

# **Post-9/11 GI Bill: General Information**

## Who is Eligible for Benefits Under the Post-9/11 GI Bill?

Individuals who serve at least 90 days of total service after Sept. 10, 2001.

To be eligible for 100 percent of the benefit, one of the following must be true:

- You served 36 total months of active duty.
- You were discharged after Sept. 10, 2001 for a service-connected disability after 30 days of continuous service.

**Note:** Active duty service time required by graduates of a service academy or ROTC does not count toward the three years necessary to qualify for full benefits.

If you served fewer than 36 months, your percentage of benefits ranges from 40 to 90 percent:

- 90 percent: 30 total months, including active duty in entry level and skill training
- 80 percent: 24 total months, including active duty in entry level and skill training
- 70 percent: 18 total months, excluding active duty in entry level and skill training
- 60 percent: 12 total months, excluding active duty in entry level and skill training
- 50 percent: six total months, excluding active duty in entry level and skill training
- 40 percent: 90 or more days, excluding active duty in entry level and skill training

For example, an individual with five months of qualifying service could receive 40 percent of the tuition benefit and monthly housing allowance, and \$400 for books and supplies.

*Note:* You must have an honorable discharge to be eligible.

#### What Benefits Do Students Receive Under the Post-9/11 GI Bill?

Servicemembers who are separating and plan to file for disability can file their claim early. This is done through the Veterans Affairs (VA) Benefits Delivery at Discharge (BDD) program. This program allows Service members to apply for VA disability compensation benefits prior to separation. Claims must be filed between 180 to 90 days prior to separation.

## What Benefits Do Students Receive Under the Post-9/11 GI Bill?

With BDD, most claimants receive their decision the day after leaving active duty. This provides time for VA to schedule exams, review treatment records and evaluate the claim before separation.

- Full tuition and fees, paid directly to the school for all public school in-state students
  - Private or foreign school tuition and fees are capped at the national maximum rate.
  - Private institutions of higher learning in Arizona, Michigan, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, South Carolina or Texas may be eligible for higher tuition reimbursement rate.
  - The Yellow Ribbon Program may help reimburse the difference if you attend an expensive private school or public school as an out-of-state resident.
- A monthly housing allowance (MHA)
  - This is generally the same as the basic allowance for housing (BAH) for monthly housing rates.
  - Your MHA is based on the zip code of the campus where you attend classes.
  - For more information, visit https://gibill.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a\_id/1412/.
- An annual books and supplies stipend
  - This is paid to the student.
  - The amount is up to \$1,000, paid proportionately based on enrollment.

- A one-time rural benefit payment of \$500 to individuals who reside in a county with six people or fewer per square mile
  - This must be determined by the most recent decennial census.
  - You must have to physically relocate at least 500 miles to attend school, or relocate by air to attend school, if no other land-based transportation exists.

### What Training and Education Programs are Paid for Under the Post-9/11 GI Bill?

Approved training includes:

- Graduate and undergraduate degrees
- Vocational or technical training
- On-the-job training
- Flight training
- Correspondence training
- Licensing and national testing programs
- Entrepreneurship training and tutorial assistance

All training must be approved for GI Bill benefits.

## What is New About the Post-9/11 GI Bill?

The Harry W. Colmery Veterans Educational Assistance Act, also known as the "Forever GI Bill," was signed into law on Aug. 17, 2017. It brings significant changes to Veterans' education benefits.

## How Does the New Forever GI Bill Immediately Affect You?

- The changes eliminated the 15-year time limit for using Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits. This applies to Veterans who left active duty on or after Jan. 1, 2013 and qualifying dependents.
  - This includes Fry Scholarship children who became eligible on or after Jan. 1,
    2013 and all Fry Scholarship spouses.
- If you had eligibility under the Reserve Education Assistance Program (REAP) and lost it, that service will be credited toward the Post-9/11 GI Bill program.

- Certain work-study is permanently authorized. Previously, it had to be reapproved by Congress every few years.
- VA will help Veterans identify schools that offer priority enrollment.
- If you use the Post-9/11 GI Bill after Jan. 1, 2018, you will receive a monthly housing allowance. The amount is based on the Department of Defense basic housing allowance (BAH) for monthly housing rates.
- As of Aug. 1, 2018, your MHA is based on the zip code of the campus where you attend classes.
- As of Aug. 1, 2018, Service members and honorably discharged Veterans who were awarded a Purple Heart on or after Sept. 11, 2001, are entitled to Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits. These benefits are at the 100-percent benefit level for up to 36 months

## What Resources Are Available?

- See communications on the Forever GI Bill: <u>https://www.benefits.va.gov/GIBILL/FGIBCommunications.asp.</u>
- Ask your local Veterans Service Officers.
- Visit our Facebook page: <u>https://www.facebook.com/gibillEducation</u>.
- Follow us on Twitter: <u>https://twitter.com/VAVetBenefits</u>.
- Visit the GI Bill homepage for announcements: <u>https://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill</u>
- Call 888-442-4551 (888-GI BILL 1).