You are viewing a Web site, archived on 06:37:32 Oct 31, 2004. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration.
External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection.
Skip To Content
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

NSF Press Release


NSF PR 04-125 - September 23, 2004

Media contacts: Peter West, NSF  (703) 292-7761 pwest@nsf.gov
  Ginger Pinholster, AAAS  (202) 326-6421 gpinhols@aaas.org

NSF, AAAS Announce Winners of 2004 Visualization Contest

ARLINGTON, Va.—Judges have named 11 winners in the 2004 International Science & Engineering Visualization Challenge, an annual international competition created to recognize outstanding achievement in use of graphics media to illustrate research processes and results.

The contest is jointly sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the journal Science, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Winning entries in this year's competition span research fields from viral medicine to Earth science and span the globe from Germany to Seattle. They are published in the Sept. 24 issue of Science and in the journal's electronic edition "Science Online." More than 90 entries qualified for judging. An independent panel of distinguished science communicators and graphics experts evaluated the entries on visual impact, innovation and technical accuracy.

Winners in the 2004 challenge are:


First Place:

Marna E. Ericson, University of Minnesota

Autofluorescence of Tick Nymph on a Mammalian Host

Honorable Mentions:

  • Dee Breger, Drexel University's Materials Science & Engineering Department:

  • Antarctic Diatom Chain

(Breger also won First Place and Runner-Up in the photography category of the 2003 competition)

  • Linda M. Strzegowski and Ting Xu, University of Massachusetts' Materials Research Science and Engineering Center:

  • Pasture of Instabilities


First Place:

Emad Tajkhorshid and Klaus Schulten, Theoretical and Computational Biophysics Group, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign:

Water Permeation Through Aquaporins

Honorable Mention:

Kenneth Eward, BioGrafx Scientific & Medical Images, Ovid, Michigan

Spiral IV


First Place:

David Fierstein, of Felton, Calif.:

Mt. Etna


First Place:

Cynthia F. Moss and Kaushik Ghose, University of Maryland, College Park:

Bat Intercepts Flying Insect

Honorable Mentions:

  • Nils Sparwasser, Adelheid Craubner, Christian Gredel, Thomas Rupert, and Robert Meisner, German Aerospace Center (DLR):

  • The Elbe River Flood 2002

  • Gregory Ross, Jonathan Day and Roxanne Rutledge-Connelly, University of Florida’s Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences / Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory:

  • Spatiotemporal Arboviral Surveillance in Florida during 2003


Honorable Mentions:

  • Paul Bigeleisen, Strong Memorial Hospital, Rochester, NY:

  • Brachial Plexus

  • Doug Huff, Beth Anderson, Simon Fenwick, N. Leigh Anderson and Norman G. Anderson, Arkitek Studios, Seattle, Wa.

  • RNAi: A Ballet of Molecular Machines, Including "Slicer" and "Dicer," Controls Gene Expression Using Small RNA Molecules

Contest sponsors announced the rules and deadlines for the 2005 visualization challenge, which may be found at the SEVC Web site along with a list of frequently asked questions.

NSF and Science will appoint judges to choose winners in each of five categories: photographs, illustrations, graphics, interactive media and non-interactive media. All works must have been completed in the 2003-2004 calendar years.

Entries will be evaluated anonymously. Judging will take place in two phases.

A panel of reviewers made up of scientists, communications experts and graphic artists will examine and rank all entries. The top 50 entries (10 in each category) with the highest overall scores will be designated semifinalists and will progress to the final phase of judging. In that round, a separate panel of distinguished judges representing a variety of fields will evaluate the semifinal entries. Each judge will assign a numerical score. The sum of those scores will determine each entry's final score. The entry with the highest overall score in each category will be awarded the prize for that category.

Judges in the final round may select some entries for an honorable mention at their discretion.

Winners will be notified individually in August prior to public announcement of the official contest results.

The winning works will then be published in a special section of a September 2005 issue of Science and on Science Online. NSF will also publish the winning entries on its Web site: http://www.nsf.gov.


The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering, with an annual budget of nearly $5.58 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives about 40,000 competitive requests for funding, and makes about 11,000 new funding awards. The NSF also awards over $200 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

Receive official NSF news electronically through the e-mail delivery and notification system, Custom News Service. To subscribe, enter the NSF Home Page at: http://www.nsf.gov/home/cns/#new and fill in the information under "new users."

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page: http://www.nsf.gov
News Highlights: http://www.nsf.gov/od/lpa
Newsroom: http://www.nsf.gov/od/lpa/news/media/start.htm
Science Statistics: http://www.nsf.gov/sbe/srs/stats.htm
Awards Searches: http://www.fastlane.nsf.gov/a6/A6Start.htm


National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic