<
 
 
 
 
>
hide
You are viewing a Web site, archived on 17:17:58 Nov 08, 2004. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration.
External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Note that this document was downloaded, and not saved because it was a duplicate of a previously captured version (16:23:20 Oct 25, 2004). HTTP headers presented here are from the original capture.
bypass navigation
topic index
Home  |  Publications  |  Topic index  |  Surveys  |  Databases  |  Search
Keep Current! Subscribe to NSF's Custom News Service
 
bulletOur Staff
bulletSRS Vacancy Announcements
bulletGrants and Fellowships

The Division of Science Resources Statistics (SRS) fulfills the legislative mandate of the National Science Foundation Act to . . .

provide a central clearinghouse for the collection, interpretation, and analysis of data on scientific and engineering resources, and to provide a source of information for policy formulation by other agencies of the Federal Government. . .

To carry out this mandate, SRS designs, supports, and directs about 14 periodic surveys as well as a variety of other data collections and research projects. These surveys yield the materials for SRS staff to compile, analyze, and disseminate quantitative information about domestic and international resources devoted to science, engineering, and technology. Each year SRS produces about 30 publications, which can be roughly divided into the following categories:

SRS activities often require close cooperation with other Federal agencies, such as the National Institutes of Health, the National Center for Education Statistics, the Bureau of the Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Immigration and Naturalization Service, and the Department of Commerce's Patent and Trademark Office and International Trade Administration. All of the Federal agencies that perform research and development (R&D) participate in providing the data for the SRS Federal Funds reports. In addition, SRS staff work closely with universities, industrial firms, professional associations, and international organizations.

Upon completion of the data processing for the major surveys, SRS staff prepare InfoBriefs that summarize and highlight findings in the new data prior to the lengthier publishing process for the more detailed statistical reports and analyses. The data are also provided to users in a variety of formats and customized publications.

In addition to the SRS surveys, designed and managed by SRS staff and conducted primarily by contractors, the Division also supports a small program of extramural research on such topics as methodologies and models for scientific and technological data collection, modeling for the scientific and engineering labor markets, changing patterns of national and international research performance, and the relationship between science and technological development.

Publications are grouped according to the program that produces them. The three programs are listed below.

Top  SRS Staff Directory

Division of Science Resources StatisticsPhone: (703) 292-8774
4201 Wilson Blvd., Suite 965Fax: (703) 292-9092
Arlington, VA 22230E-mail: srsweb@nsf.gov

bulletOffice of the Division Director
bulletInformation and Technology Services Program
bulletHuman Resources Statistics Program
bulletResearch and Development Statistics Program
bulletScience & Engineering Indicators Program

Top Office of the Division Director

Lynda T. Carlson
Division Director
(703) 292-7766 lcarlson@nsf.gov
Mary J. Frase
Deputy Division Director
(703) 292-7767 mfrase@nsf.gov
Jackie Durham
Financial Operations Specialist
(703) 292-4556 jdurham@nsf.gov
Ronald Fecso
Chief Statistician
(703) 292-7769 rfecso@nsf.gov
Barbara B. Mitchell
Administrative Officer
(703) 292-7349 bmitchel@nsf.gov
Jeri Mulrow
Senior Statistician
(703) 292-4784 jmulrow@nsf.gov
Cleo Redline
Senior Survey Methodologist
(703) 292-7802 credline@nsf.gov
Emilda B. Rivers
Mathematical Statistician
(703) 292-7773 erivers@nsf.gov
Chavon Thompson
Office Automation Clerk (STEP)
(703) 292-7807 cthompso@nsf.gov

Top  Information and Technology Services Program

John R. Gawalt
Program Director
(703) 292-7776 jgawalt@nsf.gov
Jennifer S. Bond
Senior Staff Associate for Customer
Outreach (on detail to
the Council on
Competitiveness)
(703) 292-7803 jbond@nsf.gov
Tanya Gore
Desktop Publishing Specialist
(703) 292-7777 tgore@nsf.gov 
Rolfe Larson
Publications Manager
(703) 292-7788 rlarson@nsf.gov
Rajinder (Raj) S. Raut
Information Technology Specialist
(703) 292-7771 rraut@nsf.gov
Cheryl Roesel
Editor
(703) 292-7778 croesel@nsf.gov
Peg Whalen
Web Manager
(703) 292-7815 mwhalen@nsf.gov
R. Keith Wilkinson
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7801 rwilkins@nsf.gov

Top  Human Resources Statistics Program

Nancy Leach
Program Director
(703) 292-7768 nleach@nsf.gov
Susan T. Hill
Director, Doctorate Data Project
(on Professional Development
assignment through June 2004)
(703) 292-7790 sthill@nsf.gov
Joan S. Burrelli
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7793 jburrell@nsf.gov
Maurya Green
Survey Information Specialist
(703) 292-4662 mmgreen@nsf.gov
Kelly H. Kang
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7796 kkang@nsf.gov
Nirmala (Nimmi) Kannankutty
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7797 nkannank@nsf.gov
Julia D. Oliver
Survey Statistician
(703) 292-7809 joliver@nsf.gov
John Tsapogas
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7799 jtsapoga@nsf.gov

Top  Research and Development Statistics Program

John E. Jankowski, Jr.
Program Director
(703) 292-7781 jjankows@nsf.gov
Leslie J. Christovich
Director, Academic
Infrastructure Project
(703) 292-7782 lchristo@nsf.gov
Richard J. Bennof
Analyst
(703) 292-7783 rbennof@nsf.gov
Fran Featherston
Survey Statistician
(703) 292-4221 ffeather@nsf.gov
Ronald L. Meeks
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7787 rmeeks@nsf.gov
Francisco Moris
Analyst
(703) 292-4678 fmorisor@nsf.gov
Richard E. Morrison
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7798 rmorriso@nsf.gov
Brandon Shackelford
Analyst
(703) 292-4685 bshackel@nsf.gov
Raymond M. Wolfe
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7789 rwolfe@nsf.gov

Top  Science & Engineering Indicators Program

Rolf F. Lehming
Program Director
(703) 292-7810 rlehming@nsf.gov
Robert K. Bell
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-4977 rbell@nsf.gov
Lawrence Burton
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7794 lburton@nsf.gov
Deborah A. Collins
Survey Operations Specialist
(703) 292-7804 dcollins@nsf.gov
Derek Hill
Analyst
(703) 292-7805 dhill@nsf.gov
Jean M. Johnson
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7806 jmjohnso@nsf.gov
Melissa F. Pollak
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7808 mpollak@nsf.gov
Alan I. Rapoport
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7811 arapopor@nsf.gov
Lawrence M. Rausch
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7812 lrausch@nsf.gov
Mark C. Regets
Senior Analyst
(703) 292-7813 mregets@nsf.gov


SRS Homepage
Last Modified:  Jun 07, 2004. Contact SRS