

October 4, 2004 Contact: Mary Apple, 406-896-5258

Secretary Norton Announces Appointments to BLM Resource Advisory Councils

Interior Secretary Gale Norton has appointed 15 members to Montana's three citizen-based Resource Advisory Councils, which advise the Bureau of Land Management on public land issues.

"We value the input that the Montana Resource Advisory Councils provide in helping the BLM manage America's public lands," Norton said. "I welcome our new and reappointed members, thank them for their commitment, and look forward to their counsel as we work to improve the health and productivity of the public lands."

The BLM's Resource Advisory Councils (RACs), composed of citizens chosen for their expertise in natural resource issues, help the agency carry out its stewardship of 261 million acres of public lands. The BLM, which manages more land than any other federal agency, has 24 RACs across the West, where most BLM-managed land is located.

BLM Director Kathleen Clarke said, "RAC members bring a wealth of experience and a wide range of perspectives to each of our councils. This diversity results in a balanced outlook that the BLM needs for its mission, which is to manage the public lands for multiple uses." The BLM, an agency of the Department of the Interior, is responsible for managing these various uses – such as outdoor recreation, livestock grazing, mineral development, and energy production – while conserving the land's natural, historical, and cultural resources.

Below are the new and reappointed members of Montana's three RACs. Information about upcoming RAC meetings will be announced as soon as it becomes available.

Western Montana Resource Advisory Council

Joyce Thompson, off-highway vehicle use (new) Ben Deeble, environmental (reappointment) Susan Lenard, environmental (reappointment) Garry Williams, state natural resources (reappointment) Patrick Flowers, state natural resources (reappointment)

--more--

Central Montana Resource Advisory Council

Terry Selph, commercial recreation (new) William Cunningham, environmental (reappointment) Ron Moody, environmental (new) Charles Floyd, public-at-large (reappointment) Tony Bynum, Native American tribes (new)

Eastern Montana Resource Advisory Council

Larry Pilster, federal grazing (new) John Gibson, environmental (reappointment) Gerald Reichert, environmental (new) Neta Old Elk, Native American tribes (reappointment) Kent Williams, academia (new)

###