This web site was copied prior to January 20, 2005. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration. External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Learn more.   [hide]
FTC: For the Consumer

Federal Trade Commission
90TH Anniversary Symposium
September 22-23, 2004

601 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20001

90th Anniversary Symposium - Event Program [PDF 288K]

Symposium Pre-Registration Form [PDF187K]

Order Dinner Tickets Through the ABA

Schedule and Agenda

Wednesday, September 22, 2004
8:30 a.m. Registration
9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.
Judith Bailey
Opening Remarks
Chairman Deborah Platt Majoras
9:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

"The First 90 Years: Promise and Performance"

Ernest Gellhorn
William E. Kovacic
Marc Winerman
Edward Cox
Jesse Markham
11:15 a.m. 12:30 p.m.

"Kids, Calls, and Cigarettes: Successful - and Not So Successful - Consumer Protection Initiatives"

Lydia B. Parnes and C. Lee Peeler
Teresa Schwartz
William MacLeod
Sidney Milkis
Jodie Bernstein
Commissioner Orson Swindle
12:45p.m. - 1:45 p.m.

Lunch Program: "A Conversation with Tim Muris and Bob Pitofsky"

Robert Pitofsky
Timothy J. Muris
Calvin J. Collier
2:00 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.

"Price Discrimination, Professions, Joint Ventures, and Exclusionary Conduct: From Protecting Competitors to Protecting Competition."

Alden F. Abbott
John L. Peterman
Kathryn M. Fenton
John Kwoka
Kenneth G. Elzinga
Jonathan B. Baker
Susan A. Creighton
3:30 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.

"Under One Umbrella: Integrating the Competition and Consumer Protection Missions"

Neil W. Averitt
Caswell O. Hobbs
Robert H. Lande
Robert Skitol
Mary Lou Steptoe
Commissioner Thomas B. Leary
6:00 p.m.

Reception and Dinner (7:00 p.m.) In Honor of the FTC's 90th Anniversary

Organized by:

FTC Alumni Society and ABA Section of Antitrust Law


JW Marriott Hotel
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC

Keynote Speaker:
Honorable Richard A. Posner,
Judge, United States Court of Appeals (7th Circuit)

(Dinner is a ticketed event)

Thursday, September 23, 2004
8:30 a.m. Registration
9:00 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.

"Injunctions, Divestiture, and Disgorgement: The Evolution of FTC Remedies"

John D. Graubert
David M. FitzGerald
Claudia R. Higgins
David Balto
Ann B. Malester
Melvin H. Orlans
10:30 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.

"Beyond Litigation: Studies, Guidelines, and Policy Statements"

Maureen K. Ohlhausen

Robert Atkinson
Howard Beales
Hillary Greene
William J. Baer
Commissioner Jon Leibowitz

12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Lunch Program: "Economics Comes of Age at the FTC"

Jonathan B. Baker
David Scheffman
Luke Froeb
1:15 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.

"The FTC and Other Government Agencies: Conflict and Cooperation"

Paul A. Pautler
Todd J. Zywicki [PDF 75K]
John Delacourt [PDF 49K]
Thomas Krattenmaker [PDF 23K]
Pauline M. Ippolito
Commissioner Pamela Jones Harbour
2:45 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

"Competition and Consumer Protection in the World Economy: Conflict, Cooperation and Convergence"

Hugh G. Stevenson
Randolph W. Tritell
Terry Calvani [PDF 187K]
Allan Fels [PDF 203K]
David Gerber
Mozelle W. Thompson
4:00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. Symposium Wrap-Up: "90 Years and Two Days in 45 Minutes: What Did We Learn?" Stephen Calkins

Get Acrobat Reader

Last Updated: Friday, October 22, 2004