Advisory Council on Government Auditing Standards

David M. Walker, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. General Accounting Office, has named 7 new members to the Advisory Council on Government Auditing Standards who will provide advice and guidance on government auditing standards. Government auditing is a key element in fulfilling the government's duty to be accountable to the public. The purpose of the Advisory Council is to work with GAO to keep the auditing standards current through the issuance of revisions and guidance.

The Comptroller General first issued standards for government auditing in 1972; major revisions were made in 1981, 1988, 1994, and 2003. Certain laws, regulations, and contracts require auditors to follow generally accepted government auditing standards promulgated by the Comptroller General of the United States. They are widely used in audits of federal, state, and local government programs, as well as in audits of entities receiving federal assistance.

To meet the demands for more responsive and cost-effective governments, policymakers and managers need reliable financial and performance information. Government auditing standards provide a framework to auditors so that their work can lead to improved government management, decision making, oversight and accountability. The standards also provide an overall framework for ensuring that auditors have the competence, integrity, objectivity, and independence in planning, conducting, and reporting on their work.

The 7 new members will replace those individuals whose term has expired. They will join the 16 members previously appointed to serve on the Council. Collectively, they provide strong knowledge of financial, compliance, and performance auditing and program evaluation at all levels of government. The new members, selected from nominations received from relevant professional organizations, will serve for a 3-year term, to provide continuity in membership.

The 7 new members of the Advisory Council on Government Auditing Standards are as follows:

The Honorable Phyllis Fong, Inspector General, U.S Department of Agriculture

Jerome Heer, County Auditor, County of Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Russell Hinton, State Auditor of Georgia

Rakesh Mohan, Director, Office of Performance Evaluations, Idaho State Legislature

William Monroe, Auditor General, State of Florida

James R. Speer, Auditor General, United States Air Force

George Willie, Managing Partner, Bert Smith & Co.

The Comptroller General also has extended the term of the 16 members previously appointed by one year. Those members who continue to serve on the Council are:

Chair: John R. Miller, Partner and Vice Chairman, KPMG LLP

Ernest A. Almonte, Auditor General, State of Rhode Island

Debra K Davenport, Auditor General, State of Arizona

Dr. John Engstrom, Professor, Northern Illinois University

The Honorable Richard L. Fair, State Auditor, State of New Jersey

Dr. Ehsan Feroz, Professor, University of Minnesota

The Honorable Gregory H. Friedman, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Energy

Dr. Rhoda C. Icerman, Professor of Accounting, Florida State University

Harold L. Monk, Jr., Managing Partner, Davis, Monk & Company, Gainesville, Florida

Stephen L. Morgan, City Auditor, City of Austin

The Honorable Everett L. Mosley, Inspector General, U.S. Agency for International Development

Robert M. Reardon, Jr., Investment Officer, State Farm Insurance Companies

Gerald A. Silva, City Auditor, City of San Jose

Dr. Daniel L. Stufflebeam, Director, the Evaluation Center, Western Michigan University

Barry R. Snyder, Inspector General, Federal Reserve Board

The Honorable Nikki L. Tinsley, Inspector General, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

* * *

For more information: Jeanette M. Franzel, (202) 512-9406 or Marcia B. Buchanan, (202) 512-9321

October 15, 2003