

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D. C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC. 515 F 2d 385 (D.C. Circ 1974).

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 26, 2004

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT Meribeth McCarrick (202) 418-0654 Meribeth.McCarrick@fcc.gov

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION ANNOUNCES RECHARTER OF MEDIA SECURITY AND RELIABILITY COUNCIL INITIAL MEETING UNDER NEW CHARTER TO BE HELD JUNE 2

The Federal Communications Commission today announced that it has officially rechartered the Media Security and Reliability Council ("MSRC").

The initial meeting of MSRC II will convene on June 2, 2004, from 9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. at the Federal Communications Commission, in the Commission Meeting Room at 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C.

MSRC II is a Federal Advisory Committee that reports to FCC Chairman Michael K. Powell. It is chaired by David J. Barrett, President and Chief Executive Officer of Hearst-Argyle Television, Inc. Chairman Powell initially formed MSRC following the events of September 11, 2001, in order to study, develop and report on best practices designed to assure the optimal reliability, robustness and security of the broadcast and multichannel video programming distribution industries.

The rechartered Council will be comprised of senior representatives of mass media companies, cable television and satellite service providers, trade associations, public safety representatives and other related entities:

Jay Adrick, VP of Strategic Development, Harris Broadcast Communications William F. Baker, President & CEO, Thirteen/WNET
Gary Briese, Executive Director, International Association of Fire Chiefs
Glenn Britt, Chairman & CEO, Time Warner Cable
Peter Brubaker, President & CEO, Susquehanna Communications
Melanie Brunson, Executive Director, American Council of the Blind
Bob Cahill, Vice Chairman, Univision Communications, Inc.
Chase Carey, CEO, The DIRECTV Group, Inc.
Barbara Cochran, President, Radio Television News Directors Association
Robert Decherd, President, Chairman & CEO, Belo Corp.
Lew Dickey, Jr., Chairman & CEO, Cumulus Radio
David Donovan, President, MSTV, Inc.
Michael D. Eisner, Chairman & CEO, Walt Disney Company

Charles Ergen, Chairman & CEO, EchoStar Communications Corp.

Dennis J. FitzSimons, Chairman, President & CEO, Tribune Company

Edward O. Fritts, President & CEO, National Association of Broadcasters

Jack Gates, President & COO, National Captioning Institute

Rudolph Giuliani, Chairman & CEO, Giuliani Partners, LLC

Cheryl Heppner, Executive Director, Northern Virginia Resource Center for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Persons

Catherine L. Hughes, Chair, Radio One, Inc.

Mel Karmazin, President & COO, Viacom, Inc.

Jim Kennedy, Chairman & CEO, Cox Enterprises, Inc.

Kevin Klose, President & CEO, National Public Radio

John Lawson, President & CEO, Association of Public Television Stations

Frank Libutti, Under Secretary for Information Analysis and Infrastructure Protection, Department of Homeland Security

L. Lowry Mays, CEO, Clear Channel Communications, Inc.

Harlin R. McEwen, Chief (Ret.), International Association of Chiefs of Police

Kevin McGinnis, Program Advisor, National Association of State EMS Directors

Kevin Mulloy, President, Intelsat Global Service Corporation

K. Rupert Murdoch, Chairman & CEO, News Corp.

Dean Olmstead, President & CEO, SES Americom, Inc.

Marshall Pagon, President & CEO, Pegasus Communications Corp.

Hugh Panero, President & CEO, XM Satellite Radio, Inc.

Brian L. Roberts, President, Comcast Corporation

Sharon Percy Rockefeller, President & CEO, WETA

Robert Sachs, President & CEO, National Cable and Telecommunications Association

Rick Sellers, President & General Manager, Sellers Broadcasting, Inc.

Byron St. Clair, President, National Translator Association

Jim Taiclet, President & CEO, American Tower Corporation

Jim Williams, Vice President of Broadcast Services, Associated Press

Joseph R. Wright, Jr., President & CEO, PanAmSat Corporation

Robert C. Wright, Chairman & CEO, NBC Universal

Meeting Details:

Members of the general public may attend the meeting. The FCC will attempt to accommodate as many people as possible. Real Audio and streaming video access to the meeting will be available at http://www.fcc.gov/. The public may submit written comments before the meeting to Barbara Kreisman, the Commission's Designated Federal Officer for MSRC II.

The meeting site is fully accessible to people using wheelchairs or other mobility aids. Meeting agendas will be provided in accessible formats; sign language interpreters, open captioning, and assistive listening devices will be provided on site. Request other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities as early as possible; please allow at least five days advance notice. Include a description of the accommodation you will need including as much

detail as you can. Also include a way we can contact you if we need more information. Last minute requests will be accepted, but may be impossible to fill. Send an e-mail to: fcc504@fcc.gov or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (tty).

-FCC-

Media Bureau contacts: Barbara Kreisman (202) 418-1605

Susan Mort (202) 418-1043