For Immediate Release September 22, 2004

Pam Robbins (503) 808-6306

Secretary Norton Announces New Appointments to BLM Resource Advisory Council

PORTLAND – Interior Secretary Gale Norton has announced the appointment of members to the citizen-based Eastern Washington Resource Advisory Council (RAC) that advises the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) on public land issues east of the Cascade Mountains.

"We value the input that the Eastern Washington Resource Advisory Council provides in helping the BLM manage America's public lands," Norton said. "I welcome our new and returning members, thank them for their commitment, and look forward to their counsel as we work to improve the health and productivity of the public lands."

Composed of citizens chosen for their expertise in natural resource issues, the BLM's Resource Advisory Councils (RACs) help the agency carry out its stewardship of 261 million acres of public lands across the West. The Bureau, which manages more land than any other Federal agency, has 24 RACs across the West, where most BLM-managed land is located.

"RAC members bring a wealth of experience and a wide range of perspectives to each of our councils," said BLM Director Kathleen Clarke. "This diversity results in a balanced outlook that the BLM needs for its mission, which is to manage the public lands for multiple uses." The BLM, an agency of the Department of the Interior, is responsible for managing these various uses – such as outdoor recreation, livestock grazing, mineral development, and energy production – while conserving the land's natural, historical, and cultural resources.

The list of members of the Eastern Washington RAC is attached – names of new appointments or reappointments are in bold type. The next RAC meeting is tentatively scheduled for October 7, 2004, at the BLM Spokane District Office. Further information is available at the RAC website:

http://www.or.blm.gov/Spokane/RAC/racindex.htm

■ 2nd sheet attached –

Eastern Washington

Maurice Williamson

Commercial Recreation/OHV

Dave Billingsley (R)

Grazing

Stephen Pottle (N)

Commercial Timber

Andrew Berg

Energy/Minerals

Lori Jordan

Transportation/Rights of Way

Charles Warner

Environmental

Sharon Vore

Dispersed Recreation

Mark Amara

Archeology/Historical

Steven Mc Kinney (R)

Conservation

Alexander Cunningham (R)

Conservation

Julie Dagnon

Public-at-Large

James Dobrowolski (R)

Academician

Mary Hunt

Elected Official

Douglass Pineo

State Natural Resources

BJ Kieffer

Native American Tribes

Names in bold type are new (N) or reappointed (R) members.