Royalty Policy Committee

Function

The Royalty Policy Committee will give advice related to the performance of discretionary functions involved in the Department-s management of Federal and Indian mineral leases and revenues representing the collective viewpoint of the states, Indians, and other parties to the Secretary of the Interior through the Minerals Management Service. The Committee will review and comment on revenue management and other mineral-related policies and provide a sounding board to convey views representative of mineral lessees, operators, revenue payors, recipients, governmental agencies and the interested public.

Membership

There are four categories of members on this Committee. The Secretary will appoint non-Federal members to the Committee to serve up to 2-year terms. Members may be appointed to serve additional terms. All members may designate alternates to attend Committee meetings in their place. An appointment to the Committee may be revoked if a member fails to attend two consecutive meetings.

State and Indian Members

The Secretary may appoint up to 12 members from nominations from the following sources:

- Western Governors=Association,
- Western States Lands Commissioners,
- **\$** Governors of states receiving significant amounts of shared Federal onshore and/or offshore revenues,
- \$ Indian tribal governments,
- \$ Associations with allottees receiving significant amounts of mineral revenues, and
- Other organizations representing Indian interests.

Minerals Industry Members

The Secretary may appoint up to nine members from the following sources:

- **\$** Mineral revenue payors
- **\$** Organizations representing the interests of the mineral industry
- **\$** Self-nominations from interested persons with industry expertise

Discretionary Members

The Secretary may appoint up to four members from the public and private sectors to serve 2-year terms on the Committee. Appointments are to balance the Committee in terms of background, constituency, points of view, and function.

Federal Members

The following officials, or their designee, are nonvoting ex officio members of the Committee:

- Secretary, Department of the Treasury
- **\$** Secretary, Department of Energy
- Chairman, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
- **\$** Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs
- **\$** Director, Bureau of Land Management
- \$ Director, Minerals Management Service
- \$ Associate Director, Minerals Revenue Management

Officers

The Committee will elect from its membership a Chair, Vice Chair, and Parliamentarian to serve 2-year terms. The Associate Director for the Minerals Revenue Management Program, or designee, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer, and the Executive Secretary, and attend all meetings.

Official to Whom the Committee Reports

The Secretary of the Interior through the Director of the Minerals Management Service.

Office Responsible for Providing Necessary Support

The Department of the Interior, Minerals Management Service.

Subcommittees

The Committee may establish subcommittees to study issues in-depth and to develop recommendations for consideration by the full Committee. Membership will be balanced in terms of points of view, function to be performed and expertise required by the subcommittee. Subcommittees may include people who are not members of the Committee. The Committee Chair will appoint subcommittee members.

Estimated Number and Frequency of Meetings

The Committee will meet at the request of the Director. Subcommittees will meet as necessary to accomplish their assignments.

Travel Expenses

Each non-Federal member, or alternate, will be reimbursed for travel expenses incurred when attending Committee meetings in accordance with Federal travel regulations as implemented by the Department of the Interior.

Estimated Operating Costs

We estimate that the activities of the Committee will require an estimated \$100,000 and one work year of support annually.

Meeting Minutes

Detailed minutes of each meeting, recommendations made, and copies of all studies and reports received, issued, or approved in conjunction with the activities of the Committee will be available for public inspection at the following location:

Department of the Interior Minerals Management Service Minerals Revenue Management Denver Federal Center Building 85 Denver, Colorado 80215