The Council of Economic Advisers primarily performs an analysis and appraisal of the national economy for the purpose of providing policy recommendations to the President.

The Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) was established in the Executive Office of the President by the Employment Act of 1946 (15 U.S.C. 1023). It now functions under that statute and Reorganization Plan No. 9 of 1953 (5 U.S.C. app.), effective August 1, 1953.

The Council consists of three members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. One of the members is designated by the President as Chairman.

The Council analyzes the national economy and its various segments; advises the President on economic developments; appraises the economic programs and policies of the Federal Government; recommends to the President policies for economic growth and stability; assists in the preparation of the economic reports of the President to the Congress; and prepares the Annual Report of the Council of Economic Advisers.

For further information, contact the Council of Economic Advisers, Room 60, Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20502. Phone, 202-395-5084. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/WH/EOP/CEA/ html/CEA.html.

Council on Environmental Quality

722 Jackson Place NW., Washington, DC 20503 Phone, 202-395-5750 or 202-456-6224. Fax, 202-456-2710. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/

Chair Chief of Staff General Counsel Deputy General Counsel Senior Associate Director Associate Director for Communications

Associate Director for Energy and **Transportation**

Associate Director for Legislative Affairs Associate Director for Natural Resources Associate Director for NEPA Oversight Associate Director for Oceans, Coasts, and

Environmental Policy Associate Director for Toxics and **Environmental Protection**

JAMES CONNAUGHTON

PHILIP COONEY Dinah Bear TED BOLING JOHN HOWARD SAM THERNSTROM Virginia Stephens

DAVID ANDERSON WILLIAM LEARY HORST GRECZMIEL **ELLEN ATHAS**

ELIZABETH STOLPE

The Council on Environmental Quality formulates and recommends national policies to promote the improvement of the quality of the environment.

The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) was established within the Executive Office of the President by the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (NEPA) (42 U.S.C. 4321 et seq.).

The Environmental Quality Improvement Act of 1970 (42 U.S.C. 4371 et seq.) established the Office of Environmental Quality (OEQ) to provide professional and administrative support for the

Council. The Council and OEQ are collectively referred to as the Council on Environmental Quality, and the CEQ Chair, who is appointed by the President, serves as the Director of OEQ.

The Council develops policies which bring into productive harmony the Nation's social, economic, and environmental priorities, with the goal of improving the quality of Federal decisionmaking. As required by NEPA, CEQ evaluates, coordinates, and mediates Federal activities; advises and assists the President on both national and international environmental policy matters; and prepares the President's annual environmental quality report to Congress. In addition, it oversees Federal agency and department implementation of NEPA.

For further information, contact the Information Office, Council on Environmental Quality, 722 Jackson Place NW., Washington, DC 20503. Phone, 202–395–5750. Fax, 202–456–2710. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/ceq.

National Security Council

Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20504 Phone, 202–456–1414

Members:

The President GEORGE W. BUSH
The Vice President DICK CHENEY
The Secretary of State COLIN L. POWELL
The Secretary of Defense DONALD H. RUMSFELD

Statutory Advisers:

Director of Central Intelligence

Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff Gen. RICHARD B. MYERS, USAF

Standing Participants:

The Secretary of the Treasury
U.S. Representative to the United Nations
Chief of Staff to the President
ANDREW H. CARD, JR.
Assistant to the President for National Security

PAUL H. O'NEILL
JOHN D. NEGROPONTE
ANDREW H. CARD, JR.
CONDOLEEZZA RICE

Affairs

Assistant to the President for Economic Policy

Officials:

Assistant to the President for National Security
Affairs

Assistant to the President for National Security
Affairs and Deputy National Security

Adviser

Executive Secretary

GEORGE J. TENET

Condoleezza Rice

STEVEN HADLEY

LARRY LINDSEY

Steve Biegun

The National Security Council was established by the National Security Act of 1947, as amended (50 U.S.C. 402). The Council was placed in the Executive Office of the President by Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1949 (5 U.S.C. app.).

The National Security Council is chaired by the President. Its statutory members, in addition to the President, are the Vice President and the Secretaries of State and Defense. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff is