§204.6

Madison Memorial Building, 1st and
Independence Avenue, SE, Washington,
DC.

(b) The written request should iden-
tify clearly the system of records
which is the subject of inquiry, by ref-
erence, whenever possible, to the sys-
tem number and title as given in the
notices of systems of records in the
FEDERAL REGISTER. Both the written
request and the envelope carrying it
should be plainly marked “‘Privacy Act
Request.” Failure to so mark the re-
quest may delay the Office response.

(c) The Office will acknowledge all
properly marked requests within 20
working days of receipt; and will notify
the requester within 30 working days of
receipt when and where access to the
record will be granted. If the individual
requested a copy of the record, the
copy will accompany such notification.

[43 FR 776, Jan. 4, 1978, as amended at 47 FR
36821, Aug. 24, 1982; 60 FR 34169, June 30, 1995;
64 FR 36575, July 7, 1999; 65 FR 39820, June 28,
2000]

§204.6 Fees.

(a) The Copyright Office will provide,
free of charge, one copy to an indi-
vidual of any record pertaining to that
individual contained in a Copyright Of-
fice system of records, except where
the request is for a copy of a record for
which a specific fee is required and
identified in §201.3 of this chapter, in
which case that fee shall be charged.
For additional copies of records not
covered by section 708 the fee will be a
minimum of $15.00 for up to 15 pages
and $.50 per page over 15. The Office
will require prepayment of fees esti-
mated to exceed $25.00 and will remit
any excess paid or bill an additional
amount according to the differences
between the final fee charged and the
amount prepaid. When prepayment is
required, a request is not deemed “‘re-
ceived” until prepayment has been
made.

(b) The Copyright Office may waive
the fee requirement whenever it deter-
mines that such waiver would be in the
public interest.

[43 FR 776, Jan. 4, 1978, as amended at 47 FR
36821, Aug. 24, 1982; 56 FR 59886, Nov. 26, 1991;
63 FR 29139, May 28, 1998; 64 FR 29522, June 1,
1999]
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§204.7 Request for correction or
amendment of records.

(a) Any individual may request the
correction or amendment of a record
pertaining to her or him. With respect
to an error in a copyright registration,
the procedure for correction and fee
chargeable is governed by section 408(d)
of title 17 of the United States Code,
and the regulations issued as author-
ized by that section. With respect to an
error in any other record, the request
shall be in writing and delivered either
by mail addressed to the Supervisory
Copyright Information Specialist, In-
formation Section, Copyright GC/I&R,
P.O. Box 70400, Southwest Station,
Washington, DC 20024, or in person be-
tween the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m.
on any working day except legal holi-
days, at Room LM-401, The James
Madison Memorial Building, 1st and
Independence Avenue, SE, Washington,
DC. The request shall explain why the
individual believes the record to be in-
complete, inaccurate, irrelevant, or un-
timely.

(b) With respect to an error in a
copyright registration, the time limit
for Office response to requests for cor-
rection is governed by section 408(d) of
Pub. L. 94-553, and the regulations
issued as authorized by that section.
With respect to other requests for cor-
rection or amendment of records, the
Office will respond within ten working
days indicating to the requester that
the requested correction or amendment
has been made or that it has been re-
fused. If the requested correction or
amendment is refused, the Office re-
sponse will indicate the reason for the
refusal and the procedure available to
the individual to appeal the refusal.

[43 FR 776, Jan. 4, 1978, as amended at 47 FR
36821, Aug. 24, 1982; 60 FR 34169, June 30, 1995;
64 FR 36575, July 7, 1999; 65 FR 39820, June 28,
2000]

§204.8 Appeal of refusal to correct or
amend an individual’s record.

(a) An individual who disagrees with
a refusal of the Copyright Office to
amend his or her record may request a
review of the denial. The decision will
be made within 30 business days, unless
the Office can demonstrate good cause
for extending the 30 day period. If the
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