

Christopher Cox, CA Chairman

#### Leadership

J. Dennis Hastert, IL
Tom DeLay, TX
Roy Blunt, MO
Deborah Pryce, OH
Jack Kingston, GA
John T. Doolittle, CA
Thomas M. Reynolds, NY
Eric Cantor, VA
John Abney Culberson, TX
John R. Carter, TX
David Dreier, CA
William M. Thomas, CA
C. W. Bill Young, FL
Jim Nussle, IA
W. J. (Billy) Tauzin, LA

#### **Steering Representatives**

Darrell E. Issa, CA Lincoln Diaz-Balart, FL Jon C. Porter, NV Heather Wilson, NM Kevin Brady, TX Tom Latham, IA Mike Pence, IN Wayne T. Gilchrest, MD Patrick J. Toomey, PA Bob Goodlatte, VA Jim DeMint, SC David Vitter, LA Roger F. Wicker, MS

## **Class Representatives**

Todd Russell Platts, PA Adam H. Putnam, FL Bob Beauprez, CO

#### **Speaker's Appointees**

Michael C. Burgess, TX Shelley Moore Capito, WV Ander Crenshaw, FL Ernie Fletcher, KY Phil Gingrey, GA Katherine Harris, FL Melissa A. Hart, PA Kenny C. Hulshof, MO Joe Knollenberg, MI Ron Lewis, KY Robert W. Ney, OH Rob Portman, OH John B. Shadegg, AZ Nick Smith. MI Jerry Weller, IL Joe Wilson, SC

#### **ESTABLISHED 1949**

# House Policy Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

# 108th Congress Rules

| Rule I: General Provisions       | 1 |
|----------------------------------|---|
| Rule II: Chairman and Membership | 1 |
| Rule III: Meetings               |   |
| Rule IV: Jurisdiction            | 1 |
| Rule V: Notice                   | 2 |
| Rule VI: Subcommittees           |   |

## Rule I: General Provisions

Except as specified herein, the Rules of the Conference are to the extent applicable the rules of the Committee on Policy (the Committee).

## Rule II: Chairman and Membership

The Committee is composed of a Chairman, elected pursuant to Rule 3 of the Conference, and Members, designated pursuant to Rule 22 of the Conference.

# Rule III: Meetings

- A. The Committee shall meet in Executive Session at 9 a.m. each Thursday when the House is in Session and at the call of the Speaker or Chairman. An Executive Session may be dispensed with if the Speaker or Chairman determines it is not necessary.
- B. The Chairman of the Committee may designate a Member of the Committee as the Vice Chairman of the Committee. The Vice Chairman of the Committee may preside at any meeting or hearing at the request of the Chairman. If the Chairman and Vice Chairman are not present at any meeting or hearing, only a member designated by the Chairman shall preside.

#### Rule IV: Jurisdiction

The Committee is the Majority's principal forum for the consideration of legislative initiatives, the enunciation of official Republican policies, and the resolution of inter-jurisdictional policy disputes in the Conference.

#### Rule V: Notice

- A. The Chairman, through the Clerk of the Committee, shall notify Members of the Committee of the subject matter of proposed Committee action and the time, date, and place of the meeting where such action is contemplated at the earliest possible time. If the meeting is at a time not established by Rule III, notice shall be given at least one legislative day prior to the action.
- B. The Committee shall not act on business relating to a matter under the jurisdiction of a legislative House Committee less than one legislative day after the Chairman of the respective legislative Committee was notified of the pending action without the consent of the Chairman of the legislative Committee. The Chairman of the Policy Committee may consult the Parlimentarian of the House to determine legislative Committee jurisdiction over pending action.
- C. When the House is not in Session, when the schedule of the House does not require the presence of a quorum in the House, or when a matter has been considered at a previous meeting of the Committee, the Committee may act upon the written or electronic notice and consent of a Majority of the Committee and, if applicable, the Chairmen of the legislative Committee or Committee with jurisdiction over the matter.

#### Rule VI: Subcommittees

- A. **General Provisions.** Except as specified herein, the Rules of the Committee are the rules of the subcommittees.
- B. **Chairmen and Membership.** The Chairman may appoint, in consultation with the Speaker, Chairmen and Members of subcommittees. Members of the Committee may sit on no more than three subcommittees of the Committee, except for the Chairman of the Committee, who shall be an *ex officio* member of each subcommittee.
- C. **Meetings.** Subcommittees shall meet only with the consent of the Chairman of the Committee.
- D. **Jurisdictions.** The Committee shall have no more than seven subcommittees, with such jurisdiction as the Chairman shall determine.