Skip To Content Skip To Left Navigation
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

Bordogna's Remarks

"From the Inside Out and the Outside In: Engineering Solutions for the Future"

Dr. Joseph Bordogna
Deputy Director
Chief Operating Officer
National Science Foundation
George Washington University
School of Engineering and Applied Science Commencement

May 16, 2003

Thank you, Dean Tong, and good evening to you all—graduates, your families, faculty, and guests.

Let me say at once that I am an engineer, so being part of this commencement celebration is a special privilege and a joy. I admire the energy and spirit that are so much a part of the George Washington University School of Engineering and Applied Science. This is a school that is going places—integrating excellence in education with research, and gracing all with a firm commitment to improving the well being of society.

And to you, graduates of 2003, I offer my warmest congratulations—for your intellectual achievements, for persevering in this journey, and for believing in yourselves and your future as engineers. We gather here to celebrate your success.

I know that your families and friends, as well as your mentors and professors, share your pride in these accomplishments. They also deserve credit for supporting and encouraging you.

I remember very clearly the day I received my first engineering degree. My most cherished mentor took me aside, and said very seriously, "Joe, I look at you today and I think, 'You don't know the meaning of the word "quit." You don't know the meaning of the word "impossible." You don't know the meaning of the word "fail."

And then, smiling, he said, "How can you be graduating when you don't know the meaning of so many simple words?"

It's my job today to say a few simple words that may be useful for the unknown ahead – and to be brief about it!