## White House Conference on Aging

The White House Conferences on Aging have convened every 10 years and have served as catalysts for aging policy for more than 40 years. The Conferences have prompted the establishment of key initiatives such as the Supplemental Security Income program, and influenced societal changes in the private and public sectors on retirement, health care, transportation, housing, and economic security.

On May 19, the President and members of Congress completed their selection of 17 members of the Policy Committee for the White House Conference on Aging. The Honorable Dorcas R. Hardy, former Commissioner of the Social Security Administration will serve as chairperson of the Committee. Dr. Ann McGee, former Commissioner of the Virginia Department on Aging, will serve as Executive Director.

For more information go to: <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/2004/04/20040416-7.html">http://www.hhs.gov/news/press/2004pres/20040416.html</a>.

## **WHCOA Policy Committee Members**

Name	Title	Affiliation
Alejandro Aparicio, M.D.	Director of Medical Education and Associate Medical Director	Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center
Robert Blancato	President	Matz Blancato and Associates, Inc.
Senator Larry Craig (R-ID)	Senator from Idaho	U.S. Senate
Clayton Fong	Executive Director	National Asian Pacific Center on Aging
Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA)	Senator from Iowa	U.S. Senate
Dorcas R. Hardy	President	Dorcas R. Hardy and Associates
Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)	Senator from Iowa	U.S. Senate
Gail Gibson Hunt	Executive Director	National Alliance for Caregiving
Alphonso Jackson	Secretary of Housing & Urban Development	Department of Housing & Urban Development

Barbara Kennelly	President	National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare
Rep. Howard P. "Buck" McKeon (R-CA)	Representative from California	U.S. House of Representatives
Anthony J. Principi	Secretary of Veterans Affairs	Department of Veterans Affairs
Senator Harry Reid (D-NV)	Senator from Nevada	U.S. Senate
Scott Serota	President and CEO	Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association
Rep.E. Clay Shaw Jr. (R-FL)	Representative from Florida	U.S. House of Representatives
Tommy Thompson	Secretary of Health & Human Services	Department of Health and Human Services
Melvin Leroy Woods	President	Rubicon Public Affairs