## APPENDIX D:

## Names and Affiliations of Those Submitting Written Comments

On the Board's Draft Discussion Document, the Scientific Allocation of Scientific Resources (NSB-01-39)

## **O**RGANIZATIONS:

American Institute of Physics: Marc H. Brodsky, Executive Director and CEO

American Psychological Association: Raymond C. Fowler, Chief Executive Officer and Norine Johnson, President

Association of Women in Science (AWIS): Linda Mantel, President, and Catherine Didion, Executive Director

Council of Scientific Society Presidents: Martin Apple, Ph.D., President

Federal Aviation Administration: Dr. Aston McLaughlin

McGeary and Smith: Michael McGeary and Phil Smith

National Academy of Engineering (NAE): Lance Davis, Executive Officer, reported three responses from individual members

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation: Ralph Gomory, President

U.S. Commission on National Security/21st Century: Adam Garfinkle

University of California: C. Judson King, Provost and Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs

## INDIVIDUALS:

Lewis Branscomb, Harvard University (also symposium panelist)

George Brimhall, Department of Geology and Geophysics, University of California, Berkeley, CA

Harry Cook

George Dacey

Professor Earl H. Dowell, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, School of Engineering, Duke University, in response to NAE request for comment

Rebecca Dresser, JD, Professor of Law and Ethics in Medicine, Washington University, St. Louis

Thomas W. Eagar, Materials Science and Engineering, MIT

Albert Henderson, Publishing Research Quarterly

John D. Holmfeld

Ruben Samuels, in response to NAE request for comment

Jeff Ullman, Stanford University, in response to NAE request for comment

Professor Richard Zare, Stanford University