You are viewing a Web site, archived on 08:06:49 Nov 08, 2004. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration.
External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection.
Skip to ContentText OnlyGo to Search
Welcome to the White HousePresidentNewsVice PresidentHistory & ToursFirst LadyMrs. Cheney
Welcome to the White HouseGovernmentKids OnlyEspanolContactPrivacy PolicySiteMapSearch
Welcome to the White HouseReceive Email Updates

National Security
Homeland Security
More Issues
En Español
Hurricane Relief

Current News
Press Briefings
Executive Orders
News by Date
September 2004
August 2004
July 2004
June 2004
May 2004
April 2004
March 2004
February 2004
January 2004
December 2003
November 2003
October 2003
September 2003
August 2003
July 2003
June 2003
May 2003
April 2003
March 2003
February 2003
January 2003
December 2002
November 2002
October 2002
September 2002
August 2002
July 2002
June 2002
May 2002
April 2002
March 2002
February 2002
January 2002
December 2001
November 2001
October 2001
September 2001
August 2001
July 2001
June 2001
May 2001
April 2001
March 2001
February 2001
January 2001

Talk Back
Ask the White House
White House Interactive



Photo Essays
Photo Essays
Search photos by date


White House Features - A Gallery of our special pages
Federal Facts
Federal Statistics
West Wing
Home > News & Policies > Nominations by Name
Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
September 15, 2004

Personnel Announcement

President George W. Bush today announced his intention to nominate two individuals to serve in his administration:

President George W. Bush meets with Dr. Arden L. Bement in the Oval Office Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004. President Bush is nominating Dr. Bement to be Director of the National Science Foundation. Dr. Bement has been serving as Acting Director since February 22, 2004. White House photo by Paul Morse. The President intends to nominate Francis J. Harvey, of California, to be Secretary of the Army. Dr. Harvey currently serves as Vice Chairman of Duratek, Inc., in Columbia, Maryland. Dr. Harvey also held a number of executive positions throughout his twenty-eight year career at Westinghouse Electric Corporation. As President of the Corporation's Defense and Electronics Systems Group, he was involved in systems development and production programs for surface ships, submarines, aircraft, tanks, missiles, and satellites. Dr. Harvey earned his bachelor's degree from the University of Notre Dame and his Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania.

The President intends to nominate Arden Bement, Jr., of Indiana, to be Director of the National Science Foundation for the remainder of a six-year term expiring August 2, 2010. Dr. Bement currently serves as Acting Director of the National Science Foundation and as Director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Previously, Dr. Bement served as the David A. Ross Distinguished Professor of Nuclear Engineering and head of the School of Nuclear Engineering at Purdue University. He earned his bachelor's degree from the Colorado School of Mines, his master's degree from the University of Idaho, and his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

# # #

Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page

President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies  | 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactText only

Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help