<
 
 
 
 
×
>
hide
You are viewing a Web site, archived on 22:21:16 Oct 14, 2004. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration.
External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection.
NSF LogoOffice of Inspector General

ABOUT OIG
Mission/Vision/Values
Organizational Chart
OIG Liaisons
Staff Directory
Highlights

OIG PROGRAMS
Office of Audits
Audits
Office of Investigations
Administrative
Civil and Criminal
Legal and
Outreach

Administrative Staff

OIG PUBLICATIONS
KEY REGULATIONS
OIG NEWS
EMPLOYMENT
DIRECTIONS to OIG
OIG HOTLINE
IGNET
Office of Investigations

Peggy L. Fischer
Associate Inspector General for Investigations

The Office of Investigations develops and coordinates our outreach efforts, and assesses and investigates allegations of wrongdoing. Our outreach efforts are essential to building partnerships within the agency, with other federal agencies, NSF awardees, and scientific communities. These partnerships assist us in promoting education on ethical issues and resolving integrity and efficiency matters effectively.

We investigate allegations of wrongdoing involving organizations or individuals that receive awards from, conduct business with, or work for, NSF. In investigating these allegations we assess their seriousness and recommend proportionate action. When possible, we work in partnership with agencies and awardees to resolve these issues. When appropriate, the results of these investigations are referred to the Department of Justice or other prosecutorial authorities for criminal prosecution or civil litigation, or to NSF management for administrative resolution.

Our criminal and civil investigative resources focus on allegations of intentional diversion of NSF funds and material false statements in information submitted to the Foundation. Intentional diversion of NSF funds for personal use is a criminal act, which can be prosecuted under several statutes. Investigating these allegations is a priority for our office. We encourage awardees to notify NSF of any significant problems relating to the misuse of NSF funds, because it significantly increases our ability to conduct investigations and possibly recover funds for NSF.

Our administrative cases include those addressing allegations of research misconduct such as falsification, fabrication, and plagiarism. Research misconduct strikes at the core of NSF’s mission, and is a special concern for our office.

Staff
Name Telephone E-Mail
Catherine N. Ball (703) 292-7302 cball@nsf.gov
Crystal S. Blackshear (703) 292-5004 cblacksh@nsf.gov
Alice M. Boone (703) 292-5024 aboone@nsf.gov
Lewis A. Burkley (703) 292-4981 lburkley@nsf.gov
Kenneth L. Busch (703) 292-4569 kbusch@nsf.gov
John P. Cieplak (703) 292-4976 jcieplak@nsf.gov
Paul J. Coleman (703) 292-7918 pcoleman@nsf.gov
Fara Damelin (703) 292-8873 fdamelin@nsf.gov
James C. Evans (703) 292-7398 jcevans@nsf.gov
Peggy L. Fischer (703) 292-4889 pfischer@nsf.gov
Montgomery K. Fisher (703) 292-4987 mfisher@nsf.gov
Brian E. Hess (703) 292-5001 bhess@nsf.gov
Ginna Ingram (703) 292-4984 gingram@nsf.gov
William J. Kilgallin (703) 292-4993 wkilgall@nsf.gov
James T. Kroll (703) 292-5012 jkroll@nsf.gov
Aaron S. Manka (703) 292-5002 amanka@nsf.gov
Scott J. Moore (703) 292-4991 smoore@nsf.gov
Matthew M. Quinn (703) 292-4989 mquinn@nsf.gov
Lee M. Stokes (703) 292-5180 lstokes@nsf.gov
Carol E. Taylor (703) 292-5015 ctaylor@nsf.gov
Eileen Vidal-Codispot (703) 292-4979 evidalco@nsf.gov
Richard F. Woodford (703) 292-4999 rwoodfor@nsf.gov

nsf.gov
| About NSF | Funding | Publications | News & Media | Search | Site Map | Help
NSF Celebrating 50 Years The National Science Foundation
Office of the Inspector General

4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Suite 1135, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-7100, Fax: 703-292-9158 | Hotline: 800-428-2189
Contact OIG



 Sep 08, '04