OCCASIONS WHEN VICE PRESIDENTS HAVE VOTED TO BREAK TIE VOTES IN THE SENATE $^{\rm 1}$

| Vice President | Years Served | Date Broke Tie |
|----------------------|--------------|--|
| John Adams (29) | 1789–1797 | July 18, 1789 August 25, 1789 September 21, 1789 September 24, 1789 May 21, 1790 May 26, 1790 May 26, 1790 May 27, 1790 June 8, 1790 June 29, 1790 June 29, 1790 July 28, 1790 July 28, 1790 July 28, 1790 July 28, 1790 December 8, 1791 December 15, 1791 December 20, 1791 April 16, 1792 March 12, 1794 March 12, 1794 March 13, 1794 March 13, 1794 April 28, 1796 May 6, 1796 February 6, 1797 |
| Thomas Jefferson (3) | 1797–1801 | April 23, 1798 May 30, 1798 May 5, 1800 |
| Aaron Burr (3) | 1801–1805 | January 26, 1802 January 27, 1802 February 9, 1802 |

 1 This list is a compilation from a number of sources (see list at end) and may not include every occasion on which a vice president has voted to break a tie.

| Vice President | Years Served | Date Broke Tie |
|------------------------|--------------|--|
| George Clinton (14) | 1805–1812 | January 28, 1806 March 17, 1806 January 21, 1807 March 16, 1808 December 16, 1808 January 11, 1809 January 23, 1810 February 5, 1810 April 9, 1810 January 10, 1811 February 5, 1811 February 20, 1811 April 9, 1812 |
| [No vice president] | [1812–1813] | _ |
| Elbridge Gerry (9) | 1813–1814 | July 24, 1813 July 31, 1813 March 1, 1814 March 15, 1814 March 28, 1814 April 13, 1814 April 16, 1814 April 16, 1814 April 16, 1814 |
| [No vice president] | [1814–1817] | _ |
| Daniel D. Tompkins (6) | 1817–1825 | March 4, 1818 March 11, 1818 March 26, 1818 January 21, 1819 February 10, 1819 May 17, 1824 |
| John C. Calhoun (31) | 1825–1832 | February 16, 1826 April 28, 1826 May 10, 1826 February 14, 1827 February 23, 1827 February 28, 1827 February 25, 1828 March 21, 1828 |

| <u>Vice President</u> | Years Served | <u>Date Broke Tie</u> |
|-------------------------|--------------|--|
| John C. Calhoun (cont.) | | March 21, 1828 April 9, 1828 April 30, 1828 May 5, 1828 May 6, 1828 May 10, 1828 May 10, 1828 February 16, 1829 February 26, 1829 December 14, 1829 May 10, 1830 May 28, 1830 May 28, 1830 January 13, 1832 January 25, 1832 February 16, 1832 April 13, 1832 April 13, 1832 April 25, 1832 May 9, 1832 July 5, 1832 July 5, 1832 July 6, 1832 July 6, 1832 July 6, 1832 |
| [No vice president] | [1832–1833] | _ |
| Martin Van Buren (4) | 1833–1837 | March 28, 1836 May 21, 1836 June 2, 1836 December 21, 1836 |
| Richard M. Johnson (14) | 1837–1841 | January 27, 1838 February 21, 1838 December 19, 1838 February 4, 1839 February 6, 1839 February 20, 1839 February 7, 1840 February 7, 1840 March 25, 1840 March 25, 1840 March 25, 1840 June 5, 1840 June 5, 1840 January 20, 1841 |

| Vice President | Years Served | Date Broke Tie |
|---------------------------|--------------|--|
| John Tyler (0) | 1841 | _ |
| [No vice president] | [1841–1845] | _ |
| George M. Dallas (19) | 1845–1849 | February 3, 1846 April 14, 1846 April 15, 1846 May 15, 1846 July 23, 1846 July 28, 1846 July 28, 1846 December 23, 1846 January 16, 1847 January 19, 1847 January 22, 1847 January 25, 1847 February 27, 1847 February 27, 1847 December 29, 1847 March 8, 1848 June 20, 1848 June 22, 1848 February 8, 1849 |
| Millard Fillmore (3) | 1849–1850 | January 7, 1850 January 9, 1850 January 14, 1850 |
| [No vice president] | [1850–1853] | _ |
| William R. King (0) | 1853 | _ |
| [No vice president] | [1853–1857] | _ |
| John C. Breckinridge (10) | 1857–1861 | March 15, 1858 May 12, 1858 May 18, 1858 June 7, 1858 December 15, 1858 February 17, 1859 April 11, 1860 February 21, 1861 February 28, 1861 March 2, 1861 |

| Vice President | Years Served | Date Broke Tie |
|------------------------|--------------|--|
| Hannibal Hamlin (7) | 1861–1865 | March 12, 1862 March 17, 1862 March 24, 1862 January 14, 1863 February 3, 1863 February 28, 1865 March 1, 1865 |
| Andrew Johnson (0) | 1865 | _ |
| [No vice president] | [1865–1869] | _ |
| Schuyler Colfax (18) | 1869–1873 | December 8, 1869 February 14, 1870 March 11, 1870 March 15, 1870 March 29, 1870 May 23, 1870 June 7, 1870 February 17, 1871 February 20, 1871 March 22, 1871 February 9, 1872 April 24, 1872 April 30, 1872 April 30, 1872 May 9, 1872 May 9, 1872 May 9, 1872 February 15, 1873 |
| Henry Wilson (1) | 1873–1875 | March 2, 1875 |
| [No vice president] | [1875–1877] | _ |
| William A. Wheeler (6) | 1877–1881 | November 22, 1877 November 26, 1877 November 28, 1877 November 28, 1877 December 20, 1878 January 31, 1879 |
| Chester A. Arthur (3) | 1881 | March 18, 1881 March 18, 1881 March 24, 1881 |

| Vice President | Years Served | Date Broke Tie |
|--------------------------|--------------|--|
| [No vice president] | [1881–1885] | _ |
| Thomas A. Hendricks (0) | 1885 | _ |
| [No vice president] | [1885–1889] | _ |
| Levi P. Morton (4) | 1889–1893 | January 14, 1891 January 16, 1891 December 15, 1892 February 9, 1893 |
| Adlai E. Stevenson (2) | 1893–1897 | February 15, 1894 August 11, 1894 |
| Garret A. Hobart (1) | 1897–1899 | February 14, 1899 |
| [No vice president] | [1899–1901] | _ |
| Theodore Roosevelt (0) | 1901 | _ |
| [No vice president] | [1901–1905] | _ |
| Charles W. Fairbanks (0) | 1905–1909 | _ |
| James S. Sherman (4) | 1909–1912 | February 2, 1911 February 2, 1911 February 2, 1911 June 12, 1911 |
| [No vice president] | [1912–1913] | _ |
| Thomas R. Marshall (9) | 1913–1921 | December 19, 1913 March 19, 1914 May 19, 1914 August 17, 1914 February 12, 1915 February 15, 1915 February 15, 1915 February 2, 1916 February 14, 1919 |
| Calvin Coolidge (0) | 1921–1923 | _ |
| [No vice president] | [1923–1925] | _ |

| Vice President | Years Served | <u>Date Broke Tie</u> |
|---|--------------------------|--|
| Charles G. Dawes (2) | 1925–1929 | May 21, 1928 May 28, 1928 |
| Charles Curtis (3) | 1929–1933 | March 12, 1930 March 13, 1930 May 19, 1930 |
| John N. Garner (3) | 1933–1941 | June 2, 1933 April 17, 1934 February 6, 1940 |
| Henry A. Wallace (4) | 1941–1945 | June 26, 1942 June 26, 1942 July 16, 1942 July 17, 1942 |
| Harry S. Truman (1) | 1945 | April 10, 1945 |
| [No vice president] | [1945–1949] | _ |
| Alben W. Barkley (8) | 1949–1953 | September 15, 1949 September 15, 1949 October 4, 1949 October 4, 1949 May 3, 1950 June 5, 1950 June 26, 1950 June 4, 1952 |
| Richard M. Nixon (8) | 1953–1961 | June 18, 1953 June 18, 1953 March 9, 1956 May 29, 1956 March 12, 1958 April 22, 1959 February 3, 1960 May 2, 1960 |
| Lyndon B. Johnson (0) | 1961–1963 | _ |
| [No vice president] Hubert H. Humphrey (4) | [1963–1965] 1965–1969 | — August 17, 1965 September 13, 1965 May 9, 1967 March 11, 1968 |

| Vice President | Years Served | Date Broke Tie |
|---------------------------|--------------|---------------------------------|
| Spiro T. Agnew (2) | 1969–1973 | August 6, 1969 July 17, 1973 |
| Gerald R. Ford (0) | 1973–1974 | _ |
| Nelson A. Rockefeller (0) | 1974–1977 | _ |
| Walter Mondale (1) | 1977–1981 | November 4, 1977 |

Visit https://www.senate.gov/legislative/TieVotes.htm to see tie-breaking votes since 1981.

Sources: Compiled by the Senate Historical Office from a variety of sources, including: "Casting Votes of the Vice Presidents, 1789–1915," *American Historical Review* 20 (April 1915): 571–76; a printout of Senate votes decided by one vote or less, 1789–1983, prepared for Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress by the Inter–university Consortium for Political and Social Research, Ann Arbor, MI, in 1983; a list compiled by the Senate Library in 1979; and the Office of the Vice President. All votes listed here have been found and verified in either the *Senate Journal* or the *Senate Executive Journal*, or in the *Annals of Congress*, the *Congressional Globe*, or the *Congressional Record*.

Senate Historical Office 2021