OPTIONAL STATE SUPPLEMENTATION

STATUTORY BASIS FOR PAYMENT Minnesota Statutes Annotated, Sections 256D.33-256D.54 and

256I.01-256I.06.

EFFECTIVE DATE

April 1, 1974.

ADMINISTRATION 1

County Welfare and Human Services Agencies (State-supervised).

PASSALONG

In compliance by the method of maintaining all payment levels.

SCOPE OF COVERAGE

Optional State supplement provided to SSI recipients and to persons who, but for excess income, would be receiving SSI. In addition, those who have maintenance needs based on the

December 1973 State standards which exceed their income from the Federal SSI and other sources, and who would otherwise have qualified for benefits under former State assistance programs for the aged, blind, and disabled. Blind children are eligible for supplementation; disabled children under age 18 are not eligible

for supplementation.

RECOVERIES,

LIENS, AND ASSIGNMENTS None.

RELATIVE

RESPONSIBILITY

Spouse for spouse. Parents for blind children under age 18.

INCOME

DISREGARDS

No disregards in addition to the Federal income disregards.

RESOURCE LIMITATIONS

Federal SSI resource limitations apply.

PLACE OF

APPLICATION

County Welfare and Human Services Boards.

FUNDING Assistance: State funds.

Administration: County funds; except State expenses, which are

State funded.

Payments are made under the Minnesota Supplemental Aid Program. Mandatory minimum supplementation is administered by the same agency as optional supplementation.

INTERIM ASSISTANCE

State participates.

PAYMENT LEVELS ²

	Combined Federal/State		State supplementation	
Living arrangements	<u>Individual</u>	<u>Couple</u>	<u>Individual</u>	<u>Couple</u>
Living independently				
9 1				
Entitlement prior to 1/1/94	\$581.00	\$877.00	\$81.00	\$126.00
Entitlement 1/1/94 or later	581.00	862.00	81.00	111.00
Living in household of another				
Entitlement prior to 1/1/94	443.34	844.67	110.00	344.00
Entitlement 1/1/94 or later	443.34	581.67	110.00	81.00
Nonmedical, group				
residential facility ³	1,203.37		4 703.37	
Medicaid facility	65.00	130.00	35.00	70.00

STATE ASSISTANCE FOR SPECIAL NEEDS

ADMINISTRATION	County Welfare and Human Services Boards (State-supervised).
SPECIAL NEED CIRCUMSTANCES:	Amounts of assistance to be allowed for items not covered by the mandatory State standards shall be determined on the basis of need in each case.
DIETS	Specified modified diets when prescribed by a physician shall be allowed at designated rate.
GUARDIANSHIP FEES	Five percent of gross monthly income (including SSI) up to a maximum of \$100 per month.
REPRESENTATIVE PAYEE SERVICES	Ten percent of gross monthly income up to a maximum of \$25 for services provided by an agency that meets the requirements under SSI regulations to charge fee for payee services.

² Unless otherwise stated, payment levels apply equally to aged, blind, and disabled.

³ Couples residing in these living arrangements are treated as individuals one month after leaving an independent living arrangement.

⁴ Includes \$65.00 a month for clothing and personal needs. Indicates the highest amount that may be paid.

HOUSING, MAJOR

REPAIRS

Nonrecurring payments for catastrophic situations only for $% \left\{ 1\right\} =\left\{ 1\right\}$

homeowners who live in their homes.

FURNITURE AND APPLIANCES

Nonrecurring payment for necessary repairs and replacements.

MEDICAID

ELIGIBILITY:

CRITERION State guidelines.

DETERMINED BY County Welfare and Human Services Agencies (State supervised).

MEDICALLY NEEDY

PROGRAM Program for the aged, blind, and disabled medically needy.

UNPAID MEDICAL

EXPENSES

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this

information.