
Past Month Frequent

Past Month = tobacco use on one or more days in the past month
Frequent = tobacco use on 20+ days in the past month

CIGARETTE SMOKING AMONG YOUTH,
GRADES 9–12, 1997

Health Impact and Costs

OFFICE ON SMOKING AND HEALTH/NATIONAL CENTER FOR CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND HEALTH PROMOTION
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Current Cigarette Smoking Among Adults
Aged 18 and Older, 1997

Current Cigarette Smoking Among
Adults by Race/Ethnicity, 1996�1997

Current Smokeless Tobacco Use
Among Adults Aged 18+, 1995�1996

Youth Tobacco Use
SMOKELESS TOBACCOUSE AMONG YOUTH,

GRADES 9–12, 1997 (PAST MONTH)

All States . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9.3%
ME  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7.9%

Boys . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13.3%
Girls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2.2%

All States (Median)

Maine Overall
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AVERAGE ANNUAL DEATHS RELATED

TO SMOKING, 1990–1994
AVERAGE ANNUAL YEARS OF

POTENTIAL LIFE LOST,* 1990–1994
MEDICAL COSTS

RELATED TO SMOKING, 1993

Overall 2,326
Men 1,464
Women 862
Death Rate 371/100,000
Rank 40
(No. 1 is lowest death rate)

30,556 years or an average
of 13.1 years for each death
due to smoking.

*Calculated to life expectancy

Number of Maine youth projected to die prematurely from their smoking: 31,211
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CDC
CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL 

AND PREVENTION

Adult Tobacco Use in Maine

All States 36.4% 16.7%
ME 39.2% 22.1%
Boys 37.7% 22.7%
Girls 40.8% 21.5%

Ambulatory $53,100,000
Hospital $96,780,000
Nursing Home† $127,610,000
Drug $18,870,000
Other $46,710,000
Total $343,070,000

†Preliminary estimates



Tobacco Control Legislation, 1998

Tobacco Economy

Advertising
No restrictions

State Preempts Local Laws
No preemption

Smokefree Indoor Air

Site Restrictions Penalties

None100% 
Smokefree

Designated
smoking areas
required or
allowed 

To businesses To smokersDesignated
smoking
areas with
separate
ventilation

Tobacco Agriculture, 1997
None

Tobacco Manufacturing, 1996
None

Tobacco Use Prevention and Control Program
Funding: NCI ASSIST

Regional Network: Tobacco-Free New England

Contact
Valorie Nybo,Maine Department of Human Services,Division of Health Promotion & Education

151 Capitol Street,State House Station 11, Augusta,Maine 04333
Phone:207-287-4624 Fax: 207-287-4636 Internet Address:valorie.nybo@state.me.us   

Restrictions on Vending Machines
Vending machines must be located where minors 
cannot access them unless machines are supervised.

Signage
Signs required on premises and affixed to vending 
machines.

Licensure
Retail license and vending machine license required.

Minors� Access to Tobacco Products
Minim um age for sale:18
Penalties:Any person who sells to a minor will be
fined $50–$1500. Revocation/suspension of license for
violation. 
Illegal for minors to:

Purchase . . . . . . . . . . .Yes
Possess . . . . . . . . . . . .Yes
Use  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Yes

Government worksites ✓✓ ✓✓

Private worksites ✓✓ ✓✓

Restaurants ✓✓ ✓✓

Day care centers ✓✓ ✓✓

Home-based day care ✓✓† ✓✓

Number of Maine y outh e xposed to ETS in the home in 1996: 79,530

Maine
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Excise Tax
Cigarette tax per pack . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .74¢

Rank = 7 (No.1 is highest tax)
Federal and state taxes as a

percentage of retail price . . . . . . . . . . . . .44.6%*
Annual gross tax revenue

from cigarettes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$46,346,009*

Smokeless tobacco tax:
62% of wholesale sales price.

*Based on previous tax rate of 37¢ per pack.

†When children are present.

Cigarette Sales, 1997
Number of packages sold and taxed, per capita  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .101.1


