APPENDIX 19

Naval Aviation Hall of Honor

he Naval Aviation Hall of Honor was established in 1980 to recognize those individuals who by their actions or achievements made outstanding contributions to Naval Aviation. A bronze plaque of the individual and their contributions is cast and placed in Naval Aviation Hall of Honor located in the National Museum of Naval Aviation at Pensacola, Fla. The first group to be inducted was in 1981. After 1984, enshrinement in the Naval Aviation Hall of Honor was placed on a two year cycle with no more than a maximum of eight inductees. The selection committee, consisting of seven to eleven members appointed by the Chief of Naval Operations, Director Air Warfare, is responsible for making the final nominatee recom-

mendations. Final approval is done by the Chief of Naval Operations.

Personnel eligible for nomination to the Naval Aviation Hall of Honor include civilian or uniformed individuals no longer employed by the Federal Government or on active duty. Criteria for nomination include:

- —Sustained superior performance in or for Naval Aviation.
- —Superior contributions in the technical or tactical development of Naval Aviation.
- —Unique and superior flight achievement in combat or non-combat flight operations.

The following is a list of personnel enshrined in the Naval Aviation Hall of Honor:

Enshrinee	Year Enshrined
VADM Patrick N. L. Bellinger, USN	1981
CWO Floyd Bennett, USN	1981
RADM Richard E. Byrd, Jr., USN	1981
LCDR Godfrey deC. Chevalier, USN	1981
LCOL Alfred A. Cunningham, USMC	1981
Mr. Glenn H. Curtiss, Civilian	1981
CDR Theodore G. Ellyson, USN	1981
Mr. Eugene Ely, Civilian	1981
RADM William A. Moffett, USN	1981
RADM Albert C. Read, USN	1981
CAPT Holden C. Richardson, USN	1981
ADM John H. Towers, USN	1981
GEN Roy S. Geiger, USMC	1983
Mr. Glenn Martin, Civilian	1983
ADM Marc A. Mitscher, USN	1983
ADM Arthur W. Radford, USN	1983
VADM Charles E. Rosendahl, USN	1983
CDR Elmer F. Stone, USCG	1983
VADM James H. Flatley, Jr., USN	1984
Mr. Leroy R. Grumman, Civilian	1984
ADM John S. Thach, USN	1984
CAPT Kenneth Whiting, USN	1984
MGEN Marion E. Carl, USMC	1986
FADM William F. Halsey, USN	1986
TADIVI VVIIII T. Haisey, Osiv	1700

Enshrinee	Year Enshrined
Mr. Edward H. Heinemann, Civilian RADM David S. Ingalls, USNR CAPT Donald Bantram MacDiarmid, USCG (Ret) VADM Robert B. Pirie, USN (Ret) GSGT Robert G. Robinson, USMCR VADM Frederick M. Trapnell, USN (Ret)	1986 1986 1986 1986 1986
CAPT Washington I. Chambers, USN Dr. Jerome C. Hunsaker, Civilian CAPT David McCampbell, USN (Ret) GEN Keith B. McCutcheon, USMC (Ret) ADM Thomas H. Moorer, USN (Ret) ADM Alfred M. Pride, USN	1988 1988 1988 1988 1988 1988
CAPT Frank A. Erickson, USCG CAPT Henry C. Mustin, USN ADM James S. Russell, USN (Ret) RADM Alan B. Shepard, Jr., USN (Ret) Mr. Igor I. Sikorsky, Civilian Mr. George A. Spangenberg, Civilian	1990 1990 1990 1990 1990
VADM Gerald F. Bogan, USN ADM Austin Kelvin Doyle, USN (Ret) LT Edward H. O'Hare, USN VADM William A. Schoech, USN (Ret) Mr. Lawrence Sperry, Civilian	1992 1992 1992 1992 1992
COL Gregory "Pappy" Boyington, USMC BGEN Joseph Jacob Foss, ANG (Ret) CAPT Ashton Graybiel, Medical Corp, USN (Ret) ADM Frederick H. Michaelis, USN VADM Apollo Soucek, USN (Ret)	1994 1994 1994 1994 1994
RADM Joseph C. Clifton, USN Mr. Charles H. Kaman, Civilian GEN Christian F. Schilt, USMC ADM Forrest P. Sherman, USN VADM James B. Stockdale, USN (Ret) ADM Maurice F. Weisner, USN (Ret)	1996 1996 1996 1996 1996