You are viewing a Web site, archived on 00:00:16 Oct 15, 2004. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration.
External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Note that this document was downloaded, and not saved because it was a duplicate of a previously captured version (23:57:46 Oct 14, 2004). HTTP headers presented here are from the original capture.
Federal Inspectors General

The Inspector General Act of 1978, as amended, establishes the responsibilities and duties of an IG. The IG Act was amended throughout the 1980s to increase the number of agencies with statutory IGs, culminating in 1988 with the establishment of IGs in smaller, independent agencies. There are now 57 statutory IGs.

There are two IG councils. The President's Council on Integrity and Efficiency (PCIE) and the Executive Council on Integrity and Efficiency (ECIE). The PCIE has 6 committees, Audit, Human Resources, Inspection and Evaluation, Investigations, Integrity, and Legislation as well as several related organizations. The ECIE is represented on each of the committees.

The Inspectors General Celebrate 25 Years

25th Anniversary logo

Many of the documents contained on this site are published in "Adobe Acrobat (.pdf)" format. Visit Adobe's web site for a free version of acrobat reader

Please direct questions and comments to the IGnet Webmaster

security lock  IGnet Privacy Statement