
Message From
the Director
Over the past three decades, the

criminal justice field has witnessed an
astounding proliferation of statutory
enhancements benefiting people who
are most directly and intimately affect-
ed by crime. As of 2000, all states had
passed some form of legislation to ben-
efit victims. In addition, 32 states have
recognized the supreme importance of
fundamental and express rights for
crime victims by raising those protec-
tions to the constitutional level.

Of course, the nature, scope, and en-
forcement of victims’ rights vary from
state to state, and it is a complex and
often frustrating matter for victims to
determine what those rights mean for
them.To help victims, victim advocates,
and victim service providers under-
stand the relevance of the myriad laws
and constitutional guarantees, the
Office for Victims of Crime awarded
funding to the National Center for
Victims of Crime to produce a series
of bulletins addressing salient legal is-
sues affecting crime victims.

Restitution: Making It Work, the fifth in
the series, provides an overview of
state legislation and current issues  
related to the collection of court-
ordered restitution to crime victims.
Although every state has enacted leg-
islation on this issue, many crime vic-
tims who are awarded restitution
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Introduction

M any crime victims are awarded restitution at the sentencing of an offender but
fail to receive any money. Others are paid only a small portion of the restitution
ordered. A recent study of restitution collection in Colorado found that convict-

ed offenders ordered to pay their victims more than $26 million in 1996 still owe more
than $20 million.1 Even though many restitution orders will never be fully paid, states
are taking various legislative approaches to improve the collection of restitution.

Status of the Law

A ll states have statutory provisions relating to the collection of restitution. States
have addressed this issue by laying the groundwork for collecting restitution at
sentencing and enforcing restitution orders during the payment period.

Laying the Groundwork for Collecting
Restitution

C ourts can take many steps well before collection efforts begin that may make en-
forcing restitution orders much easier. The sentencing court can lay the ground-
work for collecting restitution by thoroughly investigating the assets of convicted

offenders, preserving those assets, and routinely entering income deduction orders.

Investigating the Assets of Convicted Offenders

Many states have attempted to improve the collection of restitution by providing for
a thorough investigation of the assets of convicted offenders, either before or after
restitution is ordered. (Statutory approaches to such investigations are addressed in
Ordering Restitution to the Crime Victim, the sixth bulletin in this Legal Series.) A com-
plete investigation of a defendant’s assets can help the court craft a workable payment
plan, which should decrease the likelihood of default. If the defendant later defaults
on any payments, the court can use this information to help determine whether the fail-
ure to pay restitution is willful.
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Entering Income Deduction Orders

The routine entry of income deduction orders—or garnishment
orders—can streamline the process of collecting restitution.
California and Florida both provide for automatic entry of an  
income deduction order at the time restitution is ordered. In
California, this order is enforceable only when a defendant de-
faults on restitution payments, but in Florida, the order is effec-
tive immediately.7

Enforcing Restitution Orders

S tates have enacted various provisions to enforce the collec-
tion of restitution orders when a defendant defaults in pay-
ment. These provisions are described below.

Improved Monitoring of Restitution Payments

A first step in any effort to improve the collection of restitution
must be a system for monitoring a defendant’s compliance with
the restitution order. Wisconsin requires its Department of Jus-
tice to establish a separate account for each person in custody or
under supervision who has been ordered to make restitution. The
court is to order a 5 percent surcharge to support the administra-
tive expenses that result from such a system.8 In New Jersey, the
Victims of Crime Compensation Board is charged with develop-
ing a system to track and dispense restitution and other offender
payments,9 financed by a $3 offender assessment deposited into
the Criminal Disposition and Revenue Collection Fund.10

In Michigan, the probation or parole officer is required to review,
twice a year, every case in which restitution was ordered to en-
sure that payments are being made as ordered.11 The officer must
also perform a final review at least 60 days before the expiration
of an offender’s probation or parole. If an offender is not paying
restitution, the officer must file a written report with the court.
Similarly, in Utah, the Corrections Department is responsible for
collecting restitution and must file a violation report with the
court if a defendant fails to pay.12

Accurate information regarding payment must be shared be-
tween agencies that play a role in collecting restitution. In
Iowa, for example, if probation is revoked for failure to pay
restitution, the probation department is to forward the restitu-
tion plan, payment balance, and other pertinent information
to the corrections department.13 In Massachusetts, when an 
offender is ordered to pay restitution to a victim, “the victim has
the right to receive . . . a copy of the schedule of restitution pay-
ments and the name and telephone number of the probation  
officer . . . responsible for supervising the defendant’s payments.”14

never receive any money or receive only a small portion of
what the court has ordered the defendant to pay.This bulletin
and the others in the Legal Series highlight various circum-
stances in which relevant laws are applied, emphasizing their suc-
cessful implementation.

We hope that victims, victim advocates, victim service providers,
criminal justice professionals, and policymakers in states across
the Nation will find the bulletins in this series helpful in making
sense of the criminal justice process and in identifying areas in
which rights could be strengthened or more clearly defined.We
encourage you to use these bulletins not simply as informational
resources but as tools to support victims in their involvement
with the criminal justice system.

John W. Gillis
Director

A list of a defendant’s assets also can assist the victim or other
entities in their collection efforts. In California, a victim is enti-
tled to see a defendant’s disclosures identifying all assets, income,
and liabilities or certain other documents concerning financial
information.2 Until all restitution is paid, Kansas gives a crime
victim the right to any information regarding the offender’s fi-
nancial assets, income, or employment that is in the possession of
the district court, parole board, or any community correctional
service program.3

Preserving the Assets of Convicted Offenders

In some cases, defendants may conceal assets or may even waste
assets in an attempt to avoid paying restitution. Pennsylvania 
allows the prosecutor to seek a restraining order or injunction
when the criminal complaint is filed or the offender is indicted to
preserve assets that may be used later to pay restitution. Before
entering such an order, the court must hold a hearing to find a
substantial probability that the commonwealth will prevail in the
action, the restitution order will exceed $10,000, the property to
be preserved appears necessary to satisfy any restitution order, and
the failure to enter the restraining order or injunction will result
in the property being made unavailable.4 Under certain circum-
stances, a temporary emergency restraining order can be issued
“without notice or opportunity for a hearing, whether or not a
complaint, information, indictment[,] or petition alleging delin-
quency has been filed.”5

California takes another approach. By state law, it is a separate
offense to dispose of property to avoid paying restitution;6 the of-
fense is usually a misdemeanor but may be a felony.
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Often, statutes prioritize how an inmate’s work program wages
should be allocated to pay any restitution and other payments
an inmate is required to make. For example, Louisiana law pro-
vides that wages from its prison industries program will be paid
in the following order: (1) federal and state taxes and Social
Security deductions, (2) 30 percent of the remainder after tax
and Social Security deductions to the victims of crimes com-
mitted by the offender to the extent of their loss and thereafter
to any state compensation fund, (3) 20 percent of the remain-
der after tax and Social Security deductions to the Department
of Corrections, and (4) 40 percent of the remainder after tax and
Social Security deductions to the inmate’s spouse and children. If
an inmate has no spouse or children, this portion shall be paid to
any victims of crimes committed by the offender to the extent of
their loss and thereafter to any state compensation fund. The
amount remaining is deposited into the inmate’s personal fund.31

Revoking Probation or Parole

States generally provide that probation or parole may be revoked
for failure to pay restitution. The offender’s failure must be will-
ful. Because this can be hard to prove, the remedy is not widely
invoked. However, in some cases, courts were able to determine
that a defendant’s failure to pay was intentional. For example, in
one case in Illinois, a defendant had accepted a plea agreement
under which he was to pay $5 a month. When he did not make
the first $5 payment, the court found that his failure to pay was
willful because he had given every indication that he was able to
pay that amount. Such willful failure to pay was sufficient to re-
voke the defendant’s conditional discharge.32

A California defendant had her probation revoked after she had
been given numerous chances to pay restitution and had lied to
the court regarding a loan application for money to pay restitu-
tion. In sentencing the defendant to prison, the trial court judge
noted the defendant was not put in prison “for nonpayment of a
debt. That’s against our constitution. But this defendant is totally
failing to comply with the orders of the court.”33 The appellate
court upheld the trial court judge’s ruling.

Extending Probation or Parole

Some states permit the extension of probation or parole when
restitution remains unpaid at the time supervision is to expire.
Because restitution is a sentencing condition, extending a
defendant’s probation or parole enables the criminal justice 
system to exercise continued jurisdiction over that sentence.

Arkansas law provides that if a defendant fails to make all res-
titution payments at the time probation ends, the court has au-
thority to continue and extend probation.34 Under Arizona law,

Single System for Collecting Restitution and Other
Court-Ordered Payments

Some states have attempted to improve the collection of restitu-
tion and other court-ordered payments—such as court fees—
through a single system. Washington was an early leader in this
area, devising a system for collecting an offender’s legal financial
obligation that combines into one debt the restitution, statutorily
imposed crime victim compensation fees, court costs, court-
appointed attorney fees, and other costs assessed by the court
against an offender.15 When moneys are collected from the of-
fender for the legal financial obligation, restitution is to be paid
first.16 Other states, including Alabama and New Jersey, also 
address collecting such costs through a single entity.17

Attachment of State Payments to the Defendant

Some states allow by statute various state payments, which ordi-
narily would first go to the defendant, to be used to satisfy resti-
tution orders. For example, Maryland and Wisconsin laws allow a
defendant’s lottery prize to be used to pay restitution.18 Iowa re-
quires that any witness fees paid to an inmate be applied toward
restitution.19 In Tennessee, 15 percent of the amount raised by
the sale of inmate arts and crafts must be applied to restitution.20

Several states provide that whenever a prisoner is awarded dam-
ages in a civil suit, the award must be used to pay restitution.21

In Montana, any time a prisoner accumulates more than $200
in his or her prison inmate trust account, the excess is forfeited
and used to pay any outstanding restitution.22 Similarly, Iowa
law requires its director of corrections to deduct restitution pay-
ments, according to the inmate’s restitution plan, from the in-
mate’s account, which consists of money received by the inmate
from any source.23

In some states, a defendant’s bond may be used to satisfy a resti-
tution order.24 Under an Illinois appellate court ruling, courts
may order that bond proceeds be applied to restitution even
when someone other than the defendant provided the money.25

Wages From Prison Work Programs

By law, many prison work programs must direct a portion of the
offender’s wages to the payment of restitution.26 Some statutes
apply only to programs within the prison,27 others to programs
run by private industry using prison labor,28 and still others to
work-release programs.29 Because California law requires a 
deduction from prison wages for the payment of restitution, a
California appellate court has ruled that trial courts may pre-
sume the payment of restitution from prison wages unless evi-
dence shows that a defendant would be ineligible.30
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probation may be extended up to 3 additional years for a felony
and 1 year for a misdemeanor to allow an offender time to satisfy
the requirements of a restitution order.35 In Kentucky, parole is to
be extended until restitution is paid in full.36

In contrast, Washington provides for continuing jurisdiction as
long as restitution remains outstanding; there is no need to
specifically extend supervision.

Using State Entities or Private Collection Agencies
To Collect Restitution

Several states have amended their laws to allow restitution or-
ders, particularly orders in default, to be referred to private col-
lection agencies. Some states add the collection fee to the
amount due from the defendant, and others deduct this fee from
the amount paid by the defendant.37 Under Alabama law, district
attorneys are authorized to establish special restitution recovery
divisions. On written notification that a defendant has defaulted
in payment of restitution, the division may collect or enforce
such orders. A collection fee of 30 percent of the outstanding
amount is added to the debt.38 The district attorney’s office is au-
thorized to retain 75 percent of that collection fee, with the re-
maining 25 percent to be used by the circuit court for operating
expenses. The district attorney’s office is authorized to contract
with a private collection agency to collect outstanding debts.39

Kansas has taken a different approach to restitution collection.
Under Kansas law, the attorney general is authorized to contract
with certain entities to collect restitution and other court costs.
The list of approved collection agencies is then published for use
by courts and victims. Collection entities receive a fee of up to
33 percent of the amount collected, which is to be deducted
from, not added to, the amount owed by the defendant.40 Mean-
while, at least three states—California, Iowa, and Virginia—
allow the restitution debt to be referred to the state taxation
authorities for collection.41

Converting Restitution Orders to Civil Judgments

Most states allow restitution orders to be converted to civil judg-
ments, especially when restitution remains unpaid at the end of
the defendant’s probation or parole. In some states, a restitution
order is automatically entered as a civil judgment,42 whereas in
others, the victim is authorized to have an order entered as a
civil judgment.43 Kansas places an additional burden on the vic-
tim, requiring the victim to pay court costs for entering such a
judgment.44 In some states, the conversion to a civil judgment
happens immediately;45 in others, the conversion or entry takes
place only when a defendant defaults on the payment.46

Current Issues
Lack of Data

Data are generally lacking on the amount of restitution ordered
and collected. In the few states that have data on the gross
amount of restitution collected, insufficient information is avail-
able on the percentage of restitution collected. Until the infor-
mation is available, states will continue to be hampered in their
efforts to improve restitution collection.

Victim Enforcement of Restitution Orders
Converted to Civil Judgments

As noted, most states provide for unpaid restitution orders to be
converted to and enforced as civil judgments. However, few
crime victims understand the means available to enforce such
judgments. The California Victim Compensation and Govern-
ment Claims Board, formerly the California State Board of
Control, has attempted to address the problem by developing a
simple brochure for crime victims. The brochure describes pro-
cedures for converting a restitution order to a civil judgment
and investigating the assets of the defendant.47

Conclusion

S tate legislatures and criminal justice experts alike have
recognized that holding a convicted offender financially re-
sponsible for the harm caused by the crime is a proper crim-

inal sanction. They also recognize the importance of restitution
in promoting the recovery of the crime victim. However, until
the process of collecting restitution improves, these twin benefits
cannot be fully realized. This process must begin before the resti-
tution is ordered, with a thorough investigation of the defend-
ant’s assets and earning abilities and the court’s ability to preserve
those assets when necessary. At the same time, a state must have
a system in place to monitor compliance with restitution orders
and the means to enforce the orders. With increased focus on all
aspects of collection, states have the potential to make restitution
orders far more meaningful.
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About This Series
OVC Legal Series bulletins are designed to inform victim advocates
and victim service providers about various legal issues relating to
crime victims.The series is not meant to provide an exhaustive
legal analysis of the topics presented; rather, it provides a digest of
issues for professionals who work with victims of crime.

Each bulletin summarizes—

■ Existing legislation.

■ Important court decisions in cases where courts have 
addressed the issues.

■ Current trends or “hot topics” relating to each legal 
issue.
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