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Health Impact and Costs
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Adult Tobacco Use in Texas
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Current Cigarette Smoking Among Adults
Aged 18 and Older, 1997

Current Cigarette Smoking Among
Adults by Race/Ethnicity, 1996�1997

Current Smokeless Tobacco Use Among
Adults Aged 18+, 1995�1996

Youth Tobacco Use
SMOKELESS TOBACCOUSE AMONG YOUTH,

GRADES 9–12, 1997 (PAST MONTH)
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AVERAGE ANNUAL DEATHS RELATED

TO SMOKING, 1990–1994
AVERAGE ANNUAL YEARS OF

POTENTIAL LIFE LOST,* 1990–1994
MEDICAL COSTS

RELATED TO SMOKING, 1993

Overall 24,789
Men 16,245
Women 8,544 
Death Rate 358/100,000
Rank 31
(No. 1 is lowest death rate)

347,215 years or an average
of 14.0 years for each death
due to smoking.

*Calculated to life expectancy

Number of Texas youth projected to die prematurely from their smoking: 370,685 
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CIGARETTE SMOKING AMONG YOUTH,
GRADES 9–12, 1997

Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) data not available.

Ambulatory $710,620,000
Hospital $887,530,000
Nursing Home† $649,640,000
Drug $190,020,000
Other $476,720,000
Total $2,914,520,000

†Preliminary estimates



Tobacco Control Legislation, 1998

Tobacco Economy

Advertising
Tobacco advertising not allowed on billboards
within 1,000 feet of a school or a church.

State Preempts Local Laws
No preemption

Smokefree Indoor Air

Site Restrictions Penalties

None100% 
Smokefree

Designated
smoking areas
required or
allowed 

To businesses To smokersDesignated
smoking
areas with
separate
ventilation

Tobacco Agriculture, 1997
None

Minors� Access to Tobacco Products
Minim um age for sale:18
Penalties:Any person who sells to a minor will be guilty
of a class C misdemeanor and fined up to $500.  
Revocation/suspension of license for violation.  
Illegal for minors to:

Purchase . . . . . . . . . . .Yes
Possess . . . . . . . . . . . .Yes
Use  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Yes

Tobacco Manufacturing, 1996
Overall tobacco manufacturing  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$11,000,000
Tobacco manufacturing as a percentage of gross state product . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0.002%

Tobacco Use Prevention and Control Program
Funding: CDC IMPACT 

Regional Network: Gulf, Western, and Pacific

Contact
Diana Satterwhite, Texas Department of Health,Bureau of Chronic Disease Prevention & Control

1100 West 49th Street,Austin,Texas 78756
Phone:512-458-7111  Fax: 512-458-7618 Internet Address:diana.satterwhite@tdh.state.tx.us  

Restrictions on Vending Machines
Vending machines must be located where minors 
cannot access them.

Signage
Signs required on premises.

Licensure
Retail license and vending machine license required.

Excise Tax
Cigarette tax per pack . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .41¢

Rank = 20 (No.1 is highest tax)
Federal and state taxes as a

percentage of retail price . . . . . . . . . . . . . .32.2%
Annual gross tax revenue

from cigarettes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$569,575,890

Smokeless tobacco tax:
35% of manufacturer’s list price.

Government worksites ✓✓

Private worksites ✓✓

Restaurants ✓✓

Day care centers ✓✓

Home-based day care ✓✓

Number of Texas y outh e xposed to ETS in the home in 1996: 995,462

Texas
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Cigarette Sales, 1997
Number of packages sold and taxed, per capita  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .72.6


