

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Eisenhower Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 4, 2004

Contact: Bob Hopkins

(202) 456-6098

rhopkins@ostp.eop.gov

#### White House Announces Awards for Early Career Scientists and Engineers

The White House today announced the recipients of the 2002 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the nation's highest honor for professionals at the outset of their independent research careers. Fifty-seven researchers will be honored today in a ceremony presided over by John H. Marburger III, Science Advisor to the President and Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

The Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, established in 1996, honors the most promising beginning researchers in the nation within their fields. Eight federal departments and agencies annually nominate scientists and engineers at the start of their careers whose work shows the greatest promise to benefit the nominating agency's mission. Participating agencies award these beginning scientists and engineers up to five years of funding to further their research in support of critical government missions.

The recipients of the 2002 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, along with their nominating federal department or agency are:

# **Department of Agriculture**

- Tara H. McHugh, Western Regional Research Center
- Mahfuzur Sarker, Oregon State University
- Therese M. Poland, Forest Service North Central Research Station

#### **Department of Commerce**

- Andrew W. Bruckner, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
- Gabriel A. Vecchi, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
- Jun Ye, National Institute of Standards and Technology
- Sae Woo Nam, National Institute of Standards and Technology

#### **Department of Defense**

- David Goldhaber-Gordon, Stanford University
- Hari C. Manoharan, Stanford University

- Michelle L. Pantoya, Texas Tech University
- Bridget Rogers, Vanderbilt University
- Venkatesh R. Saligrama, Boston University
- Gregory Neil Tew, University of Massachusetts

### **Department of Energy**

- Jeffrey C. Blackmon, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
- Edmond Chow, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
- Sergei Maslov, Brookhaven National Laboratory
- Jonathan E. Menard, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
- Christine Orme, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
- Krishnakumar Garikipati, University of Michigan
- Carl Boehlert, Alfred University

# Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health

- Dana Boatman, Johns Hopkins University
- Susan K. Buchanan, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
- William Carlezon, Harvard Medical School
- David Cummings, School of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco
- Kirk Deitsch, Weill Medical College, Cornell University
- Abby Dernburg, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
- Marilyn Diaz, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
- Catherine Drennan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- Andrew Griffin, National Institute on Deafness and other Communication Disorders
- Valery I. Shestapalov, University of Miami School of Medicine
- Richard Walker, Oregon Health and Science University

## **Department of Veterans Affairs**

- Gary E. Bryson, West Haven Veterans Affairs Medical Center
- Richard Z. Lin, State University of New York at Stony Brook

# **National Aeronautics and Space Administration**

- J. Marshall Shepherd, Goddard Space Flight Center
- Mark Simons, California Institute of Technology
- Eric R. Weeks, Emory University
- Thomas H. Zurbuchen, University of Michigan

#### **National Science Foundation**

- Jennifer G. Becker, University of Maryland
- Squire J. Booker, Pennsylvania State University

- Susmita Bose, Washington State University
- Ian Dell'Antonio, Brown University
- J. Christian Gerdes, Stanford University
- Robert W. Ghrist, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- Amy Greenwald, Brown University
- Babak Hassibi, California Institute of Technology
- Jason M. Haugh, North Carolina State University
- Jionghua (Judy) Jin, University of Arizona
- Julia Kubanek, Georgia Institute of Technology
- Mark E. Lewis, University of Michigan
- Jia G. Lu, University of California at Irvine
- Thomas McDade, Northwestern University
- George J. Pappas, University of Pennsylvania
- N. Sanjay Rebello, Kansas State University
- Dan M. Stamper-Kurn, University of California at Berkeley
- Ion Stoica, University of California at Berkeley
- Brian M. Stoltz, California Institute of Technology
- John R. Wakeley, Harvard University