Council. The Council and OEQ are collectively referred to as the Council on Environmental Quality, and the CEQ Chair, who is appointed by the President, serves as the Director of OEQ.

The Council develops policies which bring into productive harmony the Nation's social, economic, and environmental priorities, with the goal of improving the quality of Federal decisionmaking. As required by NEPA, CEQ evaluates, coordinates, and mediates Federal activities; advises and assists the President on both national and international environmental policy matters; and prepares the President's annual environmental quality report to Congress. In addition, it oversees Federal agency and department implementation of NEPA.

For further information, contact the Information Office, Council on Environmental Quality, 722 Jackson Place NW., Washington, DC 20503. Phone, 202–395–5750. Fax, 202–456–2710. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/ceq.

National Security Council

Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20504 Phone, 202–456–1414

Members:

The President GEORGE W. BUSH
The Vice President DICK CHENEY
The Secretary of State COLIN L. POWELL
The Secretary of Defense DONALD H. RUMSFELD

Statutory Advisers:

Director of Central Intelligence

Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff Gen. RICHARD B. MYERS, USAF

Standing Participants:

The Secretary of the Treasury
U.S. Representative to the United Nations
Chief of Staff to the President
ANDREW H. CARD, JR.
Assistant to the President for National Security

PAUL H. O'NEILL
JOHN D. NEGROPONTE
ANDREW H. CARD, JR.
CONDOLEEZZA RICE

Affairs

Assistant to the President for Economic Policy

Officials:

Assistant to the President for National Security
Affairs

Assistant to the President for National Security
Affairs and Deputy National Security

Adviser

Executive Secretary

GEORGE J. TENET

Condoleezza Rice

STEVEN HADLEY

LARRY LINDSEY

Steve Biegun

The National Security Council was established by the National Security Act of 1947, as amended (50 U.S.C. 402). The Council was placed in the Executive Office of the President by Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1949 (5 U.S.C. app.).

The National Security Council is chaired by the President. Its statutory members, in addition to the President, are the Vice President and the Secretaries of State and Defense. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff is

the statutory military adviser to the Council, and the Director of Central Intelligence is its intelligence adviser. The Secretary of the Treasury, the U.S. Representative to the United Nations, the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, the Assistant to the President for Economic Policy, and the Chief of Staff to the President are invited to all meetings of the Council. The Attorney General and the Director of

National Drug Control Policy are invited to attend meetings pertaining to their jurisdictions; other officials are invited, as appropriate.

The Council advises and assists the President in integrating all aspects of national security policy as it affects the United States—domestic, foreign, military, intelligence, and economic—in conjunction with the National Economic Council.

For further information, contact the National Security Council, Old Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20504. Phone, 202-456-1414.

Office of Administration

Eisenhower Executive Office Building 725 Seventeenth Street NW., Washington, DC 20503 Phone, 202–456–2891

Special Assistant to the President and Director of the Office of Administration

Associate Director for Equal Employment Opportunity

Associate Director for Operations and

Legislative Liaison Associate Director for Security

Director, Management Controls and Communication

General Counsel Chief Financial Officer

Associate Director for Financial Management Chief Information Officer

Associate Director for Information Systems and Technology

Deputy Director for Management and Operations

Associate Director for Facilities Management Associate Director for General Services Associate Director for Human Resources Management

Associate Director for Library and Research Services PHILLIP D. LARSEN

CAFFIN GORDON

JOYCE A. LARKIN

CHARLES C. EASLEY DANIEL FAORO

(VACANCY) (VACANCY) JAMES DANIEL (VACANCY) LEANNA F. TERRELL

STACIA L. CROPPER

Larry E. Handeland Kenneth K. Hembree Matilde Shallenberger

MARY ANN NOWELL

The Office of Administration was formally established within the Executive Office of the President by Executive Order 12028 of December 12, 1977. The Office provides administrative support services to all units within the Executive

Office of the President. The services provided include information, personnel, technology, and financial management; data processing; library and research services; security; legislative liaisons; and general office operations, such as mail,