Date: August 21, 2002

To: File

From: Assistant Director for Geosciences

Subject: Selection of ATM/UARS COV Members

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in a large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who are able to provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF. Prior to sending out the letters of invitation to serve on the ATM/Upper Atmosphere Research Section (UARS) COV, the Division Director for Atmospheric Sciences, the Section Head of the Upper Atmosphere Research Section and all the Program Directors in the Section were consulted regarding potential COV candidates.

The Committee represented a broad segment of the disciplines consistent with the scope of activities for which ATM/UARS has oversight responsibilities. The Committee contained expertise in upper atmospheric and space sciences ranging from ionospheric scintillations to solar coronal mass ejections. This diverse Committee with two female participants, the Director of the National Center for Atmospheric Research, and two National Laboratory scientists reviewed and evaluated both the research awards and the facility awards of the Section. All committee members were familiar with some aspects of the ATM/UARS enterprise and some have had various levels of association in the past. Four of the COV members (44%) have not been applicants to the ATM/UARS programs for over five years. Dr. Timothy Killeen, who chaired the COV, is a member of the Advisory Committee for Geosciences.

There were no identified conflicts of interest with any member of this COV. COV members present during the meeting were:

Timothy Killeen, Chair, National Center for Atmospheric Research Delores Knipp, U.S. Air Force Academy George Siscoe, Boston University Gary Zank, University of California-Riverside Art Poland, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Bela Fejer, Utah State University Robert Meier, Naval Research Laboratory Anthea Coster, MIT Lincoln Laboratory Paul Bellaire, Air Force Office of Scientific Research