The staff of the President facilitates and maintains communication with the Congress, the individual Members of the Congress, the heads of executive agencies, the press and other information media, and the general public.

The various Assistants to the President assist the President in such matters as he may direct.

Office of the Vice President of the United States

Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20501 Phone, 202–456–2326

Assistant to the President, Chief of Staff to the
Vice President, and Assistant to the Vice
President for National Security Affairs

I. LEWIS LIBBY

Assistant to the President and Counselor to the Mary J. Matalin Vice President

Counsel to the Vice President

Principal Deputy Assistant to the Vice

DAVID ADDINGTON

ERIC EDELMAN

President for National Security Affairs

Deputy Chief of Staff to the Vice President

Assistant to the Vice President for Legislative

Affairs

C. DEAN MCGRATH

NANCY DORN

Assistant to the Vice President for Domestic CESAR CONDA

Policy

Executive Director of the National Energy ANDREW LUNDQUIST Policy Development Group

Executive Assistant to the Vice President

Deputy Assistant to the Vice President for CLAIRE O'DONNELL

Operations
Assistant to the Vice President and Chief of
DEBRA DUNN

Staff to Mrs. Cheney
Deputy Assistant to the Vice President for ELIZABETH KLEPPE

Scheduling

Director of Correspondence for the Vice CECELIA BOYER
President

The Office of the Vice President serves the Vice President in the performance of the many detailed activities incident to his immediate office.

Council of Economic Advisers

Old Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20502 Phone, 202–395–5084. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/WH/EOP/CEA/html/CEA.html.

Chairman R. Glenn Hubbard
Members Mark B. McClellan, Randall S.
Kroszner

Chief of Staff DIANA FURCHTGOTT-ROTH

The Council of Economic Advisers primarily performs an analysis and appraisal of the national economy for the purpose of providing policy recommendations to the President.

The Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) was established in the Executive Office of the President by the Employment Act of 1946 (15 U.S.C. 1023). It now functions under that statute and Reorganization Plan No. 9 of 1953 (5 U.S.C. app.), effective August 1, 1953.

The Council consists of three members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. One of the members is designated by the President as Chairman.

The Council analyzes the national economy and its various segments; advises the President on economic developments; appraises the economic programs and policies of the Federal Government; recommends to the President policies for economic growth and stability; assists in the preparation of the economic reports of the President to the Congress; and prepares the Annual Report of the Council of Economic Advisers.

For further information, contact the Council of Economic Advisers, Room 60, Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20502. Phone, 202-395-5084. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/WH/EOP/CEA/ html/CEA.html.

Council on Environmental Quality

722 Jackson Place NW., Washington, DC 20503 Phone, 202-395-5750 or 202-456-6224. Fax, 202-456-2710. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/

Chair Chief of Staff General Counsel Deputy General Counsel Senior Associate Director Associate Director for Communications

Associate Director for Energy and **Transportation**

Associate Director for Legislative Affairs Associate Director for Natural Resources Associate Director for NEPA Oversight Associate Director for Oceans, Coasts, and

Environmental Policy Associate Director for Toxics and **Environmental Protection**

JAMES CONNAUGHTON

PHILIP COONEY Dinah Bear TED BOLING JOHN HOWARD SAM THERNSTROM Virginia Stephens

DAVID ANDERSON WILLIAM LEARY HORST GRECZMIEL **ELLEN ATHAS**

ELIZABETH STOLPE

The Council on Environmental Quality formulates and recommends national policies to promote the improvement of the quality of the environment.

The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) was established within the Executive Office of the President by the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (NEPA) (42 U.S.C. 4321 et seq.).

The Environmental Quality Improvement Act of 1970 (42 U.S.C. 4371 et seq.) established the Office of Environmental Quality (OEQ) to provide professional and administrative support for the