

National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program

Training the Next Generation – EDMAP

The EDMAP component of the National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program is designed to train tomorrow's geologic mappers. EDMAP was established as a component of the Program by the National Geologic Mapping Act of 1992 (reauthorized 1999), which recognizes the importance of geologic mapping for our nations' well-being, and stipulates that a portion of the funding for the Program should be dedicated to training a new generation of geologic mappers. The EDMAP program is unique among research grant programs in its emphasis on the development of geologic mapping skills and production of new geologic maps.

A faculty supervisor, together with graduate students or upper level undergraduate students, submits a proposal that requests support for mapping projects. Each student is expected to produce a new geologic map at a scale 1:24,000 or larger that covers a 7.5-minute quadrangle or part of a quadrangle. A peer-review panel consisting of university faculty, State Geologists, and USGS representatives determines awards. Projects are funded on a year-by-year basis, and maps are submitted to the Program at the end of each funding year. All Federal funds are matched 1:1 by the universities.

Over 500 students from geoscience departments across the Nation have received EDMAP cooperative grants. The 109 universities listed below have benefited from this program.

Alabama

Auburn University

Alaska

University of Alaska – Fairbanks

Arizona

Arizona State University

Northern Arizona State University

University of Arizona

Arkansas

University of Arkansas

California

California State University – Long Beach California State University - Pomona

California State University - Sacramento

Humboldt State University

San Diego State University

San Francisco State University

San Jose State University

Stanford University

University of California – Davis

University of California – Santa Barbara

University of Southern California

Colorado

Colorado School of Mines Colorado State University

Fort Lewis College

Connecticut

Eastern Connecticut State

District of Columbia

George Washington University

Florida

Florida State University

Idaho

Boise State University Idaho State University University of Idaho

Illinois

Illinois State University Northwestern University Northern Illinois University Southern Illinois University

University of Illinois

Indiana

Indiana University

Contact Information:

Iowa

Simpson College University of Iowa

Kansas

The University of Kansas Wichita State University

Kentucky

Morehead State University The University of Kentucky

Louisiana

Centenary College of Louisiana Louisiana State University University of Louisiana - Monroe University of New Orleans

Maine

Bates College University of Maine University of Southern Maine

Massachusetts

University of Massachusetts

Michigan

Michigan Technological University Michigan State University University of Michigan - Dearborn Wayne State University Western Michigan University

Minnesota

University of Minnesota

Mississippi

University of Mississippi

Missouri

Southeast Missouri State University University of Missouri – Columbia University of Missouri – Kansas City

Montana

Montana State University Montana Technological University University of Montana

Nebraska

University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Nevada

University of Nevada - Reno

New Hampshire

Dartmouth College Keene State College University of New Hampshire

New Mexico

New Mexico Institute of Mining &

Technology

University of New Mexico

New York

Brooklyn College CUNY College of Oneonta SUNY – Albany SUNY – Brockport SUNY – Buffalo New York (cont'd)

Queens College of NY University of Rochester

North Carolina

Appalachian State University

Duke University

North Carolina State University

University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill University of North Carolina – Wilmington

North Dakota

University of North Dakota

Ohio

Kent State University Ohio State University Ohio University University of Cincinnati University of Toledo

Oklahoma

University of Oklahoma

Oregon

Portland State University University of Oregon

Pennsylvania

Lehigh University Pennsylvania State University University of Pittsburgh

Puerto Rico

University of Puerto Rico

South Carolina

Clemson University Coastal Carolina University University of South Carolina

South Dakota

South Dakota School of Mines

Tennessee

University of Tennessee - Knoxville

Texas

Austin State University Texas Tech University

Utah

Brigham Young University Utah State University

Vermont

Middlebury College University of Vermont

Virginia

College of William and Mary Radford University

Washington

Eastern Washington University University of Washington Western Washington University

West Virginia

West Virginia University

Wisconsin

University of Wisconsin – Madison