

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR WASTE TECHNICAL REVIEW BOARD

2300 Clarendon Boulevard, Suite 1300 Arlington, VA 22201

July 31, 1997 For Immediate Release Frank Randall External Affairs

## Board changes panel structure to meet new challenges

The Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board panels are changing. The original seven panels that the Board used to focus on specific parts of the Department of Energy (DOE) program have been restructured into five panels that more accurately reflect the current direction and content of the DOE's efforts to deal with the nation's commercial spent nuclear fuel and certain defense high-level nuclear waste. Here are the new panels and their charters.

The **Panel on Site Characterization** is chaired by Dr. Debra Knopman. Panel members include Drs. Priscilla Nelson, Richard Parizek, and Alberto Sagüés. The panel will review all on-site and laboratory studies of the natural characteristics of the Yucca Mountain candidate repository site. It will evaluate the adequacy of the hydrology, radionuclide transport, and other process models that provide the foundation for a total system assessment of repository performance. Dr. Victor Palciauskas will provide the lead for technical staff assistance.

The **Panel on the Repository** is chaired by Dr. Priscilla Nelson. Panel members include Mr. John Arendt and Drs. Daniel Bullen and Alberto Sagüés. The panel will review repository design activities and plans for repository construction and operation. It also will review development of waste package and engineered barrier designs, supporting testing activities, and the source term and other process models that support a total system assessment of repository performance. Mr. Russell McFarland will provide the lead for technical staff assistance.

The **Panel on the Waste Management System** is chaired by Mr. John Arendt. Panel members include Drs. Daniel Bullen, Norman Christensen, Paul Craig, and Debra Knopman. The panel will review the major components of the waste management system, except the repository, with a focus on the transportation infrastructure needed to move spent nuclear fuel. It will review systems analysis and integration activities within the DOE program and integrate the Board's reviews of the program. Dr. Sherwood Chu will provide the lead for technical staff assistance.

The **Panel on Performance Assessment** is chaired by Dr. Daniel Bullen. Panel members include Drs. Paul Craig, Richard Parizek, Alberto Sagüés, and Jeffrey Wong. The panel will review assessments of total system performance with emphasis on methodologies (model abstractions, elicitations of expert judgment, treatment of uncertainties) that underlie the components of a total system performance assessment. Dr. Leon Reiter will provide the lead for technical staff assistance.

-more-

The **Panel on the Environment, Regulations, and Quality Assurance** is chaired by Dr. Jeffrey Wong. Panel members include Mr. John Arendt and Drs. Norman Christensen, Paul Craig, and Debra Knopman. The panel will review environmental monitoring activities at Yucca Mountain and preparation of an environmental impact statement for the site. It will monitor the development of regulations applicable to the program and evaluate potential effects of regulatory changes on the program. It also will monitor the adequacy of the program's quality assurance programs. Dr. Daniel Fehringer will provide the lead for technical staff assistance.

Dr. Jared Cohon, Board chair, is an ad hoc member of all five panels.

#############