

Employee's Maryland Withholding Exemption Certificate

Comptroller of Maryland • Revenue Administration Division • Annapolis, Maryland 21411 • Phone 410-260-7980

Print your full name			Your Social Security number	
Address (including ZIP code)			County of residence (or Baltimore City)	
1.	Total number of exemptions you are claiming from workshe	eet below		1
2.	2. Additional withholding per pay period under agreement with employer			2
3.	I claim exemption from withholding because (see instructions below and check boxes that apply)			
	a. Last year I did not owe any Maryland income tax and had a right to a full refund of all income tax withheld,			
	AND			
	b. This year I do not expect to owe any Maryland income tax and expect to have the right to a full refund of all income tax withheld. (This includes seasonal and student employees whose annual income will be below the minimum filing requirement.)			
	If both a and b apply, enter year applicable	(year effective)	Enter "EXEMPT" here	3
 Certification of Nonresidence in the state of Maryland (see instructions on reverse side.) I ce state of Maryland, and that I do not maintain a place of abode within Maryland. I further certification. 				nent residence is:
	City, town or post office address County	State	Enter "EXEMPT" here	4
cla	nder the penalty of perjury, I further certify that I am entitled to aiming exemption from withholding, that I am entitled to claim apployee's signature	the exempt status on I	ine 3 or line 4, whichever a	pplies.
	iproyee a signature	1	_ Date	
Em	nployer's Name and Address (including zip code) (For employer use	e only)	Employer Identification Number	
		and instructions		
	ne 1	A C and D of the fodo	ral W 4 ar W 4A warkabaat	
	Number of personal exemptions (total exemptions on lines A, C and D of the federal W-4 or W-4A worksheet). Number of additional exemptions for dependents over 65 years of age.			
C.	Number of additional exemptions for estimated itemized deductions, alimony payments, allowable child care expenses, qualified retirement contributions, business losses and employee business expenses for the year.			
D.	Number of additional exemptions for taxpayer and/or spouse at least 65 years of age and/or blind.			
E.	Total - add lines A through D and enter here and on line 1 (Form MW 507).			
	(EMPTIONS FOR DEPENDENTS To qualify as your depende		d to an exemption for the de	ependent on your
				•

federal income tax return for the corresponding taxable year.

ADDITIONAL EXEMPTIONS FOR DEPENDENTS OVER 65 YEARS OF AGE An additional exemption is allowed for dependents who are 65 years of age or older.

ADDITIONAL EXEMPTIONS You may claim additional exemptions for estimated itemized deductions, alimony payments, allowable child care expenses, qualified retirement contributions, business losses and employee business expenses for the year. One additional withholding exemption is permitted for each \$2,400 of estimated itemized deductions or adjustments to income that exceed the standard deduction allowance.

NOTE: Standard deduction allowance is 15% of Maryland adjusted gross income with a minimum of \$1,500 and a maximum of \$2,000 for each taxpayer.

ADDITIONAL EXEMPTIONS FOR TAXPAYER AND/OR SPOUSE An additional \$1,000 may be claimed if the taxpayer and/or spouse is at least 65 years of age and/or blind on the last day of the taxable year.

Line 2

- **ADDITIONAL WITHHOLDING PER PAY PERIOD UNDER AGREEMENT WITH EMPLOYER** If you are not having enough tax withheld, you may ask your employer to withhold more by entering an additional amount on line 2.
- **FEDERAL PRIVACY ACT INFORMATION** Social security numbers must be included. The mandatory disclosure of your social security number is authorized by the provisions set forth in the Tax-General Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland. Such numbers are used primarily to administer and enforce the individual income tax laws and to exchange income tax information with the Internal Revenue Service, other states and other tax officials of this state. Information furnished to other agencies or persons shall be used solely for the purpose of administering tax laws or the specific laws administered by the person having statutory right to obtain it.
- **DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF EMPLOYER** Retain this certificate with your records. You are required to submit a copy of this certificate to the Compliance Division, Compliance Programs Section, 301 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, when received if:
 - 1. You have any reason to believe this certificate is incorrect,
 - 2. the employee claims more than 14 exemptions,
 - 3. employee claims exemptions from withholding because he/she had no tax liability for the preceding tax year, expects to incur no tax liability this year and the wages are expected to exceed \$200 a week or
 - 4. employee claims exemptions from withholding on the basis of nonresidence.
- Upon receipt of any exemption certificate (Form MW 507), the Compliance Division will make a determination and notify you if a change is required.
- Once a certificate is revoked by the comptroller, the employer must send any new certificate from the employee to the comptroller for approval before implementing the new certificate.
- If an employee claims exemption under 3 above, a new exemption certificate must be filed by February 15th of the following year.
- **DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF EMPLOYEE** If, on any day during the calendar year, the number of withholding exemptions which the employee is entitled to claim is less than the number of exemptions claimed on the withholding exemption certificate in effect, the employee shall file a new withholding exemption certificate with the employer within 10 days after the change occurs.

Line 3

- WHO MAY CLAIM EXEMPTION FROM WITHHOLDING OF INCOME TAX You may be entitled to claim an exemption from the withholding of Maryland income tax if:
 - a. last year you did not owe any Maryland income tax and had a right to a full refund of any tax withheld; and
 - b. this year you do not expect to owe any Maryland income tax and expect to have a right to a full refund of all income tax withheld. If you are eligible to claim this exemption, your employer will not withhold Maryland income tax from your wages.
- STUDENTS AND SEASONAL EMPLOYEES whose annual income will be below the minimum filing requirement should claim exemption from withholding. This provides more income throughout the year and avoids the necessity of filing a Maryland income tax return.

Line 4

- **CERTIFICATION OF NONRESIDENCE IN THE STATE OF MARYLAND** This line is to be completed only by persons employed in Maryland who are not domiciled within Maryland, and who do not maintain a place of abode within the state but who are residents of the District of Columbia, Pennsylvania, Virginia or West Virginia.
- Line 4 is *not* to be used by nonresidents working in Maryland who are residents of any state not listed above, because such persons are liable for Maryland income tax, and withholding from their wages is required.
- Generally, line 4 is to be used by those who reside within one of the states listed above and commute to work in Maryland. The maintenance of a place of abode in Maryland for more than six months of the taxable year makes you a statutory resident of Maryland and requires you to file a resident return with Maryland and apply to your domicile state for any tax credit to which you may be entitled under the reciprocal provisions of the law.
- If the status of the employee changes from nonresident to resident during the year, the employee will be subject to Maryland income tax from the date residence was established, and withholding of Maryland income tax will be required of the employer. The employee should notify the employer when such a change of residence takes place.