This web site was copied prior to January 20, 2005. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration. External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Learn more.   [hide]
Skip To Content Skip To Left Navigation
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

Media Advisory


NSF PA/M 04-06 - February 20, 2004

Sherry Farwell Named to Head NSF EPSCoR Program

ARLINGTON, VA—The National Science Foundation has named chemist and veteran administrator Sherry O. Farwell to head the Foundation's Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR).

The program, targeted at states that historically have received a relatively small proportion of NSF research funding, promotes development of science and technology resources through partnerships involving a state's universities, industry and government, as well as the federal research and development enterprise. The program's current budget is more than $90 million. EPSCoR's goal is to maximize the potential inherent in a state's science and technology resources and encourage use of those resources as a foundation for economic growth.

Farwell will serve in a consulting capacity immediately and assume the position full-time at NSF headquarters in July.

Farwell currently serves as Dean of Graduate Education and Research and Professor of Atmospheric Sciences at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. He also holds concurrent positions as Co-Director of the state's NSF-EPSCoR Program and Director of the state's NASA-EPSCoR Program. His experience as a successful educator and researcher includes former academic positions at Washington State University and the University of Idaho.

NSF Director Rita Colwell selected Farwell as the result of an extensive nationwide search. "Sherry has a detailed knowledge of EPSCoR and the challenges that states face in developing their resources. I am convinced he will strengthen our partnerships and provide innovative leadership to this most important part of the NSF portfolio."

Farwell holds a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from Montana State University. In addition to the positions named above, he serves as director of the South Dakota Space Grant Consortium. Farwell is familiar with NSF through previous assignments as a program director, expert consultant and external reviewer and panel member.


The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering, with an annual budget of nearly $5.3 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives about 30,000 competitive requests for funding, and makes about 10,000 new funding awards. The NSF also awards over $200 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

Receive official NSF news electronically through the e-mail delivery system, NSFnews. To subscribe, send an e-mail message to In the body of the message, type "subscribe nsfnews" and then type your name. (Ex.: "subscribe nsfnews John Smith")

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
News Highlights:
Science Statistics:
Awards Searches:



National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic