

FY 2013 Essential Air Service (EAS) and Economically Distressed Areas (EDA) Determinations

Purpose

The purpose of this guidance is to provide the FY 2013 determinations under Title 49 U.S.C. § 47109 (f) Special Rule for Economically Distressed Communities, which provides an exception to the 90 percent federal share for grants at smaller airports (i.e. other than Large and Medium-hub) that are both receiving Essential Air Service (EAS) and are located in economically distressed areas (EDA). FAA Regional Airports Office and Airports District Offices are encouraged to distribute this PGL widely to the airport and consultant community.

Determinations

FAA makes a determination of whether an airport qualifies for the increased 95 percent federal share for Airport Improvement Program (AIP) grants on an annual basis. Because federal share percentages affect how the agency plans AIP spending, determinations will only be made at the start of the fiscal year on October 1. Once the FAA determines that an airport qualifies for the increased federal share, it will maintain that status for the entire fiscal year, regardless of mid-year changes in Essential Air Service (EAS) or Economically Distressed Area (EDA) status.

For FY 2013, a determination of the airports that meet the Section 47109 (f) criteria was made on October 1, 2012. For details on the determination process, please see Program Guidance Letter (PGL) 12-05 issued on April 16, 2012.

The EAS program is administered by the DOT. The DOT office administering the program provides the FAA annually with an official list of all EAS locations. For more information about the EAS program, visit their site here: http://www.dot.gov/policy/aviation-policy/current-list-eligible-eas-communities

EDA information is obtained from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). For more information about how FHWA calculates EDAs, please visit the FHWA site: http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/economicrecovery/edaganda.htm

Qualifying Airports (FY 2013)

In FY 2012, there were 56 airports that qualified for the 95% federal share. Of those 56 airports, five (5) airports no longer meet the criteria and there are 20 new airports that qualify for a total of 71 qualifying airports as of October 1, 2012 (see Table 1). The 20 new qualifying airports for FY 2013 are marked with

an asterisk (*). The 71 qualifying airports will be eligible to receive the higher 95% federal share for grants issued in FY 2013 only. Table 2 provides the list of airports that were on the list of eligible airports in FY 2012, but no longer qualify for FY 2013.

TABLE 1: EAS Locations in EDAs

Of the 149 NPIAS airports receiving EAS, ARP has identified 71 that are located in EDAs as of October 1, 2012. These airports are eligible to receive a 95 percent federal share for AIP grants in FY 2013.

^{*} Indicates new locations in FY 2013

State	EAS Community	Loc ID
AK	Adak	ADK*
AK	Akutan	KQA
AK	Angoon	AGN*
AK	Atka	AKA*
AK	Central	CEM
AK	Chisana	CZN*
AK	Circle	CRC
AK	Cordova	CDV*
AK	Elfin Cove	ELV*
AK	Excursion Inlet	EXI*
AK	Funter Bay	FNR*
AK	Gustavus	GST*
AK	Healy Lake	HRR
AK	Hydaburg	HYG*
AK	Kake	KAE*
AK	Lake Minchumina	МНМ
AK	Manley	MLY
AK	Minto	51Z*
AK	Pelican	PEC*
AK	Petersburg	PSG*
AK	Port Alexander	AHP
AK	Rampart	RMP*
AK	Tenakee	TKE*
AK	Yakutat	YAK
AL	Muscle Shoals	MSL
AR	Harrison	HRO
AR	Jonesboro	JBR
AZ	Kingman	IGM
AZ	Prescott	PRC

State	EAS Community	Loc ID
AZ	Show Low	sow
CA	Crescent City	CEC
CA	El Centro	IPL
CA	Merced	MCE
CA	Visalia	VIS
СО	Pueblo	PUB
GA	Athens	AHN
GA	Macon	MCN*
IL	Decatur	DEC
KS	Dodge City	DDC
KS	Garden City	GCK
KS	Liberal/Guymon	LBL
ME	Presque Isle/Houlton	PQI
MI	Alpena	APN
MI	Escanaba	ESC
MI	Hancock/Houghton	CMX
MI	Ironwood/Ashland	IWD
MI	Manistee	MBL
MI	Muskegon	MKG
MI	Pellston	PLN
MI	Sault Ste. Marie	CIU
MN	Bemidji	BJI
МО	Joplin	JLN
МО	Kirksville	IRK
MS	Greenville	GLH
MS	Meridian	MEI
MS	Tupelo	TUP
MT	Wolf Point	OLF
NE	Chadron	CDR

State	EAS Community	Loc ID
NM	Silver City/Hurley/Deming	SVC
NY	Jamestown	JHW
NY	Massena	MSS
NY	Ogdensburg	OGS
NY	Plattsburgh	PBG*
NY	Saranac Lake/Lake Placid	SLK
OR	Pendleton	PDT

State	EAS Community	Loc ID
PA	Bradford	BFD*
PA	DuBois	DUJ
PR	Mayaguez	MAZ
UT	Cedar City	CDC
UT	Vernal	VEL
WV	Greenbrier/White Sulphur Springs	LWB*

TABLE 2: Airports Qualifying in FY 2012 that do not Qualify in FY 2013

Four (4) EAS airports were located in an EDA for the FY 2012 determination, but are not located in EDAs as of October 1, 2012. One (1) airport is no longer an EAS airport (ALM). Therefore, the following five (5) airports no longer meet the requirements of Section 137 of the FAA Reauthorization Bill.

State	EAS Community	Loc ID
MN	Brainerd	BRD
MS	Hattiesburg/Laurel	PIB
NM	Alamagordo/Holloman AFB	ALM
PA	Franklin/Oil City	FKL
UT	Moab	CNY