US Department of the Interior and USDA Forest Service



Congratulations to the 2003 National Fire Plan Award Winners!

The National Fire Plan is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2003 National Fire Plan Awards. This year, six individuals and six groups were recognized for their outstanding contributions towards achieving the goals outlined in the National Fire Plan's 10-Year Comprehensive Strategy and its corresponding Implementation Plan. From a pool of well over 100 nominations, the winners were selected by their peers for their dedication and hard work. The award winners were honored at the National Fire Plan Awards Ceremony on March 2, 2004, in Reno, Nevada, where they were recognized by Lynn Scarlett, Assistant Secretary for Policy, Management and Budget for the Department of the Interior and Corbin Newman, National Fire Plan Coordinator for the USDA Forest Service.

Excellence in Collaboration

Sue Stewart, Fire Ecologist, Central Oregon Fire Management District - Individual Winner Moffat County Fire and Fuel Management Plan, Moffat County, Colorado - Group Winner Susan Marzec, BLM Utah State Office - Honorable Mention

Ozark National Scenic Riverways Fire Management Program - Honorable Mention

Excellence in Community Assistance

Ed Smith, Natural Resource Specialist, Univ. of NV Cooperative Extension - Individual Winner Pacific Northwest Interagency Community Assistance Grant Team - Group Winner Utah Division of Forestry, Fire and State Lands, Community Wildfire Planning -Honorable Mention

Excellence in Firefighter Preparedness, Safety and Training: Individual Winner:

David Crary, Jr., Fire Management Officer, Cape Cod National Seashore, NPS - Individual Winner Indiana Interagency Coordination Center - Group Winner

Interagency Wildland Fire Leadership Committee - Honorable Mention Winnemucca Field Office and Wildfire Support Group, BLM NV State Office - Honorable Mention Blue Ridge Parkway, NPS -Honorable Mention Pacific Northwest Wildfire Coordination Group Contract Working Team - Honorable Mention

Excellence in Hazardous Fuels Treatment, Individual Winner:

Richard Wolfe, Gateway Interagency Fire Front Liaison - Individual Winner National Forests in Mississippi - Group Winner

Gila National Forest - Honorable Mention
Wallowa-Whitman National Forest Hazardous Fuels Program - Honorable Mention

Innovation in Biomass Utilization, Individual Winner:

Phil Archuletta, CEO, P&M Plastics, Inc. - Individual Winner Darby Fuels for Schools, Darby, MT - Group Winner Forest Energy Coorperation - Honorable Mention

Excellence in Rehabilitation and Restoration

Richard Schwab, Bureau of Indian Affairs, National Interagency Fire Center - Individual Winner Remote Sensing and Applications Center BAER Support Team - Group Winner Dr. Peter Robichaud, FS Rocky Mountain Research Station - Honorable Mention