



Issue 301

19 January 2001





We're on the web at www.ar.navy.mil

Dr. Buchanan Recognizes Navy R-TOC Pilot **Programs and PAV SMEs**

The Department of the Navy Total Ownership Cost Reduction (R-TOC) Pilot Programs and Navy Program Assist Visits (PAVs) Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) were honored at an award ceremony on Friday, January 12, 2001 in the Pentagon. The award ceremony was held to recognize their hard work and outstanding contributions toward Total Ownership Cost reduction and acquisition program support.

Dr. H. Lee Buchanan, the Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research, Development, and Acquisition (ASN(RD&A)), commenced the ceremony. The Assistant Secretary recognized the efforts of both groups for enabling a cost reduction concept that began in 1994 to be transformed into reality, and for providing expert assistance to acquisition programs. Over sixty attendees participated in the ceremony.

Each R-TOC program received a plaque from ASN(RD&A) as Ms. Eileen Roberson, the Navy Acquisition Reform Executive, publicly read a letter signed by Dr. Buchanan. Each Pilot Program was recognized for volunteering for this Congressional mandated approach, and for investigating and implementing new cost reduction strategies with minimum help or resources. The result of Pilot Program efforts has improved reliability and maintainability, reduced supply chain response times, and streamlined product support. The efforts have yielded a projected cost avoidance of over \$599M by Fiscal Year (FY) 2005 and a collective Operating and Support (O&S) reduction of 20% by FY 05 as required in the FY2001-2005 Defense Planning Guidance. Time spent on this vital effort will pay large dividends in the future with reduced total ownership costs, improved warfighter readiness, and potential resources for much-needed modernization.

R-TOC Programs recognized include: The Aviation Support Equipment (ASE) Program (PMA 260); EA-6B Weapon System Program (PMA 234); The Multi-Mission Helicopter Program (PMA 299); Standoff Missile Systems Program (PMA 258); The CVN-68 Class Aircraft Carrier Program (PMS 312H); The Common Ship Program (SEA 05N); The CG 47 AEGIS Cruiser Program (PMS 400F); The LPD 17 Program (PMS 317); The USMC Advanced Amphibious Assault Vehicle (AAAV) Program; and The Medium Tactical Vehicle Replacement (MTRV) Program.



The ceremony continued with the recognition of SMEs who supported Navy PAVs. The PAV is a new and innovative ASN(RD&A) outreach strategy that is based on a win-win partnering approach using primarily organic resources. PAVs are similar to Tiger Teams; they bring together a team of experts at the request of a program office or PEO to meet specific program needs. All PAVs are conducted on a non-attribution basis. The strategy has proven to be successful, having resulted in established relationships with 15 program offices in all acquisition phases. This success is largely due to the SMEs who volunteered to participate in the PAV program.

SMEs are recognized experts in their field. They are leaders in acquisition reform- advocates of change who possess a broad, in-depth knowledge and experience of weapon system acquisition, and have the ability and willingness to communicate knowledge to program managers and Integrated Product Teams. Thirty-eight SMEs, organized into five functional areas, were recognized at the ceremony. The functional areas include: Program Assist Visit Program Management; Reliability & Maintainability and Manufacturing Risk Assessment; Software Risk Assessment; Program Management Processes; and Commercial Weapon System Life Cycle Support. Dr. Buchanan presented a Certificate and Letter of Appreciation during the ceremony while RADM Jenkins, Director of the ASN(RD&A) Acquisition Business Management (ABM) Office, read the letter signed by Dr. Buchanan.

SME recipients recognized include: Mary E. Lawson-Hines; Jack Cameron; Roger Goodson; Robert Southerland; Jim Stein; Les Tripp; Deborah Aceto-Milton; Ulrich Grothues; Toshio Oishi; Douglas Patterson; Hank Hinkle; Robert Wilhelm; Andrew Monje; Dennis Rozanksi; Peter Pandolfini; Mike Evans; Jenna Noble; Willie Miller; Lillian Zelinski; Paul Kirsch; Christopher Stoddard; Gerald Miller; Joan Johnson; Timothy Mundie; Willie Jones; Michael McDonald; Peter Braxton; T J Junor; Dick Coleman; Mike Skratulia; Sara Jane Haehl; Kathleen Fernandes; Katharine Carney; Barbara J. Klaiber; Scott R. Thon; Michele M. Burk; Paula K. Battistoni; and Lawrence Milan.

The ceremony, which was followed by a light reception, marked a milestone in the Total Ownership Cost reduction effort. The hard work and dedication recognized will provide long lasting benefit to the Department of the Navy. The Navy Acquisition Reform Office extends its warm congratulations to the R-TOC Pilot Programs and SMEs for a job well done.

