Date: August 16, 2002

To: File

From: Assistant Director for Geosciences

Subject: Selection of EAR Core Program Members

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in a large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who are able to provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF. Prior to sending out the letters of invitation to serve on the EAR Core Program COV, the Division Director for Earth Sciences, the Division Section Head for Research Grants Section, and the Chair of the Advisory Committee for Geosciences were consulted regarding potential COV candidates.

The Committee represented a broad segment of the disciplines consistent with the scope of activities for which EAR Core Programs has oversight responsibilities. The committee contained expertise in earth sciences ranging from stratigraphy, sedimentology, reflection seismology, geochemistry, petrology, hydrology, tectonics, structure, geodynamics, isotope geochemistry, and paleontology. This was a diverse Committee that included two females, one African-American, one federal agency, one state agency and one private industry members. Utilizing the GPRA questions and report template, the Committee reviewed the programs in Geology and Paleontology (GE), Tectonics (TE), Petrology and Geochemistry (CH), Hydrologic Sciences (HS), Geophysics (PH), and Continental Dynamics (CD). Three members (30%) of the ten Committee members have not been applicants to any of these programs for over five years. One member (Dr. Lee Allison) serves on another NSF advisory committee. Dr. Gail Ashley served as chair and she serves on the Geoscience Advisory Committee (AC/GEO).

There were no identified conflicts of interests with any member of this COV. COV members present during the meeting were:

Dr. Gail Ashley, Rutgers University – Chair

Dr. M. Lee Allison, University of Kansas and Kansas Geological Survey

Dr. Jay Bass, University of Illinois at Urbana

Dr. David L. Freyberg, Stanford University

Dr. Peter E. Malin, Duke University

Dr. T. Guy Masters, Scripps Institute of Oceanography

Dr. Leigh H. Royden, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Samuel Savin, Case Western Reserve University

Dr. Leonard Srnka, ExxonMobil Company

Dr. Wesley Ward, Jr., US Geological Survey