM State Floodplain Manager NJ Dept. of Env. Protection 609-292-2296 joseph.ruggeri@dep.state.nj.us