

## **DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE**

DEFENSE STANDARDIZATION PROGRAM OFFICE 8725 JOHN J. KINGMAN ROAD, SUITE 4235 FORT BELVOIR, VA 22060-6221



FEB 2 2002

## MEMORANDUM FOR DEFENSE STANDARDIZATION EXECUTIVES

SUBJECT: 2001 Honorary Defense Standardization Program (DSP) Achievement Awards

I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2001 DSP Achievement Awards. You may notify winners and their nominators as you see fit – we will not begin to work with them about the ceremony until March 4, 2002 in order to give you time to notify them first. The winners are:

- Department of the Army, the Joint Tactical Radio Systems Joint Program Office, 1700 N. Moore Street, Suite 1000, Arlington, VA. The POC is Kaye Persons, 703-588-1350 (kaye.persons@saalt.army.mil)
- Department of the Army, the CCS Avionics Directorate, Logistics Readiness Center, U. S. Army CECOM, Headquarters, U. S. Army Communications-Electronics Command and Fort Monmouth, ATTN: AMSEL-LC-CCS-A, Fort Monmouth, NJ 07703-5043. The POC is Kenneth H. Brockel, DSN 992-5431 (kenneth brockel@mail1.monmouth.army.mil)
- Department of the Navy, the Joint Precision Approach and Landing System (JPALS), Naval Air Warfare Center, Unit 11, Building 8271, Villa Road, Air Traffic Control and Landing Systems, NAVAIR PMA213 Program Manager, Webster Field Annex, St. Inigoes, MD 20684. The POC is Mr. J. B. Patterson, 301-995-6317 (pattersonjb@navair.navy.mil)
- Department of the Air Force, Mr. Alan Fletcher, Air Force Research Laboratory, AFRL/MLSA, Air Force-11, 2179 12<sup>th</sup> Street, Room 122, WPAFB, OH 45433-7718. The POC is Scott Kuhnen, 937-255-8727 (robert.kuhnen@wpafb.af.mil)
- Defense Logistics Agency, Mr. Alan Barone, Defense Supply Center, Columbus, Operations Support Group, Document Standardization Unit, Active Devices Team, P.O. Box 3990, Columbus, OH. The POC is Thomas Hess, 614-692-0547 or (DSN) 850-0547 (thomas.hess@dscc.dla.mil).

**Defense Logistics Agency**, **Mr. James A. Crum**, Defense Supply Center, Columbus, Operations Support Group, Document Standardization Unit, Electronic Components Team, P.O. Box 3990, Columbus, OH 43216-5000. The POC is Kendall A. Cottongim, 614-692-0676 or (DSN) 850-0676 (kendall.cottongim@dscc.dla.mil)

• Defense Logistics Agency, Mr. Michael C. Jones, Defense Supply Center Columbus, Operations Support Group, Document Standardization Unit, Microelectronics Team, P.O. Box 3990, Columbus, OH 43216-5000. The POC is Raymond Monnin, 614-692-0536 or (DSN) 850-0536 (raymond.monnin@dscc.dla.mil)

We had excellent nominations from each of the Military Departments and from DLA. I sincerely appreciate all of the hard work that your staffs did in both soliciting nominees from the field and then in screening candidates. I think you will agree that the winners are truly deserving of recognition.

The award ceremony and reception are scheduled for April 17, 2002, from 1:00 to 2:00 at a hotel in Crystal City, Arlington, VA. Mr. Allen. W. Beckett, Principal Assistant Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Logistics and Materiel Readiness will present the awards. You, your DepSO, the winners' commanders and their immediate family will all be invited to attend.

Please notify your departmental winners and arrange for their attendance at the April 17 ceremony. The DSP ceremony action officer, Mrs. Sharon Strickland (703-767-6870), will work with your DepSO regarding the complete attendance list and other details in order to make this day a memorable event.

I know I have your full support for the upcoming ceremony and I look forward to seeing everyone on April 17.

RECORVE. SAUNDERS

DIRECTOR

cc: DepSOs