## JONES AND NOAA EXCELLENCE AWARDS WINNERS THROUGH TIME

*Coastal Steward of the Year* -- Honors an individual who has exemplified strong, sustained leadership in finding a balance between the human use of the coast and ocean and the needs of that environment.

- 1992: Ms. Sarah Chasis, NRDC
- 1994: Ms. Beth Milleman, Coast Alliance
- 1996: Ms. Cynthia Zipf
- 1999: Dr. George F. Crozier
- 2001: Ms. Maria Brown, Exec. Dir., Farallones Marine Sanctuary Association
- 2003: Mr. David Keeley, State of Maine, State Planning Office

#### **Excellence in Local Government:**

1992: Planning Department, Brunswick, ME; City Clerk, Kewanee, WI; Community Development Agency, Newburgh, NY; Resource Management Department, Santa Barbara County, CA; Sebastian Inlet Tax District Commission, Indialantic, FL 1994: South Walton County Conservation and Development Trust, Inc., Santa Rosa Beach, FL.; City of Kenosha, WI; Delaware County Conservation District, PA. 1996: Volusia County, FL; Town of Rye, NH; Manatee County Government Planning Dept, FL; Natural Resources Dept of the Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewas, WI; Kenai Peninsula Borough, AK.

1999: Cameron Parish Policy Jury

2001: Connecticut River Estuary Regional Planning Agency, Old Saybrook, CT; Jefferson Parish, LA; St. Lucie County Mosquito Control District, St. Lucie County, FL; U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Planning and Natural Resources, St. Thomas, USVI 2003: Ozaukee County, Wisconsin, Planning, Resources and Land Management Department

## Excellence in Coastal and Marine Graduate Study:

1992: Ms. Ilka Feller, Georgetown U.; Mr. E. Laurence Libelo, College of William and Mary; Ms. Joan Boomsma, Florida Institute of Technology; Mr. David Jansen, U. of Washington; Ms. Helen Talge, U. of South Florida. 1994: Ms. Kelie Cochran, U. of Rhode Island; Mr. Miguel Jorge, U. of Delaware 1996: Mr. Kristopher Pickler, Duke; Ms. Lillian Ferguson, U. of Washington; Mr. John Field, U. of Washington; Mr. DoSoo Jang, U. of Delaware 1999: Ms. Tracy Hart, U. of Maryland; Mr. Daniel Hudgens, U. of Massachusetts; Mr. David H. Shull, U. of Massachusetts; Ms. Catherine Wannamaker, N.C. State U.; Mr. David Hart, U. of Wisconsin; Mr. David Robinette, N.C. State U.; Ms. Jill Fegley, U. of Maine; Mr. Christopher Nietch, U. of South Carolina. 2001: Dr. Alex Brylske, Florida Institute of Technology; Mr. David Canny, Duke U.; Mr. Braxton Davis; U. of Rhode Island; Dr. Umaporn Silphaduang, NC State U. 2003: Ms. Kimberly Heiman, Stanford U., Hopkins Marine Station; Ms. Tenley Conway, Rutgers U.; Ms. Julie Oswald, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, U. of California; Mr. Brian Silliman, Brown U.; Ms. Eileen Vandenburgh, U. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Institute of Marine Sciences

## Volunteer of the Year:

1992: Ms. Barbara Fegan, League of Women Voters
1994: Ms. Alison Fahrer
1996: Ms. Susan Jordan, League for Coastal Protection, CA
1999: Mr. Les Hodgson, Brownsville, TX
2001: Mr. James Holland, Altamaha Riverkeeper, Darien, GA
2003: Mr. Conrad Field

#### Non-governmental Organization of the Year:

- 1992: Laudholm Trust
- 1994: Center for Marine Conservation, Pollution Prevention Program
- 1996: Friends of the Bay, NY
- 1999: The Galveston Bay Foundation, TX
- 2001: American Fisheries Society, Bethesda, MD
- 2003: Partnership for the Delaware Estuary, Wilmington, DE

#### **Excellence in Business Leadership:**

- 1992: Texaco Exploration and Production, Inc.
- 1994: Mr. Charles Swain, Edwards Boatyard
- 1996: BP Exploration Inc., Gulf of Mexico (BPX), TX
- 1999: Houma-Terrebonne Chamber of Commerce, LA
- 2001: Public Service Enterprise Group, Newark, NJ
- 2003: Cabrillo Power, I, LLC, Carlsbad, CA

### **Excellence in Promoting Cultural and Ethnic Diversity:**

- 1994: Michael Klubock
- 1996: Pat Flanagan, Museum of Natural History, San Diego, CA
- 1999: Leonard Kapahulehua, Kihei, HI
- 2001: Mr. Mel E. Moon, Jr., Director, Quileute Natural Resources, La Push, WA
- 2003: Dr. Brian Bingham, Minorities in Marine Science Undergraduate Program at
- Shannon Point Marine Center, Western Washington University

#### **Excellence in Coastal Zone Management:**

- 1992: South Carolina Coastal Council
- 1994: Arthur Rocque, State of Connecticut
- 1996: Leslie Jan Strnad, California Coastal Commission, CA
- 1999: See Excellence in Innovative in Coastal Management
- 2001: Dr. Stuart Stevens, State of Georgia
- 2003: Mr. Woody Miley, Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve

## **Excellence in NERR Management:**

- 1992: Gary Lytton, Rookery Bay NERR, FL
- 1994: Eugene Wright, Old Woman Creek NERR, OH

1996: Michael Graybill, South Slough, OR

- 1999: See Excellence in Innovative in Coastal Management
- 2001: Dr. John Taggart, North Carolina NERR, NC

# **Excellence in Marine Sanctuary Management:**

- 1992: Billy Causey, Florida Keys
- 1994: Steve Gittings, Flower Garden Banks
- 1996: Ed Ueber, Gulf of the Farallones
- 1999: See Excellence in Innovative in Coastal Management
- 2001: Dr. John Broadwater, U.S.S. Monitor NMS

## **Excellence in Innovative in Coastal Management:**

1999: San Francisco BCDC, CA; San Francisco Regional Water Quality Control Board; California State Lands Commission.

## Administrator's Award for Excellence

2003: Maine Fishermen's Forum