National Science Board

WARREN M. WASHINGTON (*Chairman*), Senior Scientist and Head, Climate Change Research Section, National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)

DIANA S. NATALICIO (Vice Chair), President, The University of Texas at El Paso

BARRY C. BARISH Linde Professor of Physics and Director, LIGO Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

STEVEN C. BEERING President Emeritus, Purdue University

RAY M. BOWEN President Emeritus, Texas A&M University

DELORES M. ETTER ONR Distinguished Chair in S&T, Electrical Engineering Department, U.S. Naval Academy

NINA V. FEDOROFF Willaman Professor of Life Sciences, Director, Life Sciences Consortium and Director, Biotechnology Institute, The Pennsylvania State University

PAMELA A. FERGUSON Professor and Former President, Grinnell College

KENNETH M. FORD Director, Institute for the Interdisciplinary Study of Human and Machine Cognition, University of West Florida

DANIEL HASTINGS Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics and Co-Director, Technology and Policy Program, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

ELIZABETH HOFFMAN President, University of Colorado System

ANITA K. JONES University Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Virginia

GEORGE M. LANGFORD Professor, Department of Biological Science, Dartmouth College JANE LUBCHENCO

Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology and Distinguished Professor of Zoology, Oregon State University, Corvallis

JOSEPH A. MILLER, JR. Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Corning, Inc.

DOUGLAS D. RANDALL Professor of Biochemistry and Director, Interdisciplinary Plant Group, University of Missouri– Columbia

ROBERT C. RICHARDSON Vice Provost for Research and Professor of Physics, Department of Physics, Cornell University

MICHAEL G. ROSSMANN Hanley Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences, Department of Biological Sciences, Purdue University

MAXINE SAVITZ General Manager, Technology Partnerships, Honeywell (Retired)

LUIS SEQUEIRA J.C. Walker Professor Emeritus, Departments of Bacteriology and Plant Pathology, University of Wisconsin, Madison

DANIEL SIMBERLOFF Nancy Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Science, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Tennessee

JO ANNE VASQUEZ Educational Science Consultant, Gilbert, Arizona

JOHN A. WHITE, JR. Chancellor, University of Arkansas

MARK S. WRIGHTON Chancellor, Washington University in St. Louis

RITA R. COLWELL Member Ex Officio and Chair, Executive Committee, Director, National Science Foundation

MICHAEL P. CROSBY Executive Officer

National Science Board Subcommittee on Science and Engineering Indicators

Robert C. Richardson, Chair Maxine Savitz Daniel Simberloff John A. White, Jr. George M Langford, Ex Officio, Chair, Committee on Education and Human Resources Mary Poats, Executive Secretary (former) Cathy Hines, Executive Secretary Norman M. Bradburn, NSF Liaison