

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR WASTE TECHNICAL REVIEW BOARD

2300 Clarendon Boulevard, Suite 1300 Arlington, VA 22201

May 17, 2000 For Immediate Release Karyn D. Severson External Affairs

## **President Clinton Reappoints Three to NWTRB**

President Bill Clinton has reappointed three members of the U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board for four-year terms. The 11-member Board evaluates the technical and scientific validity of the Department of Energy's program for characterizing a site at Yucca Mountain, Nevada, to determine its potential suitability as the location of a permanent repository for disposing of spent nuclear fuel and high-level radioactive waste.

Daniel B. Bullen is director of the Iowa State University Nuclear Reactor Laboratory and an associate professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. His areas of expertise include performance assessment modeling and materials science. Dr. Bullen has been teaching since 1989, served as Nuclear Engineering Program Coordinator at Iowa State University from 1993 to 1996, and has an additional 11 years of professional experience in nuclear engineering and materials science. He is a registered Professional Engineer in mechanical, metallurgical, and nuclear engineering and has contributed to or written more than 60 technical publications and 3 books. Dr. Bullen earned a bachelor of science degree in engineering science from Iowa State University. He received master of science degrees in nuclear engineering and materials science and a Ph.D. in nuclear engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Debra S. Knopman is director of the Center for Innovation and the Environment of the Progressive Policy Institute in Washington, D.C. Dr. Knopman began her career as a science writer. She was a Luce Scholar, serving her fellowship in Taiwan. From 1979 to 1983, Dr. Knopman worked on Capitol Hill, first as a legislative assistant to Senator Daniel P. Moynihan and then as a professional staff member of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works. She moved to the U.S. Geological Survey in 1984. In 1993, Dr. Knopman was appointed Deputy Assistant Secretary for Water and Science in the U.S. Department of the Interior. She earned a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Wellesley College, a master of science degree in civil engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a Ph.D. from the Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering at Johns Hopkins University. Her areas of expertise include hydrology, environmental and natural resources policy, systems analysis, and public administration.

Priscilla P. Nelson is Director, Division of Civil and Mechanical Systems, for the Directorate for Engineering at the National Science Foundation. Dr. Nelson brings to the Board special expertise in rock engineering and underground construction. She is the current president of the Geo-Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers and a member of the Moles, an association for the underground heavy-construction industry. In 1983, Dr. Nelson joined the faculty of The University of Texas at Austin and became a full professor and holder of the John Focht Teaching Fellowship before joining the National Science Foundation in 1996. She also has served as a consultant for major underground construction projects. Dr. Nelson earned a bachelor's degree in geological sciences from the University of Rochester and master's degrees in geology from Indiana University in 1976 and in structural engineering from the University of Oklahoma in 1979. She received a Ph.D. in geotechnical engineering from Cornell University in 1983.

All three Board members were first appointed to the NWTRB by President Bill Clinton in January 1997.

Information on the Board and its members is available from the Board's Arlington, Virginia, office and also may be obtained from the Board's Web site at www.nwtrb.gov. Requests for copies of reports or other information may be made by telephone (703-235-4473), fax (703-235-4495), and e-mail (info@nwtrb.gov).

The U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board was created by Congress in the Nuclear Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1987. The Board's mandate is to evaluate the validity of technical and scientific activities undertaken by the Secretary of Energy, including characterizing the Yucca Mountain site and packaging and transporting spent nuclear fuel and high-level radioactive waste.

#################