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Three-year 
average ac-
tual costs 

Three-year 
percentage 
of volume 

Average 
year 2002 

fee 

Cantor Financial Futures Exchange ........................................................................................................ $10,990 0.0286 $5,606 
Chicago Board of Trade .......................................................................................................................... 199,253 39.0619 199.253 
Chicago Mercantile Exchange ................................................................................................................. 192,731 40.8601 192,731 
NYMEX/COMEX ...................................................................................................................................... 191,576 16.3441 158,927 
New York Board of Trade ........................................................................................................................ 161,025 3.1319 92,612 
Kansas City Board of Trade .................................................................................................................... 15,396 .4047 9,262 
Minneapolis Grain Exchange ................................................................................................................... 12,645 .1696 6,978 
Philadelphia Board of Trade .................................................................................................................... 0 .0000 0 

Subtotal ......................................................................................................................................... 772,627 100.0000 665,369 
National Futures Association ................................................................................................................... 206,046 N/A 206,046 

Total .............................................................................................................................................. 978,673 100.0000 871,415 

An example of how the fee is 
calculated for one exchange, the 
Minneapolis Grain Exchange, is set forth 
here: 

a. Actual three-year average costs 
equal $12,645. 

b. The alternative computation is:

(.5)($12,645) + (.5)(.001696)($772,627) = 
$6,978.

c. The fee is the lesser of a or b; in 
this case $6,978. 

As noted above, the alternative 
calculation based on contracts traded, is 
not applicable to the NFA because it is 
not a contract market and has no 
contracts traded. The Commission’s 
average annual cost for conducting 
oversight review of the NFA rule 
enforcement program during fiscal years 
1999 through 2001 was $206,046 (one-
third of $618,139). The fee to be paid by 
the NFA for the current fiscal year is 
$206,046. 

Regulatory Flexibility Act 

The Regulatory Flexibility Act, 5 USC 
601, et seq., requires agencies to 
consider the impact of rules on small 
business. The fees implemented in this 
release affect contract markets (also 
referred to as exchanges) and registered 
futures associations. The Commission 
has previously determined that contract 
markets and registered futures 
associations are not ‘‘small entities’’ for 
purposes of the Regulatory Flexibility 
Act. Accordingly, the Chairman on 
behalf of the Commission, certifies 
pursuant to 5 USC 605(b), that the fees 
implemented here will not have a 
significant economic impact on a 
substantial number of small entities.

Issued in Washington, DC, on June 21, 
2002, by the Commission. 
Jean A. Webb, 
Secretary of the Commission.
[FR Doc. 02–16201 Filed 6–28–02; 8:45 am] 
BILLING CODE 6351–01–M

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
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[Docket No. R–02A] 
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Occupational Injury and Illness 
Recording and Reporting 
Requirements

AGENCY: Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA), Department of 
Labor.
ACTION: Final rule.

SUMMARY: The Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration (OSHA) is 
revising the hearing loss recording 
provisions of the Occupational Injury 
and Illness Recording and Reporting 
Requirements rule published January 
19, 2001 (66 FR 5916–6135), scheduled 
to take effect on January 1, 2003 (66 FR 
52031–52034). This final rule revises 
the criteria for recording hearing loss 
cases in several ways, including 
requiring the recording of Standard 
Threshold Shifts (10 dB shifts in hearing 
acuity) that have resulted in a total 25 
dB level of hearing above audiometric 
zero, averaged over the frequencies at 
2000, 3000, and 4000 Hz, beginning in 
year 2003.
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2003.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Jim 
Maddux, Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration, U.S. Department 
of Labor, Directorate of Safety Standards 
Programs, Room N–3609, 200 
Constitution Avenue, NW., Washington, 
DC 20210. Telephone (202) 693–2222.
SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

I. Background 

In January, 2001 (66 FR 5916–6135), 
OSHA published revisions to its rule on 
recording and reporting occupational 

injuries and illnesses (29 CFR parts 
1904 and 1952) to take effect on January 
1, 2002. On July 3, 2001, the agency 
proposed to delay the effective date of 
§§ 1904.10 Recording criteria for cases 
involving occupational hearing loss, and 
1904.12 Recording criteria for cases 
involving work-related musculoskeletal 
disorders, until January 1, 2003 (66 FR 
35113–35115). In that notice, OSHA 
explained that the Agency was 
reconsidering the requirement in 
§ 1904.10 to record all cases involving 
an occupational hearing loss averaging 
10 decibels (dB) or more. OSHA found 
that there were reasons to question the 
appropriateness of 10 dB as the 
recording criterion, and asked for 
comment on other approaches and 
criteria, including recording losses 
averaging 15, 20 or 25 dB. OSHA also 
stated that it was reconsidering the 
requirement in § 1904.12 that employers 
check the MSD column on the OSHA 
Log for a case involving a 
‘‘musculoskeletal disorder’’ as defined 
in that section. 

OSHA received a total of 77 written 
comments on the July 3, 2001 proposal. 
After considering the views of interested 
parties, OSHA published a final rule on 
October 12, 2001 (66 FR 52031—52034) 
delaying the effective date of 
§§ 1904.10(a) and 1904.12(a) and (b) 
until January 1, 2003, adding a new 
paragraph (c) to § 1904.10 establishing a 
25–dB recording criterion for hearing 
loss cases for calendar year 2002, and 
modifying the regulatory note to 
paragraph 1904.29(b)(7)(vi) to delay the 
language referring to privacy case 
consideration for MSD cases. 

This final rule contains amended 
hearing loss recording criteria codified 
at 29 CFR 1904.10(a) and 1904.10(b)(1)–
(7). In a separate Federal Register 
document published today, OSHA is 
proposing to delay the effective date of 
§ 1904.10(b)(7), which requires 
employers to check the hearing loss 
column on the Log for hearing loss cases 
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meeting the revised recording criteria, 
as well as the MSD provisions 
addressed in the October 12 final rule. 
Additional information about the 
proposal to delay the effective date of 
the hearing loss column is contained in 
the section of this rule titled Adding a 
column to the 300 Log, and in the 
separate Federal Register publication 
Proposed Delay of Effective Dates; 
Request for Comment, published today. 

II. Recording Occupational Hearing 
Loss Cases 

Section 1904.10 of the January 19, 
2001 final recordkeeping rule required 
employers to record, by checking the 
‘‘hearing loss’’ column on the OSHA 
300 Log, all cases in which an 
employee’s hearing test (audiogram) 
revealed that a Standard Threshold Shift 
(STS) in hearing acuity had occurred. 
An STS was defined as ‘‘a change in 
hearing threshold, relative to the most 
recent audiogram for that employee, of 
an average of 10 decibels or more at 
2000, 3000 and 4000 Hertz (Hz) in one 
or both ears.’’ The recordkeeping rule 
itself does not require the employer to 
test employee’s hearing. However, 
OSHA’s occupational noise standard (29 
CFR 1910.95) requires employers in 
general industry to conduct periodic 
audiometric testing of employees when 
employees’ noise exposures are equal to, 
or exceed, an 8-hour time-weighted 
average of 85dBA. Under the provisions 
of § 1910.95, if such testing reveals that 
an employee has sustained a hearing 
loss equal to an STS, the employer must 
take protective measures, including 
requiring the use of hearing protectors, 
to prevent further hearing loss. 
Employers in the construction, 
agriculture, oil and gas drilling and 
servicing, and shipbuilding industries 
are not covered by § 1910.95, and 
therefore are not required by OSHA to 
provide hearing tests. If employers in 
these industries voluntarily conduct 
hearing tests they are required to record 
hearing loss cases meeting the recording 
criteria set forth in the final Section 
1904.10 rule. 

The former recordkeeping rule, which 
remained in effect until January 1, 2001, 
contained no specific threshold for 
recording hearing loss cases. In 1991, 
OSHA issued an enforcement policy on 
the criteria for recording hearing loss 
cases, to remain in effect until new 
criteria were established by rulemaking. 
The 1991 policy stated that OSHA 
would cite employers for failing to 
record work related shifts in hearing of 
an average of 25 dB or more at 2000, 
3000 and 4000 Hz in either ear. 
Subsequently, OSHA released 
interpretations stating that the employer 

could adjust the audiogram for aging 
using the tables in Appendix F of the 
Noise Standard, and that the employer 
was to use the employee’s original 
baseline audiogram as the baseline 
reference audiogram for determining a 
recordable hearing loss. 

One of the major issues in the 
recordkeeping rulemaking was to 
determine the level of occupational 
hearing loss that constitutes a health 
condition serious enough to warrant 
recording. This was necessary because 
the final rule no longer requires 
recording of minor or insignificant 
health conditions that do not result in 
one or more of the general recording 
criteria such as medical treatment, 
restricted work, or days away from work 
(See, e.g., 66 FR 5931). In its 1996 
Federal Register notice OSHA proposed 
a requirement to record hearing loss 
averaging 15 dB at 2000, 3000 and 4000 
Hz in one or both ears (61 FR 4040). 
OSHA adopted the lower 10–dB 
threshold in the final rule based in part 
upon comments that ‘‘(a)n age-corrected 
STS is a large hearing change that can 
affect communicative competence’’ (66 
FR 6008). 

Comments on the Recording of 10-dB 
Shifts

Most commenters opposed the 
adoption of the 10-dB threshold for 
recording hearing loss (Exs. 3–1, 3–13, 
3–14, 3–19, 3–20, 3–22, 3–25, 3–26, 3–
27, 3–29, 3–34, 3–35, 3–37, 3–43, 3–45, 
3–48, 3–49, 3–50, 3–54, 3–57, 3–58, 3–
59, 3–61, 3–62, 3–63, 4–3, 4–5, 5–5, 5–
7). A number of these commenters 
challenged the significance of a 10-dB 
shift, stating that: 10-dB shifts are not 
significant—only significant health 
conditions should be captured (Exs. 3–
14, 3–26, 3–48); the level selected must 
amount to a significant alteration in an 
employee’s ability to hear (Exs. 3–50, 3–
54, 3–59); a 10-dB shift from 
audiometric zero is a virtually 
imperceptible loss in hearing—10-dB 
shifts at higher levels become more 
important (Ex. 3–49); the medical 
community and workers’ compensation 
do not recognize a 10 dB shift as a 
significant hearing loss (Exs. 3–19, 3–20, 
3–25, 3–35, 3–43, 3–63); a 10-dB shift is 
not a material impairment, so it should 
not be a recordable illness (Exs. 3–25, 3–
26, 3–34, 3–50, 3–54, 3–59, 3–58, 3–61); 
and, 10 dB is an early warning 
mechanism that is appropriate for the 
hearing standard but not for injury and 
illness recording—the 1904 provisions 
are intended to collect data on serious 
injuries and illnesses, not potential 
precursors (Exs. 3–25, 3–49, 3–50, 3–54, 
3–59, 3–62). Organization Resources 
Counselors (ORC) remarked that:

[a] 10 dB shift from audiometric zero is a 
virtually imperceptible loss in hearing * * * 
ORC understands that the finding of a 
Standard Threshold Shift (STS) to be a ‘‘flag’’ 
for the implementation of a series of actions 
required by the OSHA standard on exposure 
to noise. It was not intended, of and by itself, 
to be an indicator of illness, or impairment, 
but, rather, a sentinel event that triggers a 
series of actions that will prevent illness or 
impairment from occurring. As such a tool, 
it has been an effective indicator of employee 
hearing, but does not, by itself, rise to the 
level of recordability (Ex. 3–49).

A number of the commenters objected 
to recording 10-dB shifts because this 
recording level would result in the 
recording of too many ‘‘false positive’’ 
cases, either because of audiometric 
testing errors, because the hearing loss 
was temporary and not persistent, or 
because the case was insufficiently 
work-related (Exs. 3–14, 3–19, 3–20, 3–
25, 3–26, 3–27, 3–29, 3–35, 3–37, 3–43, 
3–45, 3–49, 3–50, 3–54, 3–56, 3–58, 3–
59, 3–61, 3–62, 3–63, 4–5). The issues 
of audiometric error, persistence, and 
work-relationship are discussed in more 
detail below. The commenters opposed 
to the 10-dB shift also remarked that 
using 10-dB shifts will lead to 
overrecording (Ex. 3–37), 10 dB will 
result in a 5 to 10 fold increase in 
hearing loss recording (Ex. 3–49), too 
many non-occupational (emphasis 
added) cases are captured by 10 dB (See, 
e.g., Ex. 4–5), changing to 10 dB would 
make the past data useless and make it 
difficult to establish trends (Ex. 3–19), 
and that if OSHA adopts 10 dB, the 
states may be influenced to change their 
workers’ compensation standards, 
resulting in higher workers’ 
compensation costs (Ex. 3–34). 

Some of the commenters opposed to 
the recording of all 10-dB shifts 
recognized a critical difference between 
the 25-dB criteria contained in the 
American Medical Association [AMA] 
Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent 
Impairment and the 25-dB level OSHA 
has enforced since 1991 (Exs. 3–25, 3–
49, 3–50, 3–54, 3–59, 3–62). The AMA 
Guides measure hearing loss from a 
baseline of audiometric zero, which 
represents the statistical average hearing 
threshold level of young adults with no 
history of aural pathology (ANSI S3.6–
1969). The 1991 OSHA recording level 
used the individual employee’s original 
baseline audiogram taken at the time the 
worker was first placed in a hearing 
conservation program. If an individual 
employee has experienced some hearing 
loss before being hired, a 25-dB shift 
from the original baseline will be a 
larger hearing loss than the hearing 
impairment recognized by the AMA as 
a disabling condition. In a single 
comment submitted by both 
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organizations, the National Association 
of Manufacturers (NAM) and the Can 
Manufacturing Institute (CMI) stated 
that:

[i]t is generally accepted in the medical 
community that an average hearing level of 
more than 25 dB from audiometric zero (the 
hearing level of healthy young adults never 
exposed to high noise levels) at certain 
frequencies constitutes a material 
impairment. Accordingly, an employee with 
near-perfect hearing (at or near audiometric 
zero) might very well suffer a 10 or 15 dB 
shift in hearing yet continue to function 
within the normal range of hearing with no 
impairment whatsoever. Conversely, an 
employee with hearing on the outer edge of 
the normal range who experiences a 15 dB 
shift would likely suffer a material 
impairment. The NAM and CMI believe that 
a shift in hearing should not be recorded 
unless it is confirmed and it results in 
hearing levels in excess of 25 dB at the shift 
frequencies (Ex. 3–50).

Industrial Health, Inc, a mobile 
hearing testing vendor, added that:

[i]t is almost universally accepted in the 
profession that hearing impairment starts 
when hearing levels exceed 25 dB * * *. We 
believe there should be an ‘‘impairment 
fence’’ of 25 which must be crossed before a 
shift in hearing is required to be recorded. 
We recommend that to be recordable a shift 
must result in an average hearing level at 
2000, 3000, and 4000 Hz in excess of 25 dB. 
This fence would not be adjusted for aging 
(however, the shift calculation itself should 
retain OSHA’s allowance for aging) (Ex. 3–
62).

A number of commenters urged 
OSHA to adopt the 10-dB threshold for 
recording occupational hearing loss, 
consistent with the January 19, 2001 
Federal Register notice (Exs. 3–3, 3–4, 
3–10, 3–11, 3–15, 3–17, 3–18, 3–21, 3–
23–1, 3–24, 3–30, 3–36, 3–40, 3–47, 3–
52, 3–53, 4–2, 5–2, 5–3, 5–6). Many of 
these commenters argued that an age-
corrected 10-dB shift is a large change 
in hearing that can affect 
communication ability (Exs. 3–3, 3–21, 
3–23–1, 3–53), that a persistent 10-dB 
shift represents a permanent and 
irreversible loss of hearing acuity (Ex. 
3–21), that a 10-dB shift is a material 
impairment (Exs. 3–17, 3–23–1, 3–53), 
and that real and debilitating hearing 
loss may not be detected if a higher 
threshold is selected (Ex. 3–3). The 
remarks of the Coalition to Protect 
Workers Hearing are representative:

An age-corrected STS represents a 
significant amount of cumulative hearing 
change from baseline, enough to affect 
communicative competence, safety, and job 
productivity in the workplace. A confirmed, 
age corrected STS is not a sensitive indicator 
of early hearing damage; rather it reflects a 
very substantial permanent hearing change 
over time. The appropriate sensitive 
indicator of early hearing damage is a 

temporary threshold shift (TTS), which 
recovers quickly as the worker is noise free. 
This indicator is currently used in hearing 
conservation programs. (Ex. 2–23–1)

Commenters also stated that use of a 
10-db shift reduces recordkeeping and 
data management burdens for industry 
(Exs. 3–3, 3–10, 3–23–1, 3–47, 3–53, 5–
2), reduces confusion for industrial 
managers and occupational hearing 
conservation technicians—‘‘[a] problem 
that occurred with OSHA’s 1991 policy’’ 
(Ex. 3–23–1), that current STS rates are 
not sufficiently high to result in an 
undue or inappropriate number of 
recordable events (Ex. 3–3), that many 
of the states (Michigan, North Carolina, 
South Carolina, Puerto Rico and 
Tennessee) require the recording of 10-
db shifts with little detrimental effect on 
industry (Exs. 3–3, 3–4, 3–24), that a 10-
db shift is comparable to other 
permanent injuries that are recorded on 
the OSHA 300 Form, such as an 
amputated finger (Ex. 3–23–1) or 
medical removal under the lead 
standard (Ex. 3–47), and that the 10-db 
shift is better for mobile and transient 
employees because the original baseline 
may not follow employees when they 
change jobs (Ex. 3–23–1). 

Several of the commenters argued that 
recording 10-db shifts would be more 
protective for workers (3–3, 3–10, 3–17, 
3–18, 3–21, 3–23–1, 3–24, 3–30, 3–47, 
3–53). In a representative comment, the 
AFL–CIO argued that: ‘‘[t]he 
requirement to record a 10-db hearing 
loss on the Log would aid in the early 
detection and prevention of 
occupational hearing loss.’’ It stated that 
‘‘(r)ecording a 10-db STS on Form 300 
is a practical and reasonable means to 
assist in the early detection of a loss in 
hearing so that workplace intervention 
measures can be implemented to protect 
workers from the hazards of noise. 
Having employers continue to record 
shifts in hearing of an average of 25 dB 
* * * is too high a threshold of loss in 
hearing acuity to be sufficiently 
proactive in preventing worker hearing 
loss’’ (Ex. 3–24). 

Other commenters added that by 
recognizing disease earlier, employers 
may take preventive measures to avoid 
potential workers’ compensation cases 
that are sometimes triggered at the 25-
dB level (Ex. 3–10), that recording 
triggers action on the part of employers 
(Ex. 3–23–1), that 10-db shifts provide 
consistency for construction employers 
who are not required to test hearing (Ex. 
3–10), and that the 10-db recording 
criterion is more protective and 
reasonable for employers who are not 
covered by the OSHA noise standard 
(Exs. 3–10, 3–17, 3–18, 3–24). 

Alternatives Offered 

Most of the commenters who objected 
to the recording of 10-db shifts 
presented alternative recording 
thresholds. The American Chemistry 
Council recommended a 15-db shift (Ex. 
5–5), the Rubber Manufacturers 
Association recommended a 20-dB shift 
(Ex. 3–27), and Abbott Laboratories 
recommended recording second and 
subsequent 10-db shifts (Ex. 3–13). By 
far, the most common alternative offered 
was a shift of 25 dB (Exs. 3–1, 3–14, 3–
19, 3–20, 3–22, 3–26, 3–29, 3–34, 3–35, 
3–37, 3–43, 3–45, 3–48, 3–50, 3–57, 3–
58, 3–61, 3–63, 4–3, 4–5). The 
commenters supporting a 25-dB shift 
argued that 25 dB was superior because 
medical and health care professionals 
recommend using 25 dB (Exs. 3–29, 3–
50, 3–54, 3–59), 25 dB is consistent with 
the American Medical Association 
(AMA) guidelines (Exs. 3–50, 3–54, 3–
59), 25 dB is used for workers’ 
compensation (Ex. 3–13), 25 dB is 
protective and provides an easily 
identifiable measurement for 
determining injuries (Ex. 3–35), and 
OSHA adopted 25 dB in 1991 because 
it is widely accepted as a meaningful 
loss of hearing and is well documented 
(Exs. 3–37, 3–50, 3–54, 3–59). 

The National Association of 
Manufacturers (Ex. 3–50), the Can 
Manufacturing Institute (Ex. 3–50), and 
Industrial Health, Inc. (Ex. 3–62) 
recommended a system where 15-db 
shifts would be recorded, but only when 
the shift crossed the disability boundary 
of 25 dB from audiometric zero. These 
commenters argued that the 15-db 
difference eliminated most shifts caused 
by audiometric error, and that by 
requiring them to cross the 25-dB fence, 
they would also clearly involve a 
hearing disability.

Organization Resources Counselors 
(ORC) urged OSHA to adopt a ‘‘sliding 
scale’’ recording criteria whereby the 
employer would record the first STS 
that exceeds 25 dB over audiometric 
zero, and all subsequent STS cases (Ex. 
3–49). ORC argued that ‘‘[t]here is no 
single objective level of hearing loss that 
is uniformly identifiable for every 
employee. Different employees enter the 
workplace with different levels of 
hearing capability, and noise affects 
people differently’’ and that this 
concept reflects the intent of the OSH 
Act and the new rule in capturing 
significant injuries and illnesses. 

The American Iron and Steel Institute 
(Ex. 3–54), the Society for the Plastics 
Industry (Ex. 3–25) and the American 
Forest & Paper Association (Ex. 3–59) 
encouraged the adoption of a similar 
recording criteria where shifts would be 
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averaged over the frequencies of 500, 
1000, 2000, and 3000 Hz, and the first 
shift of 10 dB over the disability fence 
of 25 dB would be recorded. This 
approach also set forth thresholds for 
the recording of subsequent shifts when 
they crossed boundaries used by various 
organizations for delineating mild, 
moderate, and severe hearing disability 
at the 40, 55 and 70-dB levels from 
audiometric zero. 

OSHA’s Decision 
Following consideration of the 

comments received in response to the 
July 3, 2001 proposal to modify the 
hearing loss recording criteria, OSHA 
has decided to require employers to 
record audiometric results indicating a 
Standard Threshold Shift (STS) only 
when such STS cases also reflect a total 
hearing level of at least 25 dB from 
audiometric zero. The STS calculation 
uses audiometric results averaged over 
the frequencies 2000, 3000 and 4000 Hz, 
using the original baseline and annual 
audiograms required by the OSHA noise 
standard § 1910.95. The rule also allows 
the employer to adjust the employee’s 
audiogram results used to determine an 
STS to subtract hearing loss caused by 
aging, allows the employer to retest the 
workers’ hearing to make sure the 
hearing loss is persistent, and allows the 
employer to seek and follow the advice 
of a physician or licensed health care 
professional in determining whether or 
not the hearing loss was work-related. 

The approach adopted in the final 
rule has several advantages. By using 
the STS definition from the OSHA noise 
standard § 1910.95, the § 1904.10 
regulation uses a sensitive measure of 
hearing loss that has occurred while the 
employee is employed by his or her 
current employer. By requiring all STSs 
to exceed 25 dB from audiometric zero, 
the regulation assures that all recorded 
hearing losses are significant illnesses. 
OSHA received no comments suggesting 
that a shift of 25 dB from audiometric 
zero was anything less than a serious 
hearing loss case. While there is little 
consensus among the commenters 
concerning the appropriate level that 
should be used to record hearing loss 
cases, there is widespread agreement 
that a 25-dB shift from audiometric zero 
is a serious hearing loss. 

The hearing loss recording level is 
also compatible with the final rule’s 
definition of injury or illness, ‘‘an 
abnormal condition or disorder’’ 
(§ 1904.46). Various scales used to rate 
hearing loss consider hearing levels less 
than 25 dB to be within the ‘‘normal 
range’’ (American Medical Association 
Guidelines to the evaluation of Material 
Impairment, American Academy of 

Family Physicians, Audiology 
Awareness Campaign). The recording 
level is also compatible with the 
definition of material impairment used 
by OSHA and MSHA in the 
development of standards for 
occupational noise exposure (64 FR 
49548, 48 FR 9738). 

The hearing loss recording 
requirements in § 1904.10 differ from 
the requirements of the OSHA noise 
standard (§ 1910.95) because under the 
noise standard the employer is required 
to take certain actions (employee 
notification, providing hearing 
protectors or refitting of hearing 
protectors, etc.) for all 10-db standard 
threshold shifts while the part 1904 rule 
only requires the recording of STSs that 
also exceed the total 25-db level. OSHA 
believes that this is an appropriate 
policy, because 10-db shifts in hearing 
at higher levels (above 25 dB) are more 
significant. Several commenters agreed 
that some shifts are more significant 
than others. ORC stated that ‘‘(a) 10-db 
shift from audiometric zero is virtually 
imperceptible, while 10-db shifts at 
higher levels become more important’’ 
(Ex. 3–49). The American Federation of 
Government Employees (Ex. 3–17) 
argued that ‘‘(h)earing loss is not linear, 
but is exponential, and changes are 
incrementally more serious and 
irreversible’’ and the American 
Federation of State, County and 
Municipal Employees remarked that 
‘‘(additional shifts are progressively 
more serious in nature’’ (Ex. 3–21)). 

When audiometric testing is done, test 
tones are presented at various sound 
levels, usually increasing or decreasing 
in 5-dB steps. The employee is asked to 
respond whenever a tone is heard, with 
the goal being finding the lowest level 
at which the employee can consistently 
hear. The standard measurement for 
measuring hearing level is decibels, a 
logarithmic scale. For the first increase 
in hearing level from 0 to 10 dB, the 
sound intensity increases 10 fold. The 
next 10 dB is a 100-fold increase. By the 
time a person’s hearing level changes 
from 0 to 30 dB hearing level, he or she 
needs 1,000 times more sound intensity 
to just barely hear. 

Although the part 1904 recordkeeping 
regulation and the § 1910.95 noise 
standard treat the STS cases differently, 
this has no effect on the noise standard’s 
requirements and does not have any 
effect on the requirement for employers 
to comply with § 1910.95. When 
employers detect work-related STS 
cases, they are required to take all of the 
follow-up actions required by the noise 
standard. 

Additionally, the STS measure uses 
existing measurements and calculations 

employers are already using to comply 
with the OSHA noise standard, resulting 
in less paperwork burden for employers 
covered by both rules. Employers are 
required to take one additional step to 
determine if the STS has also resulted 
in a total hearing level of 25 dB or more, 
and if so, to record it. The position 
taken in § 1904.10 provides a reasonable 
compromise between the commenters’ 
highly polarized views on the proper 
recording level. The final rule’s hearing 
loss recording provisions provide a 
reasonable ‘‘middle ground’’ solution to 
reconcile the differences between a 
highly sensitive measure of hearing loss 
(all 10-db shifts) and increasingly 
insensitive measures (15, 20, or 25-db 
shifts). 

The approach used in this final rule 
is a newly developed alternative that 
was not considered in the January 2001 
rulemaking because none of the 
commenters to the 1996 proposed rule 
suggested it. The approach was first 
suggested by Organization Resources 
Counselors in an unsolicited post-
promulgation submission following 
publication of the January 2001 rule (Ex. 
1–6). OSHA then solicited comment on 
the approach in the July 3, 2001 Federal 
Register notice requesting comment on 
the hearing loss recording issue (66 FR 
35113—35115). 

OSHA believes that the § 1904.10 
requirements will improve the nation’s 
statistics on occupational hearing loss 
and that more hearing loss cases will be 
entered on employers’ OSHA 300 Logs. 
However, OSHA recognizes that the 
new requirements may not result in 
comprehensive statistics for 
occupational hearing loss. Employees 
may experience significant hearing loss 
in industries where audiometric testing 
is not required (construction, 
agriculture, oil and gas drilling and 
servicing, and shipbuilding industries), 
and is not provided voluntarily by the 
employer, and thus never be entered 
into the records. Likewise, an employee 
may experience gradual hearing loss 
while employed by several employers, 
but never work for the same employer 
long enough to allow a recordable STS 
to be captured. As to the effect on trend 
analysis, caution must be used when 
comparing § 1904.10 hearing loss data 
that span the effective date of this rule. 
The new hearing loss recording rule will 
result in the recording of additional 
cases of hearing loss, not as a result of 
a change in the number of workers who 
experience hearing loss, but simply 
because of the recordkeeping change.

OSHA finds that recording only 25–
dB shifts from the employee’s baseline 
audiogram is not an appropriate policy. 
If an employee had significant hearing 
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loss before being hired by the employer, 
additional hearing loss would not be 
recorded until well beyond the point of 
disability. This would not conform to 
the requirements of section 24 of the Act 
directing the Secretary to ‘‘[c]ompile 
accurate statistics on work injuries and 
illnesses which shall include all 
disabling, serious, or significant injuries 
and illnesses * * *’’ (emphasis added) 
(29 U.S.C. 673). The recording of 25-dB 
shifts in hearing acuity, measured from 
the employee’s original baseline 
audiogram would clearly understate the 
true incidence of work-related hearing 
loss. Likewise, if the part 1904 
regulation were to require only the 
recording of 15 or 20-dB shifts, or 
categorically exclude the first STS case 
the rule would exclude many legitimate 
and serious hearing loss cases that 
should rightfully be entered into the 
records and the Nation’s injury and 
illness statistics. This approach would 
be especially deficient at capturing 
hearing loss in those employees who 
change employers several times during 
their working lives. 

The Coalition to Protect Workers 
Hearing (Ex. 3–23) and the AFL–CIO 
(Ex. 3–24) specifically opposed the 
approach used in the final rule, which 
is often referred to as a ‘‘sliding scale’’ 
approach because it treats some STS 
cases as being more serious than others 
(Exs. 3–23, 3–24). These Commenters 
argued that a sliding scale approach was 
rejected in 1981 because it was too 
complex (Exs. 3–23, 3–24), that sliding 
scales are difficult to administer and do 
not provide uniform protection for 
workers (Ex. 3–24), and that 
‘‘(c)ategorizing employers on the basis 
of hearing impairment is discriminatory. 
* * * Women and African Americans, 
both of whom tend to have better 
hearing sensitivity, might be placed in 
noise-hazardous jobs since they could 
develop more hearing change without 
crossing the line’’ (Exs. 3–23–1, 3–53). 

OSHA does not believe that these 
concerns are serious impediments to the 
Section 1904.10 requirements. The two-
part test, an STS combined with a total 
hearing level in excess of 25 dB from 
audiometric zero, is not overly complex, 
and is not nearly as complex as some of 
the sliding scale approaches that were 
rejected during the revision of the 
OSHA noise standard in 1981. In the 
years since 1981, computer technology 
has become much more commonplace 
and is incorporated into most, if not all, 
audiometric equipment. OSHA expects 
that most employers and contractors 
who administer hearing tests under the 
provisions of the noise standard will use 
computer software to make the needed 
calculations, so the requirements will 

not be difficult to administer. OSHA has 
received no evidence to show that the 
policies in the final rule will encourage 
discriminatory behavior by employers. 
The suggestion that women or African 
Americans may be selected for noise 
exposed jobs in order to avoid a 
potential recordable hearing loss case is 
highly speculative. OSHA has seen no 
evidence that such discrimination has 
occurred either to avoid the 
requirements of the OSHA noise 
standard or to avoid workers’ 
compensation issues. 

OSHA does not agree with the 
commenters who argued that because 
the function of the OSHA standards and 
regulations, including the part 1904 
regulation, is to protect workers, worker 
protection would be compromised by 
any policy other than the recording of 
all STS cases. OSHA encourages 
employers and employees to use the 
OSHA injury and illness records to 
improve workplace safety and health 
conditions, and this is one of the 
functions of the Part 1904 records. 
However, this is not the only function 
of the records. They are also used to 
generate injury and illness statistics for 
the Nation and for individual 
workplaces. They are used by OSHA 
representatives to identify hazards 
during workplace inspections, and are 
collected by OSHA to target its 
intervention efforts to more hazardous 
worksites (See 66 FR 5916-5917). As 
stated in the 2001 rulemaking, ‘‘[n]o 
new protections are being provided by 
the recordkeeping rule’’. Further, the 
OSH Act does not require the recording 
of all injuries and illnesses and 
specifically excludes certain minor 
injury and illness cases. This exclusion, 
which is discussed in the preamble to 
the January 19, 2001 final rule, applies 
to both injuries and illnesses, including 
hearing loss (See 66 FR 5931-5932). It is 
thus entirely appropriate for the 
recordkeeping rule to exclude certain 
minor illness cases while capturing 
more serious cases. 

The hearing loss recording 
requirements of Section 1904.10 will 
not deprive employers and employees of 
information about noise hazards or 
diminish workers’ protection against the 
hazards of noise in the workplace. The 
occupational noise exposure standard 
requires that employees in general 
industry be tested for hearing loss when 
noise exposure exceeds an 8-hour time-
weighted average of 85dB, and that 
employees be informed, in writing, if a 
10–dB shift has occurred. The 
audiometric test records must be 
retained for the duration of the affected 
employee’s employment. (See 29 CFR 
1910.95(g), (m)). The noise standard also 

specifies the protective measures to be 
taken to prevent further hearing loss for 
employees who have experienced a 10–
dB shift, including the use of hearing 
protectors and referral for audiological 
evaluation where appropriate. (See 29 
CFR 1910.95(g)(8)). These requirements, 
which apply without regard to the 
recording criteria in the recordkeeping 
rule, will protect workers against the 
hazards of noise. The modified 
requirements of Section 1904.10 will 
therefore not deprive employers and 
workers of the means to detect and 
prevent hearing loss. 

Finally, section 4(b)(4) of the OSH Act 
provides that ‘‘[n]othing in this Act 
shall be construed to supercede or in 
any manner affect any workmen’s 
compensation law or to enlarge or 
diminish or affect in any other manner 
the common law or statutory rights, 
duties, or liabilities of employers and 
employees under any law with respect 
to injuries, diseases, or death of 
employees arising out of, or in the 
course of, employment.’’ 29 U.S.C. 
653(b)(4). Accordingly, the OSHA 
recordkeeping rule will have no legal 
effect on state workers’ compensation 
systems. There is no evidence that the 
states have modified their systems to 
conform to OSHA’s previous hearing 
loss recording policies; in fact, the states 
are far from uniform in their treatment 
of occupational hearing loss (Ex. 3–24–
14). Therefore, OSHA does not expect 
the 1904 regulation to have any effect on 
state workers’ compensation in the 
future. 

Audiometric Error 
In its July 3, 2001 proposal, OSHA 

asked the public to comment on the 
variability of audiometric testing 
equipment and how testing variability 
should be taken into account, if at all, 
in the recordkeeping rule (66 FR 35115). 
Many commenters questioned the 
accuracy of audiograms, and some of 
them specifically questioned the 
accuracy of audiograms used to 
compute 10-dB shifts in hearing acuity 
(Exs. 3–5, 3–13, 3–14, 3–19, 3–20, 3–25, 
3–26, 3–27, 3–29, 3–30, 3–35, 3–37, 3–
45, 3–48, 3–49, 3–50, 3–54, 3–56, 3–58, 
3–59, 3–63). These commenters argued 
that 10 dB is the lowest level of 
detection and is not reliable (Exs. 3–48, 
3–63); at 10 dB the precision of the 
measurement becomes an issue (Ex. 3–
49); 5 to 10-dB variability is common, 
which argues for 25 dB and against 10 
dB (Ex. 3–29); 10 dB is not effective 
because of the testing environment, 
testing procedures, and error of 
audiometric equipment (Ex. 3–27); and 
that at a 10-dB shift, there is significant 
uncertainty in measurement, rendering 
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a typical audiometric reading unreliable 
(Exs. 3–37, 3–56). Verizon 
Communications, Inc., while supporting 
the recording of 10-dB shifts, 
summarized the potential recording 
problem as follows:

The test-retest variability inherent in 
properly calibrated audiometric 
equipment is ± 5 dB. * * * if a 10-dB 
recording threshold is adopted, the 
following scenario is possible:

Baseline audiogram—the threshold at 200 Hz 
is measured at 10 dB; however, the 
equipment is off by ¥5 dB, so the 
threshold is really 15 dB 

Follow-up audiogram—the threshold at 200 
Hz is measured at 20 dB; however, the 
equipment is off by +5 dB, so the threshold 
is still 15 dB 

This employee would have a recordable 10-
dB loss, yet, in reality, his/her hearing 
would be unchanged. This is the risk that 
is taken with a 10-dB threshold—too many 
false positives (Ex. 3–30).

The International Paper Company 
stated that ‘‘[a]pplying the 10-dB STS 
criterion for recordkeeping purposes 
would have the effect of recording large 
numbers of workers whose hearing 
losses may simply be due to testing 
variability’’ (Ex. 3–14). The Society for 
the Plastics Industry (Ex. 3–25) cited a 
number of articles in the scientific 
literature to argue that measurement 
error in field testing as approximately ± 
10 dB and the measurement error under 
laboratory conditions is ± 5 dB. The 
Specialty Steel Industry of North 
America (SSINA) and the Steel 
Manufacturers Association (SMA), in a 
combined comment, used information 
from the National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health 
(NIOSH) to argue that typical 
audiometric testing variability is 10 dB, 
stating that ‘‘(e)mployers will be 
required to record each occurrence of an 
STS at 10 dB, using a test that has a 10-
dB measurement variability. This will 
generate an overwhelming number of 
false positives’’ (Ex. 3–37). 

In a single comment, the National 
Chicken Council and the National 
Turkey Federation argued that ‘‘Lacking 
standardization in testing methods and 
in testing equipment, this change will 
mean that employers will likely be 
forced to record (or fail to record) STSs 
that are inaccurately measured’’ (Ex. 3–
19). The Hearing Conservation Team at 
the Naval Submarine Medical Research 
Laboratory (Ex. 3–56) reviewed the 
scientific literature on audiogram 
reliability and found that methodology 
used by various researchers varied 
widely, making study comparisons 
difficult. The Hearing Conservation 
Team recommended further research 
into the test-retest reliability of various 

threshold levels that could then be used 
to set an STS criterion that would 
minimize false positives. 

Another group of commenters argued 
that the accuracy of audiometric testing 
equipment is not a major factor (Exs. 3–
15, 3–22. 3–23–1, 3–24, 3–57, 3–58, 3–
61, 5–2, 5–3). In a representative 
comment, the AFL–CIO remarked that 
‘‘The issue of audiometric test 
variability has been a settled matter 
since the hearing conservation 
amendment was promulgated nearly 20 
years ago and is adequately addressed 
by the existing provisions contained in 
1904.10’’ (Ex. 3–24). The American 
Textile Manufacturers Institute 
commented that: ‘‘Variability is a given 
in audiometric testing as it can never be 
an exact process as long as it relies on 
any given individual being tested to 
sense a signal and respond. However, 
variability can be minimized if there are 
tight quality controls on the test 
equipment, procedures, etc.’’ (Ex. 3–15). 

The Coalition to Protect Workers 
Hearing disagreed with OSHA’s 
suggestion that the 10-dB recordability 
criterion does not allow for audiometric 
variability, stating that ‘‘The evaluation 
of work-relatedness takes calibration 
shifts into account, and such 
audiometric variability occurs 
infrequently. When random 
measurement variability does occur, 
retesting reduces it’’, adding that ‘‘It is 
true that audiometric data are 
vulnerable to calibration differences 
between different audiometers. 
Calibration discrepancies may occur if 
the employer changes service providers 
(e.g., mobile audiometric testing, testing 
in an off-site clinic) or if the employer 
switches audiometers for in-house 
testing. Such change can easily affect 
data by 5 dB. However, calibration 
discrepancies can be minimized through 
careful procedural controls such as the 
use of bio-acoustic simulators and 
proper professional supervision of the 
audiometric monitoring program’’ (Ex. 
3–23–1). 

The Dow Chemical Company, which 
has voluntarily been using 10-dB shifts 
for recording loss, stated that ‘‘In Dow’s 
experience, following a standardized 
testing protocol (using 29 CFR 1910.95), 
and including adjustment for age and 
the use of a retest in 30 days, has 
provided accurate, consistent results’ 
(Ex. 5–2). The National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health 
(NIOSH) argued that the variability of 
testing should not be taken into account 
in the recordkeeping rule because 
audiometric variability issues have been 
addressed in the OSHA Noise Standard 
29 CFR 1910.95. NIOSH stated that they 
believe that under the OSHA Noise 

Standard the expected variability due to 
error will be ±5 dB (Ex. 5–3). 

OSHA agrees with NIOSH that the 
recordkeeping rule should not take any 
actions to address the issues of 
audiometric variability, and finds that 
there is no need to increase the 
recording loss threshold to 15 or 20 dB 
to account for variability. The OSHA 
noise standard includes provisions that 
standardize audiometric testing 
protocols. The requirements in 
§ 1910.95 (g) Audiometric Testing 
Program, § 1910.95 (h) Audiometric Test 
Requirements, Mandatory Appendix C 
to § 1910.95 Audiometric Measuring 
Instruments, Mandatory Appendix D to 
§ 1910.95 Audiometric Test Rooms, and 
Mandatory Appendix E to § 1910.95 
Acoustic Calibration of Audiometers, 
and the incorporated provisions of 
American Standard Specification for 
Audiometers S3.6–1969 provide 
standardized methodologies for 
conducting hearing tests designed to 
assure, as far as possible, that 
audiograms are accurate. As discussed 
in the preamble to the January 2001 
final rule (66 FR 6009), following these 
requirements will result in audiometric 
test results with a variability of ±5 dB. 
As the Medical Educational 
Development Institute argued in 
response to the 1996 proposal, ‘‘(t)est/
re-test reliability of 5 dB is well 
established in hearing testing. For 
example, the Council on Accrediting 
Occupational Hearing Conservationists 
maintain this range of reliability in their 
training guidelines and this is 
recognized in American National 
Standard Method for Manual Pure-Tone 
Threshold Audiometry, S3.21—1978 
(R1992).’’ At the ± 5-dB reliability level, 
errors of 10 dB will be infrequent. There 
is a low probability that the audiometer 
will be incorrect by ¥5 dB on one test 
and +5 dB on a subsequent test because 
many of the variables affecting 
reliability will remain the same from 
year to year. The employer is likely to 
use the same audiometer, in the same 
room, operated by the same technician 
from one test to the next. When these 
variables are not held constant, or a 10-
dB shift occurs due to residual random 
variability, the allowance for retesting 
should largely eliminate spurious shifts 
due to audiometric measurement errors. 
Additionally, the use of an average shift 
at three frequencies reduces the 
influence of random audiometric 
variability; this is one of the reasons that 
a frequency averaged shift was adopted 
in the § 1910.95 STS definition. 

It should be noted that it is impossible 
to eliminate audiometric errors in their 
entirety. Any recording level, no matter 
how it is set, will be subject to some 
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level of false positive and false negative 
errors. However, OSHA believes that the 
audiometric testing requirements of 
§ 1910.95, if followed, will provide 
reasonably accurate audiometric data for 
the administration of the OSHA noise 
standard, and for the recording of 
occupational hearing loss. As the Dow 
Chemical Company (Ex. 5–2) 
commented: ‘‘(f)ollowing a standardized 
testing protocol (using 29 CFR 1910.95), 
and including adjustments for age and 
the use of a retest in 30 days, has 
provided accurate, consistent results.’’ 
OSHA believes that the provisions 
allowing the employer to age adjust 
audiograms, seek advice from a 
physician or other licensed health care 
professional for determining work-
relationship, retest within 30 days, and 
remove cases later found not to be 
persistent provide reasonable checks 
against false positive results being 
recorded on the 300 Log.

Age Correction 
The final rule carries forward the 

January 19, 2001 rule’s conceptual 
framework allowing, but not requiring, 
the employer to age adjust an 
employee’s annual audiogram when 
determining whether or not a 10-dB 
shift in hearing acuity has occurred. 
There were no comments objecting to 
the age-correction of audiometric results 
when evaluating Standard Threshold 
Shifts in hearing. However, the 
American Iron and Steel Institute (Ex. 
3–54), the Society for the Plastics 
Industry (Ex. 3–25) and the American 
Forest & Paper Association (Ex. 3–59), 
in support of a recording criteria similar 
to that adopted in the final rule, 
recommended that, ‘‘[b]ecause of the 
recognized contribution of aging to 
hearing loss, all hearing loss 
determinations would be age-adjusted 
in accordance with Appendix F to 29 
CFR 1910.95’’. 

While the final rule allows the 
employer to age-correct the STS portion 
of the recording criteria, there is no 
allowance for age correction for 
determining a 25-dB hearing level. The 
AMA Guides specifically state that total 
hearing loss should not be age adjusted, 
and there is no recognized consensus 
method for age adjusting a single 
audiogram. The method used in 
Appendix F of § 1910.95 is designed to 
age correct STS, not absolute hearing 
ability. The 25-dB criteria is used to 
assure the existence of a serious illness, 
and reflects the employee’s overall 
health condition, regardless of 
causation. Age correcting the STS will 
provide adequate safeguards against 
recording age corrected hearing loss. 
Therefore, it would be inappropriate 

and unnecessary to age correct the 25-
dB hearing level. 

Persistence 
Although OSHA did not specifically 

ask for comment on the topic, several 
commenters raised the issue of how to 
verify that recorded hearing loss cases 
are persistent. The OSHA noise 
standard addresses the issue of 
temporary hearing losses by allowing 
the employer to retest the employee’s 
hearing within 30 days 
(1910.95(g)(7)(ii)). The 2001 rule 
adopted the same 30 day retest option 
at § 1904.10(b)(4) by allowing the 
employer to delay recording if a retest 
was going to be performed in the next 
30 days. 

A number of commenters stated that 
OSHA should record only permanent 
shifts in hearing (Exs. 3–23–1, 3–25, 3–
26, 3–37, 3–48, 3–50, 3–58, 3–61, 3–62). 
In a representative comment, Industrial 
Health Inc. remarked that ‘‘[n]o shift, 
regardless of the number of dB, should 
be recorded unless it is found to be 
persistent in a second audiogram taken 
at a later time, which we believe should 
be no less than 60 days and preferably 
6 months or more after the initial 
audiogram which revealed the shift’’ 
(Ex. 3–62). 

The National Association of 
Manufacturers and the Can 
Manufacturing Institute, in a combined 
comment, argued that 30 days does not 
allow enough time to resolve transient 
conditions such as colds or allergies, 
and the retest period should be 
extended to one year (Ex. 3–50). The 
Coalition to Protect Workers Hearing 
recommended that ‘‘(a)t the discretion 
of the reviewing professional, within 15 
months of the initial identification of 
the STS, any STSs which are not 
confirmed by subsequent retesting or 
otherwise found not to be work related, 
may be lined out on Form 300. 
Documentation justifying line outs must 
be provided and should be retained 
with the employees’ records’(Ex. 3–23). 

OSHA agrees with these commenters 
that the goal of the rule is to record only 
persistent hearing loss cases, and to 
help accomplish that goal, the Agency 
has carried forward the 30 day retest 
provision. However, OSHA has decided 
not to allow a longer retesting period. A 
longer retesting period would increase 
the likelihood that the employer would 
lose track of the case and therefore 
inadvertently fail to record the case. 
These errors would have a detrimental 
effect on the accuracy of the records and 
run counter to OSHA’s goal of 
improving the quality of the injury and 
illness data. The Agency also believes 
that using different time periods for 

retesting in the part 1904 and § 1910.95 
rules would result in increased 
confusion for employers. 

The Agency has also rejected the 
suggestion that all hearing loss cases 
must be confirmed prior to recording 
them. Waiting for one year or longer to 
record an occupational hearing loss 
would move the recording to a year in 
which the original hearing loss was not 
initially discovered, would be 
administratively more complex for 
employers, and would have a 
detrimental effect on the hearing loss 
data. Many legitimate hearing loss cases 
could go unrecorded simply because the 
employee did not receive a subsequent 
audiogram due to job changes or some 
other circumstance that might occur 
before the next annual audiogram 
required by the noise standard. 

In order to make it clear to employers 
that they may remove any cases that are 
found to be temporary, the final rule has 
adopted the removal option 
recommended by the Coalition to 
Protect Workers Hearing, with three 
modifications. First, the final rule does 
not include the 15 month time limit. 
OSHA does not believe that a time limit 
is needed because any future audiogram 
that shows an improvement in hearing 
and refutes the recorded hearing loss 
would indicate a temporary hearing loss 
that should be removed from the 
records. Second, the regulatory text does 
not specify that the removal must be at 
the discretion of the reviewing 
professional. The OSHA noise standard, 
at § 1910.95(g)(3), requires that:

Audiometric tests shall be performed by a 
licensed or certified audiologist, 
otolaryngologist, or other physician, or by a 
technician who is certified by the Council of 
Accreditation in Occupational Hearing 
Conservation, or who has satisfactorily 
demonstrated competence in administering 
audiometric examinations, obtaining valid 
audiograms, and properly using, maintaining 
and checking calibration and proper 
functioning of the audiometers being used. A 
technician who operates microprocessor 
audiometers does not need to be certified. A 
technician who performs audiometric tests 
must be responsible to an audiologist, 
otolaryngologist or physician.

Because the noise standard already 
requires audiograms to be conducted by, 
or under the supervision of, a qualified 
professional, subsequent audiograms 
that may refute the persistence of a 
recorded hearing loss will be reviewed 
by the appropriate professional. The 
§ 1904.10 simply cross-references the 
need for the audiograms to be obtained 
pursuant to the requirements of 
§ 1910.95, so there is no need for the 
§ 1904.10 rule to repeat the review 
requirement. Third, the rule does not 
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require the employer to maintain 
documentation concerning the removal 
of cases. Section 1910.95(m)(2) of the 
noise standard requires the employer to 
keep records of all audiometric tests that 
are performed, and those records will be 
available, should they be needed for 
future reference. As a result, there is no 
need to add a duplicative paperwork 
burden in the § 1904.10 rule. Therefore, 
§ 1904.10(b)(4) states that ‘‘If subsequent 
audiometric testing indicates that an 
STS is not persistent, you may erase or 
line-out the recorded entry’’. OSHA has 
added this additional regulatory 
language to minimize the recording of 
temporary hearing loss cases while 
capturing complete data on the 
incidence of hearing loss disorders. 

Frequencies 
Some commenters urged OSHA to 

measure hearing loss at frequencies 
other than 2000, 3000 and 4000 Hz (See, 
e.g., Exs. 3–25, 3–54, 3–57, 3–58, 3–59, 
3–61). Alabama Power (Ex. 3–61) and 
the Southern Company (Ex. 3–58) 
recommended using 500, 1000, and 
2000 because ‘‘these are the frequencies 
where most communication occurs’’. 
Another group of commenters 
recommended the use of 500, 1000, 
2000 and 3000 Hz because these are the 
frequencies specified by the American 
Medical Association and the American 
Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and 
Neck Surgery, Inc. (Exs. 3–25, 3–54, 3–
57, 3–59).

OSHA has decided to continue to use 
the frequencies used in the § 1910.95 
OSHA noise standard (2000, 3000, and 
4000 Hz). While ‘‘most’’ communication 
occurs at lower frequencies, these are 
clearly audible frequencies where some 
speech occurs, and where hearing loss 
can have a significant impact on 
workers’ lives outside of verbal 
communication. Using these frequencies 
reduces the burden on employers that 
would be created by requiring separate 
calculations of audiometric results, and, 
as Industrial Health, Inc. stated ‘‘(w)ith 
regard to the early effects of noise 
exposure, it seems reasonable to extend 
the definition across the standard shift 
frequencies 2000, 3000, and 4000 Hz’’ 
(Ex. 3–62). 

Baseline Reference and Revision of 
Baseline 

In its July 3, 2001 Federal Register 
notice OSHA asked the public to 
comment on the appropriate benchmark 
against which to measure hearing loss, 
e.g., the employee’s baseline audiogram, 
audiometric zero, or some other 
measure (66 FR 35115). One commenter, 
Eric Zaban with the State of Michigan, 
suggested using audiometric zero as the 

appropriate benchmark (Ex. 4–1). The 
vast majority of the commenters who 
addressed this issue supported using the 
employee’s baseline audiogram (Exs. 3–
15, 3–20, 3–21, 3–22, 3–23–1, 3–24, 3–
25, 3–27, 3–29, 3–30, 3–37, 3–47, 3–49, 
3–50, 3–53, 3–54, 3–57, 3–58, 3–59, 3–
61, 3–62, 3–63, 4–2, 4–5, 5–2, 5–3, 5–
5 ). Alabama Power remarked that:
[T]he appropriate benchmark against which 
to measure hearing loss is the employee’s 
original baseline. Using the employee’s 
original baseline ensures that employers are 
not held responsible for any prior hearing 
loss the employee may have suffered. 
Comparing an employee’s audiogram to 
audiometric zero would not take into account 
any previous hearing loss that may have 
occurred prior to employment (Ex. 3–61).

The AFL–CIO agreed, stating that 
‘‘Using the original baseline takes into 
account any hearing loss that a worker 
may have experienced while employed 
by a previous employer’’ and ‘‘Using the 
baseline ideogram (audiogram) will 
assist in preventing the recording of 
cases of non-occupational hearing loss’ 
(Ex. 3–24). 

The two-part test for recording that is 
being adopted in the final rule uses the 
baseline audiogram as the reference 
point for determining whether or not the 
employee has had a change in hearing 
while employed by his or her current 
employer, and then uses audiometric 
zero as the reference point for 
determining the overall hearing ability 
of the affected employee. OSHA agrees 
that the employee’s baseline audiogram 
is a superior reference point for 
measuring a change of hearing, a 
Standard Threshold Shift. Using the 
baseline audiogram taken upon 
employment reduces the effect of any 
prior hearing loss the employee have 
experienced, whether it is non-
occupational hearing loss or 
occupational hearing loss caused by 
previous employment. Therefore, the 
final rule uses the employee’s original 
baseline audiogram as the reference for 
the STS component of an initial hearing 
loss cases, and uses the revised baseline 
audiogram from that initial case as the 
reference for future cases. 

The 25-dB total hearing level 
component of an OSHA recordable 
hearing loss uses a reference of 
audiometric zero. This portion of the 
recording criteria is used to assure that 
the employee’s total hearing level is 
beyond the normal range of hearing, so 
it does not exclude hearing loss due to 
non-work causes, prior employment, or 
any other cause. The measurement 
simply reflects the employee’s current 
hearing ability as reflected in the most 
recent audiogram. This comparison to 
audiometric zero is a simple matter, 

because audiometers are designed to 
provide results that are referenced to 
audiometric zero. The hearing level at 
each frequency is oftentimes printed by 
the equipment, so there is rarely a need 
to perform manual calculations. 

Work Relationship
The final rule published on January 

19, 2001 included a presumption of 
work-relatedness when employees are 
exposed to loud noise at work, relying 
on the OSHA noise standards criteria of 
an 8-hour 85 dBA exposure level, or a 
total noise dose of 50 percent. The 
preamble discussion of the work-
relatedness presumption was that:

[I]n line with the overall concept of work 
relationship adopted in this final rule for all 
conditions, an injury or illness is considered 
work related if it occurs in the work 
environment. For workers who are exposed 
to the noise levels that require medical 
surveillance under § 1910.95 (an 8-hour time-
weighted average of 85 dB(A) or greater, or 
a total noise dose of 50 percent), it is highly 
likely that workplace noise is the cause of or, 
at a minimum, has contributed to the 
observed STS. It is not necessary for the 
workplace to be the sole cause, or even the 
predominant cause, of the hearing loss in 
order for it to be work-related (66 FR 6012).

Several commenters discussed the 
difficulties of determining the work-
relatedness of hearing losses, and many 
argued that the 8-hour 85 dBA 
presumption was invalid (Exs. 3–2, 3–
3, 3–13, 3–20, 3–23–1, 3–25, 3–27, 3–29, 
3–37, 3–43, 3–48, 3–50, 3–54, 3–63, 4–
3). In a representative comment, the 
Coalition to Protect Workers Hearing 
(Ex. 3–23–1) remarked that:

[W]ork relatedness should not be presumed 
solely on the basis of an exposure to time-
weighted averages (TWAs) of 85 dBA or 
higher; instead it should be evaluated on a 
case-by-case basis. Presumption of work-
relatedness based on equivalent 8-hour 
exposure alone is unsatisfactory because it 
presumes that the employer’s hearing 
conservation program is completely 
ineffective and does not take into account 
other factors such as hearing protector fit and 
use compliance. Presumption of work-
relatedness is a disincentive for employers to 
develop successful programs and to 
implement noise control because they receive 
no credit for their efforts. The audiologist or 
physician reviewing the audiometric record 
should make a determination regarding 
whether the OSHA STS is work-related and 
should do so when the 10-dB STS occurs.

Other commenters suggested that if an 
employer has an active and enforceable 
hearing conservation program in effect, 
then the recordkeeping rule should 
presume that a hearing loss case is non-
work-related (Exs. 3–37, 3–50); that the 
rule needs to take non-work noise 
exposure into account (Exs. 3–29, 3–37, 
3–50); and that the rule should only 
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consider a hearing loss to be work-
related if work contributed more than 
50% (Ex. 3–63). Several commenters 
made the same argument as the 
Coalition to Protect Workers Hearing, 
arguing that each case should be 
evaluated on its merits (Exs. 3–29, 3–43, 
3–50, 3–63). The American Foundry 
Society argued that ‘‘[w]ork-relatedness 
should be evaluated by a health care 
professional with experience in 
occupational health. Low level 
occupational noise exposure or 
documented regular use of hearing 
protection devices (HPDs) in noisy areas 
should mitigate against the presumption 
of work-relatedness’ (Ex. 3–63). 

OSHA agrees with these commenters 
that it is not appropriate to include a 
presumption of work-relatedness for 
hearing loss cases to employees who are 
working in noisy work environments. It 
is possible for a worker who is exposed 
at or above the 8-hour 85-dBA action 
levels of the noise standard to 
experience a non-work-related hearing 
loss, and it is also possible for a worker 
to experience a work-related hearing 
loss and not be exposed above those 
levels. Therefore, the final rule states 
that there are no special rules for 
determining work-relationship and 
restates the rule’s overall approach to 
determining work-relatedness—that a 
case is work-related if one or more 
events or exposures in the work 
environment either caused or 
contributed to the hearing loss, or 
significantly aggravated a pre-existing 
hearing loss. 

The final rule’s approach to 
determining work-relatedness differs 
from the January 2001 rule for three 
reasons. First, although it is likely that 
occupational exposure to noise in 
excess of 85 dBA will be a causal factor 
in hearing loss in some cases, a 
presumption of work-relatedness is not 
justified in all cases. Further evaluation 
is needed to make this determination. 
Second, the policy in the final rule is 
consistent with the general principle in 
§ 1904.5 that work-relatedness is to be 
determined on a case-by-case basis. 
Third, the approach used in the January 
2001 rule is not supported by comments 
to the docket. None of the commenters 
supported the presumption, while many 
opposed it.

The final rule also continues the 2001 
rule’s policy allowing the employer to 
seek the guidance of a physician or 
other licensed health care professional 
when determining the work-relatedness 
of hearing loss cases. Paragraph (b)(6) of 
the rule states that if a physician or 
other licensed health care professional 
determines that the hearing loss is not 
work-related or has not been 

significantly aggravated by occupational 
noise exposure, the employer is not 
required to consider the case work-
related, and therefore is not required to 
record it. 

When evaluating the work relatedness 
of a given hearing loss case, the 
employer should take several factors 
into account. The Coalition to Protect 
Workers Hearing recommended that 
employers consider prior occupational 
and non-occupational noise exposure, 
evaluation of calibration records and the 
audiometric environment, investigation 
of related activities and personal 
medical conditions, and age correction 
before presuming that hearing loss is 
work related (Ex. 3–23–1). One 
important factor to consider is the 
effectiveness of the hearing protection 
program. When employees are exposed 
to high levels of noise in the workplace, 
and do not wear appropriate hearing 
protection devices, a case of hearing loss 
is more likely to be work-related. If an 
employee’s hearing protection devices 
are not appropriate for the noise 
conditions, if they do not fit properly, 
or if they are not used properly and 
consistently, they may not provide 
enough protection to prevent workplace 
noise from contributing to a hearing loss 
case. 

Adding a Column to the 300 Log 
Section 1904.10(a) of the January 2001 

rule required that employers check a 
hearing loss column on the Log when 
recording a hearing loss case. OSHA is 
issuing a separate Federal Register 
document proposing to delay the 
effective date of the hearing loss column 
requirement until January 1, 2004, and 
asking for comment on issues related to 
the hearing loss column. The 1996 
proposed recordkeeping rule did not 
contain a hearing loss column 
requirement, and did not ask for 
comment on whether a column should 
be added. In the 2001 final rule, OSHA 
explained that it was adding a hearing 
loss column to the 300 Log so that BLS 
could produce more reliable statistics 
on occupational hearing loss cases (66 
FR 6005). OSHA’s July 3, 2001 Federal 
Register notice sought comment on 
alternative criteria for recording 
occupational hearing loss, but did not 
mention the hearing loss column as an 
issue. 

OSHA does not believe that the 
existing record provides an adequate 
basis to determine the need for the 
hearing loss column. OSHA believes 
that interested parties should be 
allowed to comment on the issue. 
Accordingly, OSHA is publishing a 
separate Federal Register document 
today, proposing to delay the effective 

date of the hearing loss requirement 
until January 1, 2004 while the Agency 
reconsiders the column requirement in 
light of public comment. To facilitate 
public comment, OSHA has separated 
the requirement from § 1904.10(a) and 
placed it in a separate paragraph at 
§ 1904.10(b)(7), which asks ‘‘How do I 
complete the 300 Log for a hearing loss 
case?’’ and answers ‘‘When you enter a 
recordable hearing loss case on the 
OSHA 300 Log, you must check the 300 
Log column for hearing loss illnesses.’’ 
To further help assure that the public is 
informed about this additional 
rulemaking activity, OSHA is adding a 
regulatory note to § 1904.10(b)(7) 
explaining that OSHA is delaying the 
applicability of § 1904.10(b)(7) until 
further notice while the Agency 
reconsiders the hearing loss column. 

Miscellaneous Hearing Loss Issues 

OSHA received one miscellaneous 
comment that is worthy of discussion. 
The International Chemical Workers 
Union Council (Ex. 3–53) remarked that 
‘‘[i]t is difficult for workers and their 
representatives to gain access to 
audiometric exams or summaries of 
those exams’’. Several of OSHA’s rules 
provide access rights to audiometric 
data. Section 1910.95(g)(8) of the noise 
standard requires employers to inform 
employees, in writing, that they have 
experienced a standard threshold shift. 
OSHA’s rule for access to employee 
exposure and medical records 
(§ 1910.1020) requires employers to 
provide access to medical records, 
exposure records, and analyses of 
records to employee’s and their 
designated representatives. Finally, the 
part 1904 regulation requires employers 
to provide employee access to the 
OSHA injury and illness data. 

Economic Analysis 

Costs of the Revisions to the Hearing 
Loss Recording Provisions 

OSHA has determined that the total 
cost of this action is $1,049,650 per year 
and, thus, that it is not an economically 
significant regulatory action within the 
meaning of Executive Order 12866. The 
methodology that OSHA has used for 
computing costs for the new rule is 
presented in the next two sections. 

Changes in Coverage 

Under the 2002 rule, employers were 
required to record all hearing loss cases 
that involved a work-related Standard 
Threshold Shift (STS) of an average of 
25 dB or more at 2000, 3000 and 4000 
hertz (Hz) in either ear, compared to the 
employee’s original baseline audiogram. 
The new rule requires recording all 
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hearing loss cases that involve a work-
related STS of an average of 10 dB or 
more if the accumulated loss of hearing 
is at least 25 dB above audiometric zero. 
(The use of the tables in Appendix F of 
the Noise Standard to adjust for aging 
remains unchanged.)

OSHA estimates that approximately 
40,000 hearing loss cases would have to 
be recorded under the 2002 rule, as 
opposed to approximately 145,000 
hearing loss cases under the new rule. 
Thus, the new rule increases the 
number of recordable hearing loss cases 
by approximately 105,000. (In the Final 
Economic Analysis of the 2001 revisions 
to the rule, OSHA estimated that there 
would be 275,000 additional hearing 
loss cases (66 FR 6121), but the new rule 
has a narrower definition of hearing loss 
cases than the 2001 rule.) 

Estimating the Number of Recordable 
Hearing Loss Cases 

To estimate the number of cases that 
would be recorded, OSHA used the 
same estimation methodology as in the 
January 19, 2001 final rule. First, OSHA 
estimated the number of employees that 
would receive audiometric tests. 
OSHA’s noise standard § 1910.95 
requires employers to provide baseline 
and annual audiograms (and take other 
actions) when employees are exposed to 
certain noise levels. OSHA believes that 
approximately 23% of workers in the 
manufacturing sector are covered by the 
OSHA noise standard. Therefore, the 
number of covered manufacturing 
workers is 4,255,000 (18,500,000 
manufacturing workers × .23). OSHA 
estimates that an additional 10% of 
workers are covered in other general 
industry sectors (such as transportation 
and utilities) or receive audiograms in 
industries not required to perform 
audiometric testing under the OSHA 
noise standard (such as construction 
and agriculture). Therefore, the total 
number of covered workers is estimated 
to be approximately 4,680,500 
(4,255,000 × 1.1). 

OSHA then reviewed a National 
Institute for Occupational Safety and 
Health (NIOSH) database of audiograms 
to determine the proportion of 
audiograms meeting the recording 
criteria. 3.09% of audiograms met the 
final rule’s criteria for recording hearing 
loss, and 0.83% met the 2002 recording 
criteria (25 dB). Applying this 
percentage to the number of employees 
receiving annual audiograms results in 
144,627 (4,680,500 × 0.0309) estimated 
hearing loss cases under the final rule, 
and 38,848 (4,680,500 × .0083) 
estimated hearing loss cases recorded 
under the 2002 rule. 

Therefore, OSHA estimates 105,779 
(144,627 ¥ 38,848) additional cases of 
occupational hearing loss will be 
captured by the final section 1904.10 
regulation, and has rounded this figure 
to 105,000 for cost estimation purposes. 

Annual Costs of Maintaining Records 
The additional hearing loss cases will 

require additional entries on the OSHA 
Form 300 Log and Summary of 
Occupational Injuries and Illnesses and 
the OSHA Form 301 Injury and Illness 
Incident Report. Access of employees 
and their representatives to the 
additional Form 301s will also involve 
costs. 

OSHA estimates that employers will 
incur for each additional hearing loss 
case a cost of 15 minutes for the Log 
entry. 

As explained in the 2001 Final 
Economic Analysis, based on data 
collected during approximately 400 
recordkeeping audit inspections, OSHA 
estimates that 82 percent of incidents 
will be recorded on forms other than 
Form 301, such as workers’ 
compensation forms. The remaining 
18% of additional hearing loss cases 
will take 22 minutes for the filling out 
the Form 301. 

Assuming that an individual with the 
skill level of a Personnel Training and 
Labor Relations Specialist will do the 
recordkeeping required by this rule, an 
hourly wage of $30.02 is used to 
compute cost. (The average hourly wage 
for a Personnel Training and Labor 
Relations Specialist as reported in the 
Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational 
Employment Statistics Survey for Year 
2000 was $21.71; benefits are computed 
at 38.3 percent of the hourly wage.) 

Thus, employers will incur, for each 
additional hearing loss case, data entry 
costs of 15 minutes for the Log entry 
plus, for 18% of the cases, 22 minutes 
for the Form 301. The total annual cost 
is estimated to be $996,064 [= (105,000 
Cases) × (15 Minutes/Case) × ($30.02/
Hour) + (18,900 Cases) × (22 Minutes/
Case) × ($30.02/Hour)]. 

As in the Year 2001 Final Economic 
Analysis, OSHA assumes that (a) at one-
tenth of covered establishments, one 
employee would request access to his or 
her own Form 301 (10,500 instances), 
and (b) at one percent of covered 
establishments, a union representative 
would request access to all Form 301s 
at the establishment. Using the same 
estimation method as the 2001 
Economic Analysis, OSHA estimates 
union representative access will result 
in an additional 10,500 forms being 
provided by employers. OSHA assumes 
that, for each of the 21,000 forms being 
provided (10,500 + 10,500), employers 

would require five minutes to pull, copy 
(at $0.05), and replace the relevant Form 
301. 

The estimated total cost of providing 
access to additional hearing loss records 
would thus be $47,110 [= (21,000 
Forms) × (5 Minutes × ($30.02/Hour) + 
$.05/Copy)]. Thus, according to the 
above analysis, the total annual cost of 
this regulatory action is $1,049,650. 

Benefits 

Hearing loss cases result in 
substantial disability and lead to safety 
accidents as well. OSHA believes that 
aligning the recording threshold for 
such cases with the STS criterion in the 
Agency’s Noise Standard will simplify 
recording for many employers who are 
already familiar with this criterion and 
provide more opportunities for 
employers to intervene to prevent other 
hearing loss cases.

As explained in the 2001 Final 
Economic Analysis, possession of 
information about events and exposures 
will increase the ability of employers 
and employees to identify hazardous 
conditions and to take remedial action 
to prevent future illnesses. If this 
enhanced ability to identify (and thus 
address) hazards translates into a 
reduction even as small as 0.5 to 1 
percent of the estimated number of 
additional recordable cases, it would 
mean the prevention of 525 to 1,050 
illnesses per year [= (.005 to .01 × 
105,000]. 

The revisions in the rule will also 
make the injury and illness records 
more useful to OSHA, as well as to 
employers and employees. 
Improvements in the records being kept 
by employers would enhance OSHA’s 
capacity to focus compliance outreach 
efforts on the most significant hazards; 
identify types or patterns of illness 
whose investigation might lead to 
regulatory changes or other types of 
prevention efforts, such as enforcement 
strategies, information and training, or 
technology development; and set 
priorities among establishments for 
inspection purposes. 

Employers and employees both stand 
to benefit from the more effective use of 
OSHA’s resources. The enhanced ability 
of compliance officers to identify 
patterns of illness will enable OSHA to 
focus on more serious problems. 
Identification of such patterns will also 
increase the ability of employers to 
control these hazards and prevent other 
similar illnesses. To the extent that 
employers take advantage of this 
information, the burden of OSHA 
inspections should be reduced in the 
long run. Employees clearly also will 
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benefit from these reductions in 
illnesses. 

Regulatory Flexibility Certification 

The 2001 revisions of the 
recordkeeping rule, which were much 
more extensive, did not have a 
significant impact on a substantial 
number of small entities (66 FR 6121). 
In the Final Economic Analysis for 
those revisions, OSHA estimated that 
over the entire range of SICs affected, 
the average cost per small firm was only 
$31.63. The impacts of those revisions 
on sales and profits did not exceed 1 
percent for small firms in any covered 
industry (66 FR 6108). 

Even if all the additional hearing loss 
cases estimated to result from this year’s 
revisions were distributed among the 
541,988 small firms that keep the injury 
and illness records (as OSHA identified 
in its Year 2001 Final Economic 
Analysis) the average cost of the current 
revisions per small firm would be less 
than two dollars. 

OSHA hereby certifies that the current 
revision to the hearing loss recording 
provisions, with an estimated annual 
cost of just over a million dollars, will 
not have a significant impact on a 
substantial number of small entities. 

Unfunded Mandates 

For the purposes of the Unfunded 
Mandates Reform Act of 1995, as well 
as Executive Order 12875, this rule does 
not include any Federal mandate that 
may result in increased expenditures by 
State, local, and tribal governments, or 
increased expenditures by the private 
sector of more than $100 million in any 
year. 

Federalism 

This rule has been reviewed in 
accordance with Executive Order 13132 
(52 FR 41685), regarding Federalism. 
Because this rulemaking action involves 
a ‘‘regulation’’ issued under section 8 of 
the OSH Act, and not a ‘‘standard’’ 
issued under section 6 of the Act, the 
rule does not preempt State law, see 29 
U.S.C. 667(a). The effect of the rule on 
States is discussed in the State Plans 
section of this preamble. 

Paperwork Reduction Act 

OSHA will modify its previously 
approved information collection 
requirements prior to the January 1, 
2003 effective date. 

State Plans 

The 26 States and territories with 
their own OSHA-approved occupational 
safety and health plans must adopt a 
comparable regulation within six 
months of the publication date of this 

final regulation. These states and 
territories are: Alaska, Arizona, 
California, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, 
Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, 
Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, North 
Carolina, Oregon, Puerto Rico, South 
Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, 
Virginia, Virgin Islands, Washington, 
and Wyoming. Connecticut, New Jersey, 
and New York have OSHA approved 
State Plans that apply to state and local 
government employees only. 

A few commenters urged OSHA to 
make sure that the State Plan States 
have the same recording criteria as 
federal OSHA (see, e.g., Exs. 3–22, 3–30, 
3–49, 3–55). During 2002, the State Plan 
States were allowed to maintain their 
policies for the recording of hearing loss 
to maintain their former requirements, 
while OSHA reconsidered what the 
appropriate recording criteria should be. 
In the Federal Register document 
announcing the one year delay and the 
interim policy for year 2002, OSHA 
stated that when it issues a final 
determination for the recording of 
occupational hearing loss for calendar 
years 2003 and beyond, the states would 
be required to have identical criteria (66 
FR 52033). Now that OSHA has issued 
its final determination, the States are 
required to promulgate identical 
criteria. 

Executive Order 

This document has been deemed 
significant under Executive Order 12866 
and has been reviewed by OMB. 

Authority

This document was prepared under 
the direction of John L. Henshaw, 
Assistant Secretary for Occupational 
Safety and Health, U.S. Department of 
Labor, 200 Constitution Avenue, NW., 
Washington, DC 20210. It is issued 
pursuant to section 8 of the 
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 
1970 (29 U.S.C. 657).

Signed at Washington, DC, this 25th day of 
June, 2002. 
John L. Henshaw, 
Assistant Secretary of Labor.

For the reasons stated in the 
preamble, 29 CFR part 1904 is amended 
as follows:

PART 1904—[AMENDED] 

1. The authority citation for part 1904 
continues to read as follows:

Authority: 29 U.S.C. 657, 658, 660, 666, 
673, Secretary of Labor’s Order No. 3–2000 
(65 FR 50017), and 5 U.S.C. 533.

2. Revise § 1904.10 to read as follows:

§ 1904.10 Recording criteria for cases 
involving occupational hearing loss. 

(a) Basic requirement. If an 
employee’s hearing test (audiogram) 
reveals that the employee has 
experienced a work-related Standard 
Threshold Shift (STS) in hearing in one 
or both ears, and the employee’s total 
hearing level is 25 decibels (dB) or more 
above audiometric zero (averaged at 
2000, 3000, and 4000 Hz) in the same 
ear(s) as the STS, you must record the 
case on the OSHA 300 Log. 

(b) Implementation.
(1) What is a Standard Threshold 

Shift? A Standard Threshold Shift, or 
STS, is defined in the occupational 
noise exposure standard at 29 CFR 
1910.95(g)(10)(i) as a change in hearing 
threshold, relative to the baseline 
audiogram for that employee, of an 
average of 10 decibels (dB) or more at 
2000, 3000, and 4000 hertz (Hz) in one 
or both ears. 

(2) How do I evaluate the current 
audiogram to determine whether an 
employee has an STS and a 25–dB 
hearing level? 

(i) STS. If the employee has never 
previously experienced a recordable 
hearing loss, you must compare the 
employee’s current audiogram with that 
employee’s baseline audiogram. If the 
employee has previously experienced a 
recordable hearing loss, you must 
compare the employee’s current 
audiogram with the employee’s revised 
baseline audiogram (the audiogram 
reflecting the employee’s previous 
recordable hearing loss case). 

(ii) 25–dB loss. Audiometric test 
results reflect the employee’s overall 
hearing ability in comparison to 
audiometric zero. Therefore, using the 
employee’s current audiogram, you 
must use the average hearing level at 
2000, 3000, and 4000 Hz to determine 
whether or not the employee’s total 
hearing level is 25 dB or more. 

(3) May I adjust the current 
audiogram to reflect the effects of aging 
on hearing? 

Yes. When you are determining 
whether an STS has occurred, you may 
age adjust the employee’s current 
audiogram results by using Tables F–1 
or F–2, as appropriate, in Appendix F of 
29 CFR 1910.95. You may not use an age 
adjustment when determining whether 
the employee’s total hearing level is 25 
dB or more above audiometric zero. 

(4) Do I have to record the hearing 
loss if I am going to retest the 
employee’s hearing? 

No, if you retest the employee’s 
hearing within 30 days of the first test, 
and the retest does not confirm the 
recordable STS, you are not required to 
record the hearing loss case on the 
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1 Language expanding the scope of the BSA to 
intelligence or counter-intelligence activities to 
protect against international terrorism was added by 
section 358 of the Uniting and Strengthening 
America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required 
to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism (USA PATRIOT 
ACT) Act of 2001 (the ‘‘USA Patriot Act’’), Public 
Law 107–56.

2 31 U.S.C. 5318(g) was added to the BSA by 
section 1517 of the Annunzio-Wylie Anti-Money 
Laundering Act (the ‘‘Annunzio-Wylie Anti-Money 
Laundering Act’’), Title XV of the Housing and 
Community Development Act of 1992, Public Law 
102–550; it was expanded by section 403 of the 
Money Laundering Suppression Act of 1994 (the 
‘‘Money Laundering Suppression Act’’), Title IV of 
the Riegle Community Development and Regulatory 
Improvement Act of 1994, Public Law 103–325, to 
require designation of a single government recipient 
for reports of suspicious transactions.

3 This designation does not preclude the authority 
of supervisory agencies to require financial 
institutions to submit other reports to the same 
agency or another agency ‘‘pursuant to any other 
applicable provision of law.’’ 31 U.S.C. 
5318(g)(4)(C).

OSHA 300 Log. If the retest confirms the 
recordable STS, you must record the 
hearing loss illness within seven (7) 
calendar days of the retest. If subsequent 
audiometric testing performed under the 
testing requirements of the § 1910.95 
noise standard indicates that an STS is 
not persistent, you may erase or line-out 
the recorded entry. 

(5) Are there any special rules for 
determining whether a hearing loss case 
is work-related? 

No. You must use the rules in 
§ 1904.5 to determine if the hearing loss 
is work-related. If an event or exposure 
in the work environment either caused 
or contributed to the hearing loss, or 
significantly aggravated a pre-existing 
hearing loss, you must consider the case 
to be work related. 

(6) If a physician or other licensed 
health care professional determines the 
hearing loss is not work-related, do I 
still need to record the case? 

If a physician or other licensed health 
care professional determines that the 
hearing loss is not work-related or has 
not been significantly aggravated by 
occupational noise exposure, you are 
not required to consider the case work-
related or to record the case on the 
OSHA 300 Log. 

(7) How do I complete the 300 Log for 
a hearing loss case? 

When you enter a recordable hearing 
loss case on the OSHA 300 Log, you 
must check the 300 Log column for 
hearing loss.

Note to 1904.10(b)(7): The applicability of 
paragraph (b)(7) is delayed until further 
notice.

[FR Doc. 02–16392 Filed 6–28–02; 8:45 am] 
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Financial Crimes Enforcement 
Network; Amendment to the Bank 
Secrecy Act Regulations—
Requirement that Brokers or Dealers in 
Securities Report Suspicious 
Transactions

AGENCY: Financial Crimes Enforcement 
Network (‘‘FinCEN’’), Treasury.
ACTION: Final rule.

SUMMARY: This document contains 
amendments to the regulations 
implementing the statute generally 
referred to as the Bank Secrecy Act 
(‘‘BSA’’). The amendments require 
brokers or dealers in securities (‘‘broker-
dealers’’) to report suspicious 

transactions to the Department of the 
Treasury. The amendments constitute a 
further step in the creation of a 
comprehensive system for the reporting 
of suspicious transactions by the major 
categories of financial institutions 
operating in the United States, as a part 
of the counter-money laundering 
program of the Department of the 
Treasury.

DATES: Effective Date: July 31, 2002. 
Applicability Date: December 30, 

2002. See 31 CFR 103.19(h) of the final 
rule contained in this document.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: 
Peter G. Djinis, Executive Assistant 
Director for Regulatory Policy, FinCEN, 
at (703) 905–3930; Judith R. Starr, Chief 
Counsel, Cynthia L. Clark, Deputy Chief 
Counsel, and Christine L. Schuetz, 
Attorney-Advisor, Office of Chief 
Counsel, FinCEN, at (703) 905–3590.
SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: 

I. Statutory Provisions 

The BSA, Public Law 91–508, as 
amended, codified at 12 U.S.C. 1829b, 
12 U.S.C. 1951–1959, and 31 U.S.C. 
5311–5332, authorizes the Secretary of 
the Treasury, inter alia, to issue 
regulations requiring financial 
institutions to keep records and file 
reports that are determined to have a 
high degree of usefulness in criminal, 
tax, and regulatory matters, or in the 
conduct of intelligence or counter-
intelligence activities to protect against 
international terrorism, and to 
implement counter-money laundering 
programs and compliance procedures.1 
Regulations implementing Title II of the 
BSA (codified at 31 U.S.C. 5311 et seq.) 
appear at 31 CFR part 103. The 
authority of the Secretary to administer 
the BSA has been delegated to the 
Director of FinCEN.

The Secretary of the Treasury was 
granted authority in 1992, with the 
enactment of 31 U.S.C. 5318(g),2 to 
require financial institutions to report 

suspicious transactions. As amended by 
the USA Patriot Act, subsection (g)(1) 
states generally:

The Secretary may require any financial 
institution, and any director, officer, 
employee, or agent of any financial 
institution, to report any suspicious 
transaction relevant to a possible violation of 
law or regulation.

Subsection (g)(2)(A) provides further 
that

If a financial institution or any director, 
officer, employee, or agent of any financial 
institution, voluntarily or pursuant to this 
section or any other authority, reports a 
suspicious transaction to a government 
agency— 

(i) the financial institution, director, 
officer, employee, or agent may not notify 
any person involved in the transaction that 
the transaction has been reported; and 

(ii) no officer or employee of the Federal 
Government or of any State, local, tribal, or 
territorial government within the United 
States, who has any knowledge that such 
report was made may disclose to any person 
involved in the transaction that the 
transaction has been reported, other than as 
necessary to fulfill the official duties of such 
officer or employee.

Subsection (g)(3)(A) provides that 
neither a financial institution, nor any 
director, officer, employee, or agent of 
any financial institution
that makes a voluntary disclosure of any 
possible violation of law or regulation to a 
government agency or makes a disclosure 
pursuant to this subsection or any other 
authority * * * shall * * * be liable to any 
person under any law or regulation of the 
United States, any constitution, law, or 
regulation of any State or political 
subdivision of any State, or under any 
contract or other legally enforceable 
agreement (including any arbitration 
agreement), for such disclosure or for any 
failure to provide notice of such disclosure 
to the person who is the subject of such 
disclosure or any other person identified in 
the disclosure.

Finally, subsection (g)(4) requires the 
Secretary of the Treasury, ‘‘to the extent 
practicable and appropriate,’’ to 
designate ‘‘a single officer or agency of 
the United States to whom such reports 
shall be made.’’ 3 The designated agency 
is in turn responsible for referring any 
report of a suspicious transaction to 
‘‘any appropriate law enforcement, 
supervisory agency, or United States 
intelligence agency for use in the 
conduct of intelligence or 
counterintelligence activities, including 
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